We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and partially renovated hotel; better look for something else”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal Torino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Torino
Ranked #93 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Tired and partially renovated hotel; better look for something else”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Mercure Torino Royal confirms what I already knew about Mercure Hotels i.e. that they mix good, comfortable hotels with sub-standard properties. Unfortunately the Mercure Royal Torino is in the second category. The building may date back to the 60's or 70's and renovation has only been partial. Probably the minimum needed to get the Mercure brand but far what would be necessary to fully modernize the property and turn it into an attractive hotel. Room size is correct but decoration shows clear bad taste with flashy, ill-matched colors. Maintenance is also obviously poor with walls and furniture in bad condition. Replacing faucets is definitely not enough to renovate the bathroom which was small, dark and with horrible dark green tiles. Manual sliding shutters also give the impression that time stopped many years ago. In addition, I was unable to find foreign speaking TV channels which is strange for a hotel supposedly catering to foreign travellers. Lobby and restaurant suffer from the same shortcomings as the rest of the property: they look tired and worn-out. Breakfast - correct - is served in the small and grotty restaurant. A last motive of irritation is the car park: 15 € for an external spot and 18 € for a covered spot is a rip-off especially when room fare is 55 € excluding breakfast. I spent one night at the hotel on my way to France for holidays but should I stay in Torino again I would certainly select another hotel and recommend other travellers to do the same thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    151
    154
    76
    28
See reviews for
81
126
33
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
holidays
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Hotel is very clean and staff are very helpfull and friendly. The breakfast is very good with a good buffet selection. the rooms are very modern and well furnished, they have a safe and desk with 2 chairs.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet, and have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aambrosone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was in Turin visiting friends who were actually not that far from this hotel so it worked out nicely. And for the price I thought the Royal was a good deal. One thing my room had was those double doors--you know, you go in the door and there is the bathroom on your right, then there is another door to the bedroom. For sound and noise-conscious people like me those double doors are a godsend. I don't know why people feel the need to shout and scream and hold long cell phone conversations in hotel hallways but they always seem to, not to mention door slamming. Whatever happened in this hotel corridor, I don't know about! And that is thanks to the double doors. Also the walls seemed to be relatively thick so I could never hear my neighbors. Also the room was very clean. On the downside, the a/c wasn't working. That's kind of the American traveler's theme song by now when reviewing continental hotels. The a/c never works. Half the time it is due to some archaic city laws about when you can turn on the heat and when you can turn on the a/c and the other half of the time the hotels are just pretending the a/c doesn't work so they can save money. I don't know which it was in this case. I asked for a fan, they said they'd try, but the fan never materialized. Also the Mercure chain has a nice little feature which is the electric kettle. Coming in from America it always takes me a while to get over the jet lag and I really like being able to brew myself a cup of instant coffee at 3 a.m. Do I like instant coffee? Not particularly, but it is warm and comforting. Anyway the Royal Mercure didn't have them. When I asked, the desk person rolled their eyes and murmured something about "an internal policy." I insisted and eventually got my kettle but those things are annoying. If the kettle comes with the Mercure then they should provide the kettle and the internal policy can go to the devil. That's one of the reasons people choose a particular hotel chain, like Mercure, over Joe's Hotel. I have to say in passing though that having stayed in Mercure hotels both in Italy and in France, the Italian Mercures are not at the same standard. The staff was mostly really good. Great pizza shop right next door if you want a snack.

Room Tip: I liked the street side room better. When they gave me a courtyard side room for a few days some idi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Not near the centre of Turin by any means, this hotel nonetheless offers very affordable accommodation at a decent standard, just not a 4 star one. The drop off zone is basically non existent, if more than two cars are using it you have to drive around the block to find a park and walk back to the hotel with luggage. Staff at reception were courteous and spoke good English, I would have expected more help with bags and directions as far as using their parking lot, being a 4 start hotel. Also to go to your room there are some steps to climb and I would have liked the offer to help with bags. Rooms are good, not big but clean. Don't open your balcony door if your room is facing C.so Regina Margherita as the smog and dirt will get in. Also, if you have a room on that side you will wake up with the first tram in the morning (at around 5:45 am), the tracks are right in front. At 65 euro/night I'll use it again but will ask for a room at the back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluses, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Hello,
we send a couple of days (and one night) there: very good hotel, relatively well located (10 minutes away from the downtown by bus, which is passing in front of the entrance).
The breakfast in the hotel is quite expensive (10€/person... I suppose it makes sense for the people staying there for a business purpose) and we could afford a good one outside the hotel, in a bar just 500 meters away, for half this price.
I was a bit disappointed by the price for the parking (14€), not mentioned at the beginning (and therefore, I thought it was for free) but the service is excellent, the room is excellent, the decoration in the lobby is nice and there's a good internet access in the room through Wi-Fi.
Therefore I recommend this hotel to you.
Philippe

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maniago, Friuli, Italy
Level Contributor
204 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at Mercure Torino Royal as a part of a group: we were there for a conference at the nearby university. The hotel has lights and shadows, I'd say.

First of all, the negatives:

1) They mismatched a booking of one of us, so it was just for luck that they had a free room for the night - and we couldn't know until late the following morning if he could have stayed the next days or would have been moved to another hotel.
2) Another one of our group arrived at the hotel and was given a room which was already taken, and where one guy was sleeping when he entered. They changed his room but the other one smell of smoke, so they changed it again and power plugs were not working; at last they changed it for the third time and everything was OK.
3) One person entered our room while we there, as he was given our room by mistake (as in point 1, it seems, so it wasn't an isolated case)
4) The first day the maid did not do our room until 19.00, when she showed up but we were using the room so asked her to come back the following day.
5) WiFi Internet connection was so slow that it was nearly useless.

So, the hotel does not seem well organized at all, but the are some upsides
as well:

1) Some of the staff, especially Silvia and the other girl, are professional, helpful and very kind. One might ask why the hotel has all these problems with such good staff.
2) Even though the building is old, the hotel is nice and well kept.
3) Prices are good for a 4 star; even though it might look like 3 and 1/2 stars the prices are still good. Breakfast was however not included and it's a steep 10 €, so I always had it at the nearby café.
4) Even though located somehow outside of the centre, the bus/tram stop is just outside the front door.

The hotel has a car park: it's not cheap (starts at € 14 per day), but it has surveillance and costs less than parking in the street anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room and be sure you are given one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordarthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turin hotels
Art Hotel Olympic
#42 of 128 in Turin
505 reviews
Cit Turin
Casa Crema Bed & Breakfast
B&B Hotel Torino
#44 of 128 in Turin
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Diplomatic
#38 of 128 in Turin
1,610 reviews
Hotel Galant
#24 of 128 in Turin
373 reviews
Hotel President
#46 of 128 in Turin
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Torino

Property: Hotel Royal Torino
Address: Corso Regina Margherita 249, 10144 Turin, Italy (Formerly Mercure Torino Royal)
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Torino 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualys hotel Royal is located in a great location: a few minutes walk from the historic centre of Turin, less than 1 km from the Duomo, Porta Susa Station and the nearest underground station, about 1.5 km from the Juventus Stadium, 10 minutes away by car from Reggia di Venaria. Access to public transport in front of the hotel. Excellent location for sightseeing, to visit Juventus Stadium, to visit museums, exhibitions, cinema Museum, Egyptian Museum, Royal residences, movida torinese the quadrilatero romano and in Piazza Vittorio Emanuele along the embankments, possibility to park the car in the garage or the car park of the hotel. The hotel has a restaurant with regional and international cuisine, two bars and a modern and well equipped conference centre suitable for any type of meeting or event, for both for business, to organize private events baptisms, weddings, birthday parties. The property offers tastefully furnished rooms, Soundproofed and equipped with modern amenities. You can use your laptop for free WiFi in every room. The easy access to Torino Caselle Airport, the ring road and highways for all directions make it ideal for any need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Torino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Turin
Mercure Hotel Torino Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing