We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the area”
Review of Hotel Urbani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Urbani
Ranked #30 of 130 Hotels in Turin
newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the area”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice hotel. Most of the staff are helpful. Buffet breakfast selection was good, it included some hot items, such as scrambled eggs, frankfurter sausages, and boiled eggs.
It was across the road from the Porta Nouva train station. Unfortunately the area had a few drunks loitering, but they didn't bother us during our few days stay there.
There was 2 large lounges to sit in. There is a bar, however there was no ice available for any drinks, no coke light and the hot water drinks machine was turned off and so no hot drinks were available then either! Not very good. (The bar drinks 'menu' was on a tatty piece of paper!).
No English speaking channels in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller-pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    590
    185
    33
    30
See reviews for
164
422
92
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stay at the Urbani 4 times a year and find it excellent. The rooms are all similar, perhaps a little small but comfortable, and always clean. Staff are friendly. The area seems a bit gloomy at night but we have never had any trouble in all the years we have stayed there. Excellent value for money, consistently good for an inner city hotel.

Room Tip: Room the other side of the courtyard are not carpeted and feel less comfortable. They are rooms star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyBHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Staff all friendly and had good service. The hotel was average at best but it's average priced. The view was not great(see pics). All over ok. Just not a fan of Turin now-not much to do or see. Not trying to sound like a racist but was in italy to see italy and it's people, in Turin I felt like a combo of Africa meets the Middle East for so many of the people I saw.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelliott415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acharnes, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

For a start it stands next to the central train station- so it is within easy reach of everything there is to see in Torino..Still it is not a good area and it is not advisable to walk alone at nights. The hotel offers the basic comforts, but it is not very pretty. Breakfast was ok- but i have had better. You have to walk into an inside garden to reach the rooms- bizarre :) It is a decent option, but not a great one. If i visit Torino again, i will try to find another hotel. Still it is very practical, if you plan to use the train or metro a lot, and i cannot say something negative for it. The problem is that you are not left enthusiasted, that's all :_

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apostolos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A couple of minutes walk from the station and only 10 minutes walk into the centre of Turin, the location for a city break hotel is ideal.
The staff were really friendly, the hotel was clean, the continental breakfast was good and although other reviews mentioned that the coffee comes from a machine, the waitress will make a fresh coffee if you ask.
The room was perfect for us, it's small but has all the facilities required and was very quiet.
We hope to return to Turin one day as we didn't see everything we wanted to and the Urbani is our first choice.
Thank to all the staff who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Many of the previous comments tally with my experience - I booked two nights at a very reasonable price, the interior of the hotel is comfortable, nothing wrong with my room but missing a few comforts that more money would buy. Breakfast - plenty of it, if a bit ordinary. Area - convenient but noisy if you face the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howardandemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porto venere, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent 3 nights downtown... Clean and quiet hotel close to Porta Nuova rail station, due to the room looking into the garden inside. Good continental breakfast and nice smiling staff.Suggested to couple for romantic trip

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amicoatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turin hotels
San Salvario
Best Western Hotel Genio
Crocetta
Best Western Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crocetta
Residence Sacchi
Residence Sacchi
#5 of 130 in Turin
503 reviews
Starhotels Majestic
#17 of 130 in Turin
1,130 reviews
Centro
Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urbani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urbani

Property: Hotel Urbani
Address: Via Saluzzo 7, 10125 Turin, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > San Salvario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Turin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Urbani 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Urbani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbani Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing