We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantasy reconstruction of medieval life.”
Review of Borgo Medievale

Borgo Medievale
Book In Advance
More Info
US$11.85*
and up
Turin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #30 of 373 things to do in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Medieval Castle at the Valentino Park was built to host the Ancient Art section of the 1884 Turin Expo: along the Po river and surrounded by walls, the richly furnished castle rises above a small cluster of houses and workshop. The buildings and the decorations are faithful copies of 15th century castles as most indications for the furniture and the settings came from the Civic Museum of Ancient Art. Within this great exhibition, that was meant too promote the industrial, technological and bussiness development of the city, the medieval castle was intended as an educational and promotional tool.
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A fantasy reconstruction of medieval life.”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I must admit to being candidly awestruck by the ingenuity of the Borgo Medievale, a make-believe historical reconstruction of a Piedmontese medieval village, carefully set up in 1884 for the Exhibition of Turin. It encapsulates all the characteristics of a miniature medieval city but consciously including the metaphors of fairy-tales and of story-telling. The visitor is simply carried away by the elaborate reproduction of medieval life, helped by the ambience of the antique souvenir shops selling old books to hand crafted artefacts in keeping with the age of the rise of the cities. It couldn’t serve as a better set for the making of a film based in that romantic epoch, I couldn’t help thinking of Romeo and Juliet All this could be enjoyed after a walk by the waterside of the Po leading first to Parco Valentino and then to the pleasant discovery of the Borgo, which keeps a humble low profile on the banks of the river and the wooded landscape. One would certainly enjoy bringing the kids here as much as the locals enjoy it for memorable photo-shoots like wedding albums.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    396
    139
    32
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Let down...”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This small Medieval village was built for the Turin expo of 1884. The buildings and decorations are faithful copies of 15th century castles. It was a let down because you get a sort of Disneyland feeling, where you watch something that isn't real. You see the church, that looks great but when you go in, it turns out the exterior was just a front for a very small white room in which there is not much to see. When we wanted to visit the castle, but we would have to wait an hour for the next tour, which was guided and in Italian only (a problem for tourists that do not speak the language). So we didn't go in. The place is a bit dirty from all the bird excrements. We parted with the overall feeling of looking at a replica which didn't do much for us. We rather visit the real thing! By the way, we came by car, which could be parked (paid) at the edge of the park. Be ready for a 15-20 minutes walk into the park before you reach the village. The village is free of charge. Only when you want to visit the castle you have to pay.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So disappointing!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were excited to see this 18th century replica medieval village but our experience was less than satisfactory! First of all, it's really far out of town. We and to transfer twice on public transportation to get here from the main town square. Once we actually found this secluded attraction we were annoyed to see so many tacky souvenir shops with outrageous prices on metal shields, plastic dinosaurs and wooden swords. Then admission at the desk was steep and the only way to see the village was to take a tour. Only in Italian! Needless to say we didn't take the tour, and therefore were kicked out of the place. So sad it turned out so lame, we were so looking foreward to this.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fearless17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Funny”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Interesting experience, very tourist oriented but worth the visit

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreCdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hey we dont need THAT!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It is funny how a joke among late 1800's poets became some sort of statement in the green lung of Turino.
Simple as that: a bunch of poets made a bet, assuming it was funny and socially interesting to reconstruct a village that would work and function like in the Middle Ages.
Since then, the Village serves as a little tourist trap and resembles a silly masquerade in a time and a place where ancient culture still exists and gives a vibrant proof of its existence just being there, gratis et amore for the sake of our spoiled Italian self, so no need to copycat Vegas in building some stupid fake crap.
At least Vegas has Casinos and beautiful shows.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Californiadwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borgo Medievale also viewed

Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Borgo Medievale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing