We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, great location and helpful, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Brighton
Level Contributor
174 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Clean, great location and helpful, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here for one night at the weekend. The hotel is located directly opposite Porta Nuova railway station, close to the Sadem airport shuttle bus stop and to one of the hop on City Sightseeing bus stops. I arrived at just after 10 in the morning and a friendly, English speaking, receptionist ensured that my room was ready for me within twenty minutes. He also provided me with three different wi-fi passwords for my separate devices. The room itself was very clean. It was not huge but was comfortably spacious. I loved the windows that opened on to the bustling street below. I had them open all night, as I like fresh air. It was a little noisy with the sound of people enjoying a Saturday night but I enjoyed hearing this sound of the city. There was little traffic noise. Some reviewers have mentioned that they were concerned about the type of person they saw hanging around on the street outside the hotel. I saw interesting and diverse groups of people, as one would expect near a city railway station. I am a sole female traveller and felt perfectly safe.

I chose not to have breakfast. As I was so exhausted in the evening, I ordered room service for my evening meal. It wasn't wonderful but it was good value and the menu had explained that the pasta sauce was frozen. I knew the hotel did not have a restaurant and could easily have found good food nearby had I not felt so lazy.

The bed was very comfortable, there was a great selection of toiletries and the hotel's main staircase is beautiful. The hotel stored my case for me after checkout where I again, received a friendly service. I would stay here again. My only problem was that I could not get the air-con to work but I did not bother to contact reception about this so it is possible that there was a simple solution to this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElectraCooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania U, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Madame,
we thank you for the time spent for your lovely review.
We are glad to see that our efforts are appreciated by our guests.
We hope to have you again our guest during your next travel in Turin, in the meanwhile please accept our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    259
    86
    27
    10
See reviews for
102
152
62
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The Crystal Palace is across the road from Turin's main rail station, close to tram, metro and bus stops as well as to the historic beautiful city centre.
The hotel is housed within in a traditional Italian styled building which has been sympathetically restored evoking an Italian ambience.
Everything is clean, tidy and well looked after.The staff are helpful, friendly and kindly..I must mention smiling Andrew in the delightful breakfast room, Fransesca and Stephanie the Manager. Stephanie even gave me advice in how to use the tram, bus, metro...including where and how to buy tickets, how to use them, getting on /off, as well as a basic language lesson. This all helped me to really feel at ease and enjoy exploring this charming city which has so many cultural sites.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CheshireScrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania U, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you found our staff lovely and friendly. Our aim is to always ensure our guests feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible. Once again thank you for such a nice review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!
All the staff sends you best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Website offered the Torino Bar and Restaurant but on arrival, I was informed that this 4 star hotel has no restaurant.. A four star hotel must have a restaurant in the vast majority of civilised European countries. This hotel has no eating facility except for breakfast. The response to my complaint was that under a Piedmont regulation it is not necessary to have a restaurant in a four star hotel. How can Accor expect to be taken seriously as an international group if it hides behind such an excuse rather than providing a level of service that travellers are entitled to expect. I refused to stay but have been denied a refund on my prepayment.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hectorwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania U, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all let me thank you for the time spent in reviewing our hotel.
Further to your comment I am sorry to read your complaint about the fact that our hotel did not have a restaurant, nevertheless I would like to underline some points as already done in reply to your e-mails in the past:
In the hotel’s website it is well specified that the hotel only disposes of a bar and that it doesn’t have any restaurant, as indicated in the "Dining and Bars" section of the website. Moreover at the check-in you have been informed that some cold dishes were available at the bar, nevertheless you chose to leave the hotel.
I confirm that for our regional law a four stars hotel is not obliged to have restaurant, no one is hiding behind any excuse, this is just a fact.
For these reasons we have not answered positively to your request of refund.
Thank you again for taking the time for your review. We look forward to better meeting your expectations upon your next stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The location is very central, just next door from the central station, but at night looks very creepy and did not feel safe with all weird people around.

The rooms had a smell of smoke, is it legal?

The staircase is indeed incredible: huge like in a museum.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania U, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.
I am sorry to see that you felt unsafe outside of the hotel, that the sorroundings seemed creepy, but as you said the hotel is central and located next to the main train station.You will agree with me that in most of the cities the area round the train station is plenty of people arriving from different places and sometimes the appereance scares us more than it should.
Some of our rooms are smoking ones and even if our housemaids do their best to clean and air the room in those rooms happens that a little smell remains the same.
In thanking you again for your kind review and hoping to have you here for your next stay in Turin I wish you a good day and send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I popped into this hotel late this morning with the intention of obtaining information on the availability of rooms in October during the Salone del Gusto. The only person at the reception, a many wearing glasses brushed me off with a cold answer of ''you have to email us to find out'' after shoving me the hotel business card and continued 'working' on the computer. I was rather shocked at his surprise as I thought it was something he could have simply checked on the computer and let me know straight away and surely unnecessary for a potential guest (or in my case, someone who actually wants to book 7 double rooms) to have to go home and write an email.

So even though I did not and I am definitely not going to book 7 rooms with them during the Salone, I thought I would write this review of the reception I got.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afficionada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania U, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all let me thank you for having taken the time to write your opinion on this website.
I express my apologies for what happened but let me tell that it is not our policy to brush off guests without even give any availability or price.
I will personally check with my team what could have been the difficulty in managing your request and invite you to come again to our hotel and see that we can grant a better service than the one you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

this hotel offers everything you expect from a 4-star hotel, but not more. it is situated centrally but not picturesque due to the closeness of the train-station. rooms are big and clean, the staff is friendly, furniture and be are of good quality and in good shape, however overall impression of the room is quite spartan. in essence: not the hotel for a romantic and luxurious weekend but definitely good value for money and mercure quality guaranteed

Room Tip: rooms facing the front have mountain an station view, noise included; rooms on the side have a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania U, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for the time spent for your review. We are glad to know that you appreciated your stay in our hotel and your review encourages us to improve the quality of our service.
I see that in your opinion standard rooms can give the impression to be quite spartan and basic but the hotel has different kind of rooms that well fit also for a romantic week-end, such as rooms on the top floor or suites.
In thanking you again and hoping to see you again during your next stay in Turin we send our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turin hotels
Crocetta
BEST WESTERN Hotel Luxor
San Salvario
BEST WESTERN Hotel Genio
Crocetta
BW PLUS Hotel Genova
BW PLUS Hotel Genova
#11 of 128 in Turin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Majestic
#16 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Concord Hotel
#23 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel
Address: Via Nizza 11, 10125 Turin, Italy (Formerly Mercure Torino Crystal Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Turin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 60 rooms and 7 suites, providing all the four star comforts. Built in 1800, it is in the heart of the art and culture scene, just a few steps from the city centre and conveniently close to the major congress centres and train station, all of which make it an ideal destination for leisure and business travellers. All rooms are equipped with WiFi internet, LCD TV, SKY satellite TV, kettle, bathroom telephone and parquet floors in standard rooms. The hotel also features an American bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crystal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Torino Crystal Palace Hotel Turin
Mercure Hotel Turin
Torino Crystal Palace Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing