We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff but the hotel is a little tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia
Ranked #22 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Staff but the hotel is a little tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend as part of a packaged event.

The staff were all fantastic, at all times looking after our every need. I would say some of them went above and beyond, a huge thank you to you all.

ROOMS - We had two rooms, both on non smoking floors. However, due to the way the hotel allocates their smoking rooms on alternate floors there was always a faint smell of smoking in the corridors and also a little in the rooms. If the hotel wishes to retain "Smoking Rooms" they should ideally allocate them only to the higher floors. Other than that our rooms were clean tidy, comfortable but a little small. the Hotel wifi worked perfectly all weekend. Having two rooms we also discovered one was significantly cooler than the other, with no option to adjust the warmer room to get any cooler. When this was mentioned at reception they informed us that this could be altered by them - once fixed we had a much more comfortable & cooler room.

BAR - Great if you wanted a bottle of wine, spirits or a soft drink but unfortunately they had no draught beers. There was also nowhere to sit outside. This meant that the facilities of the little kiosk across the street became quite popular.

RESTAURANT - We had all evening meals for the weekend in the restaurant. The food was fine and the service fantastic, but the temperature. The A/C clearly needs some maintenance or improvement as it was so uncomfortable. Never mind, more respite at the kiosk across the street!

Breakfast was of a buffet style and was quite good. The coffee was from a machine but it was decent and there was a good selection on the buffet.

LOCATION - It seems like it's a long way out of town but it's on the Metro. Just seven stops on the metro and you are at XVIII Dicembre, on the edge of the centre area. Or stay on the metro and visit the Lingotto - perfect.

So in conclusion. A chain hotel that could do with some investment being spent on its facilities, but its a chain hotel with some great people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear MrBob_11,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am very pleased that you found our staff highly commendable and I am also glad that our location and breakfast selection worked for your needs. It is always motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you

I understand your stay was not 100% satisfactory due to the room condition. Please accept our sincerest apologies this may have caused your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest services.

Again, thank you and we hope to have the honor to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Turin.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    347
    137
    26
    15
See reviews for
111
169
34
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

good hotel, though far away from the city centre. But very close to Metro station so commuting was not a problem.

The hotel did not offer a complimentary bottle of water, which is common on similar class hotels elsewhere. And the hotel staff told that the tap water is not safe to drink. This was strange. Breakfast was average. Otherwise, the hotel made for a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

It has been a pleasure to come back to the Holiday Inn Turin Corso Francia.
I've chosen it for it convenient location, for the easy access from the motorway and downtown, for the underground parking.
It is clean and nice as expected.
My big thank you goes to the whole staff: front desk, restaurant and General Manager.
He is always available, sign of presence, attention and care for the guests.
I recommend it, I will come back for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, as a general rule it is advisable to be away from vending machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbonfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Staying at this hotel was an absolute pleasure. A lovely hotel, in a great location with amazing staff who make you feel at home. We arrived late, tired and hungry and personnel greeted us with warmth and more importantly a large glass of wine and a couple of snacks to keep us going.
We had comfortable sleep and journey.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karaoguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear karaoguz,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. Our amazing staff strive to make each guest’s stay unique and it sounds like they were able to accomplish that for you. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next trave

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caister-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for four nights (Monday - Thursday), and we were really pleased with our stay. The amenities are what you would expect from a Holiday Inn - good sized clean rooms and en-suite facilities, comfortable beds. Our rooms were on the north side so we had fantastic views of the Alps. The staff were very courteous and helpful, although one morning the head waiter told us that we 'must report to reception immediately', making us think we had done something wrong! It was simply that they had some information about our transfer to the airport! The choice at breakfast was very good (but obviously don't expect a full English breakfast!) and varied slightly from day to day. The hotel is out of the city centre, but the Metro station is just across the road and will get you into the city in 10-15 minutes. We bought a 6-day ticket for €12 each, and this is also valid for the buses and you can make as many journeys as you like. The Metro is clean, quick and doesn't have drivers! My son and I had tickets to go to see Juventus play on the Wednesday night, and the bus to the stadium also stopped outside the hotel, so this was an added bonus for us! Overall it made for a really great stay in Turin and I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the north side have views of the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had an excellent stay. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was very good, continental, buffet style, which suits us as a family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here with friends for two nights over New Year's Eve; we had three rooms altogether. The best thing about the hotel, and something that we all noticed, was that the beds are extremely comfortable and we all enjoyed a very good night's sleep with good blackout curtains. The hotel is 4* quality, particularly with regard to the fittings and furniture in the rooms and bathrooms. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. I had a fantastic view of the mountains from my room on the 6th floor. The rooms have lots of power sockets in all the right places. The hotel is very close to Massaua metro station, but beware it stops running early on Monday nights. When I arrived, it was a very cold day and I was feeling particularly cold, so I was delighted that the temperature in my room had mistakenly been set to 26°C; it really warmed me up! You can tell the reception staff the temperature you want, and you can subsequently adjust this up or down by 1°C within the room. I'm not sure why it works this way, but any change quickly takes effect.

The only problem was the hotel's wifi internet, which the hotel could fortunately fix easily if it wanted to. You are given a username and password, each 8 characters with a validity period of 7 days. There is a server-side bug in the hotel's wifi system whereby it unnecessarily deregisters devices if they do not maintain a continuous wifi connection. Mobile phones, by design, save battery power by repeatedly disconnecting and reconnecting to wifi networks. Therefore every few minutes, a mobile phone has to re-authenticate, requiring the user to tap the screen 21 times (8 characters each for the username and password plus navigating around the screen and keyboard). This cumbersome repetitive procedure makes the hotel wifi unusable on a mobile phone. Even worse, if you're waiting for an IP-based communication (e.g. Skype, WhatsApp, Viber, iMessage etc), you often don't receive it because the hotel's wifi system has silently kicked your phone off the network, and nothing alerts you that this has happened. This all could be fixed with a server-side software or configuration change so that each device's MAC address remains registered until the end of the username's validity period. Even better than browser-based authentication, a simple WPA key, as used by many other hotels and bars, would be much more user-friendly. Fortunately I had Platinum status in IHG Rewards Club so I wasn't surcharged for the wifi, but I understand that most guests are surcharged.

Room Tip: Some parts of the 6th floor have fantastic views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turin hotels
Crocetta
Residence Sacchi
Residence Sacchi
#3 of 128 in Turin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Crocetta
BEST WESTERN Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crocetta
Turin Palace Hotel
Turin Palace Hotel
#1 of 128 in Turin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia

Property: Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia
Address: Piazza Massaua 21, 10142 Turin, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Turin
#20 Business Hotel in Turin
#26 Family Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Turin Corso Francia, which opened in February 2006, is ideally located, a few minutes from the old city centre of Turin, where the Egyptian Museum, Royal Palace and Film Museum, inside the Mole Antonelliana, are located.The modern-style bedrooms, all perfectly soundproofed, provide all the amenities sought after by Business and Leisure Clients.The hotel is easy to reach using the main means of transport both from the railway stations of Porta Nuova and Porta Susa, with the new Underground station (Piazza Massaua), located in front of the hotel, and from the Sandro Pertini airport. All the Via Lattea ski resorts made famous by the Turin Winter Olympics 2006 are within easy reach.The Olimpic Stadium is just a few minutes distance.Holiday Inn Turin Corso Francia is perfect for organising any type of event thanks to the Congress Centre with seven meeting rooms with cutting-edge technological equipment and fast WI-FI Internet connection.The 'Fermata Venchi internal restaurant offers a comfortable and relaxing ambience where you can enjoy traditional regional, national and international dishes.Free Mini Gym.Large internal garage.Holiday Inn Turin Corso Francia, for business or leisure, your home away from home, just a short way from the heart of Turin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia Hotel Turin
Turin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing