We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Adria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolzano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Adria
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
MA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Recently stayed at the Hotel Adria for a one night visit to see Oetzi. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station and downtown. Check in was easy and the lobby area was pleasant. Our room was on the fourth floor and had a lovely viiew of Bolzano rooftops and of the mountain beyond, dotted with tiny houses. The triple room was quite comfortable with three single beds, a small kitchenette, flat screen TV, wardrobe and huge, deep blue tiled bathroom with a big tub and hand-held shower. Very clean and, most importantly, it had air conditioning, as Bolzano was steamy hot. The air conditioning was turned on by inserting the room key in a slot near the door, so it would shut off once you left the room. Our room was lovely and cool all night. Room was a very reasonable 99 euros (without breakfast) on a Friday night in the summer in Bolzano, which is an expensive city in which to stay. For price, location and amenities, this hotel is a great choice in Bolzano.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BooKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    44
    27
    11
    2
See reviews for
18
28
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Province of Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Hotel Adria is a no-frill, basic hotel: clean, in a very good position since it is near to the train and bus station, and to the city centre. Despite this, it is not in a noisy nor trafficked place. Good value for money (I have paid 50 euros for 1 night, with no breakfast: it is very difficult to find something cheaper in Bolzano).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

At somewhat the last minute, my husband, brother and sister-in-law decided to spend one night in Bolzano between out Munich and Verona destinations. I had spent a day in Bolzano several years ago while searching out hiking spots in the Dolomites and was thus somewhat familiar with the city. We arrived with no reservations and on our second try found the Hotel Adria. The lady who met use at the desk quoted a reasonable price for two rooms sharing a bathroom. We asked to see it and it was perfect. Two good size bedrooms, and a very modern bathroom and a efficiency kitchen. We decided to take it. As mentioned in another review, it was very conveniently located. We were also lucky as there was a festival that weekend which added to the charm of Bolzano.

The rooms were very clean, and we were on the 4th floor which had a small balcony facing the park off the two bedrooms. There were only two drawbacks. There was only one key, and it turned on and off the electricity. Because of this, we could not break up by couples and explore individually. While it was a bit of an inconvenience, we were able to adjust. The only other drawback was that one room had a glass door, so the hall light had to be off for sleepers. The room my husband and I was in had glass blocks in the wall that was shared with the bathroom, and at night when one used toe bathroom, our room filled with light.

Over-all, we were very happy with the Hotel Adria and with key and glass door/glass-blocks caveats, would recommend this hotel and posssibly stay there again.

Room Tip: Just be aware of the key and glass door/window situation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVDVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed in this 3* ! hotel one night with 7 months old baby. Room was awful, bed too soft so you cannot find the position for sleeping. Had a neck pain after the sleeping. There not facilities for preparing hot drinks.
The price was not worth for the service /83 euros/. Not breakfast included. Only good point was the staff in the hotel, they were nice, prepared as well the baby cot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bolzano hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

I spent quite a bit of time researching places to stay that would be fit for an extended family of 4, and I've found that throughout Europe, most rooms are single, double or triple. Occasionally, a hotel will allow a 4th bed to be brought into an already tight room. I guess Europeans don't have large families?

Staying in an apartment was the perfect solution. For the same price as a triple room with an extra bed (which would have been super tight on space), we got an entire apartment that would have easily accommodated a family of 8 - perfect for an extended stay and a family that likes to stretch out. We also had a washer, a full kitchen, a living room, and a very charming location - it's located on its own Piazza, steps away from Piazza Walther M.

Be prepared for a walk up varied flights of stairs to the 3rd floor location, but the beautiful mountain breeze and the donging of the bells from the nearby cathedral are fantastic - and very "Italy."

The Finks are very accommodating, and their son picked us up from the train station, as we arrived at almost 2am and were uncomfortable about walking in the dark to find the apartment. His English was perfect, and we found ourselves settled in and unpacked in no time.

There were cupboards and a fridge for groceries, and a large family-style table, where we cooked an Italian meal halfway through our stay. The open market, shopping, museums, pizza, coffees, everything was just steps away. We washed a couple of batches of laundry in the efficient machine in the bathroom and the sun and breeze dried everything on the lines outside of the master bedroom windows very quickly.

Most of the apartment is outfitted with IKEA furniture and decor, in tones of white and brown, making it modern and European. My kids found nooks for reading and writing, and the open courtyard made it nice to "meet" the neighbors.

The only caveat was the internet, which, although some reviews state is wireless, is not - it's ethernet, which can be obtained at Hotel Adria. It costs 5 Euro per day, and ITalian law requires you to register to use it. It also seemed to cut off at midnight each day (which makes it tough when catching up with family in the STates) and you have to call the hotel in the morning to ask for it to be reactivated. Internet was not super important to us, but we jumped through a lot of hoops to get it, so just be aware of some issues there.

Our power cut out while trying to run 4 stove-top burners, the over-stove fan, lights and a hair dryer, and the hotel did not know how to help us. It would be great if we had a guide for things like that. We flagged down a neighbor who showed us a circuit box in the basement (we found one outside of the apartment but those settings did not help us). Fortunately, the basement circuit breaker was the ticket.

We also did not know what to do with the trash - we put some outside on a day that looked like everyone else was - but the day we left (a Sunday), we felt bad about leaving it in the apartment, as there are no dumpsters that we are aware of.

Drop off of the key and ethernet cable when we left was at Hotel Adria and pain free. We really hope to stay here again - the customer care and one-on-one care of our hosts, particulary Karoline Fink, is one of the best accommodation experiences I have ever had. I had so many questions prior to our arrival, and Karoline Fink was available by email to answer everything. Everyone we ran into from the hotel to the Finks were really friendly and accommodating.

Our favorite spots to eat for families were the Bennink cafe for pizza and gelati and Aida for dinner and cafe latte. We found chocolate shops and fun souvenier spots and a great place to buy scarves by the Otti museum.

Thank you to Karoline for a wonderful stay. We hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gracegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on the way to Val Gardena. To be honest, we weren't sure what to expect after seeing the rather antiquated website, but were pleasantly surprised with what we found.

In terms of location, It was very conveniently located between the train and bus stations and very close to the main piazza, which was important for us as this was only a gateway stopover.

And the hotel itself? Well our room was modern, clean and comfortable. It had an LCD TV with satellite channels. There was also an in-room safe. The bathroom had a full bath/shower and was quite large. There wasn't much of a view from the room but this didn't concern us.

In addition, we found the hotel staff were available and helpful, able to answer touristy questions about Bolzano. There was wireless internet available at extra cost. Breakfast was also available at extra cost but we didn't have it, choosing to go to a local cafe instead. We did see others having breakfast in the lobby and it looked to be of a standard European style.

All-in-all, we were very happy with our stay here and would recommend it to most travelers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Herr Fink owns the Adria and the nearby Gasthaus Fink. I stayed in the latter for a one month stay. It was a lovely room with a nice kitchen, bathroom (with a great deep bath tup and a clothes washer), nice bed with an excellent mattress. These long-stay rooms were only 40-60 (depending on size) per night, including weekly cleaning service and free high-speed internet. They are right in the old town, couldn't find a better location in this lovely town. And Herr Fink is a delightful honest man, and very responsive to any and all requests.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richsedgewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
0.1 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina A.
Hotel Regina A.
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#22 of 26 in Bolzano
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Figl
Hotel Figl
#15 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adria

Property: Hotel Adria
Address: Via Dottor Julius Perathoner 17, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Number of rooms: 43

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing