We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cappello di Ferro Hotel
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The hotel is located right in the centre of the city and also has very nice owners and staff. The breakfst was outstanding in offered many different choices of breads and different meats. The room is also comfortable and clean but nothing flashy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novid_manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, excellent breakfast and free wireless internet !!
So for this price you get a lot and indeed everything you need.
I stayed two days last week to attend a conference. The neighboorhoud is very nice because it is really close to the shopping area with a lot of nice and exclusive shops. For having a walk in the evening it is an excellent starting point.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I'm chinese from Beijing, but I'm living in Europr since a while.
Well, Beijing hotel standards are something different, rooms are bigger (as in U.S.), services are more, but we are in downtown and what you find here is all what you need:
Staff friendly;
Good price (compared to others in the city);
Room Clean (even if a bit tiny);
Location excellent, expecially if travelling with trains or busses;
Breakfast good (well, they can give a bit more, but is ... already more then in many other place in Italy!).

I see people complains for noise... well, if you close the window you neither realize to be in downtown from inside the room. If you sleep with the window open.... you get a bit noise and the smoke from the small pub downstairs.
Well, maybe in summer you need A/C.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Love Bolzano- it's a beautiful city - but stay elsewhere. We are not picky and did like the simple room and small shower with good water pressure. The room was clean and "functional" as described by the hotel when we booked it. The breakfast is nice but held offsite at another restaurant.

But we couldn't sleep there! The noise from the street well that went into the early morning hours, the light from the neon sign and the cigarette smoke wafting up to our room from the nightclub below. The room was hot, even with the window open. Closing the window was not an option- there was no fan or temperature controls for the room.

We had a late train leaving for our next stop and asked if we could have a late check out, the hotel agreed. Then changed their mind later that morning. We had to scramble to locate and notify friends who were also staying in the hotel and pack in a rush. We lost some items because of the rush. I didn't feel particulary welcome or appreciated. In essence, this hotel was merely a functioning spot in which to attempt to sleep.

Room Tip: Either get a fan when you check in or try to get a room away from the main street (or maybe higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geekgirl415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This hotel really looks very unwelcoming, the entrance is up some extremely gloomy stairs and the receptionist didn't seem very happy, but the room was spotless (though Spartan), the bed comfortable and the shower worked. It poured with rain whilst we were there and we had to go to a restaurant round the corner for breakfast, (we never found out why it wasn't in the restaurant attached to the hotel!), thank goodness we had umbrellas. I would not go to this hotel again, mainly because it was so gloomy. Bolzano is a beautiful city and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAEJJAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Ok, so, know what to expect from a hotel room in Europe. We were looking for a room for two nights between Florence and Munich. After checking out our options we found this hotel at the last minute that wasn't out of our price range. (Internet special). The hotel is located on one of the main streets that traverse this beautiful city. The room we had was right over that loud main street and our second story window, or if you've been to Europe, our first floor window was direcrly over a restaurant with outside seating-and- the BIG neon hotel sign that blinked all night long, -and- the smoke from the patrons would come up and right into our room until 1 am. The rooms were way over priced, euro to US dollar.

It was hot at this time of year and there is no air conditioning in the hotel, so you can put two and two together, we had to sleep with the windows open and drapes closed because of the sign. After the first night with little or no sleep, and losing about five pounds to sweat, we asked to be moved, but, they were full. We eventually were given a fan, so after a long day the room was somewhat tolerable at night. Our friend who had a room at the rear of the hotel on a higher floor had the same problem, no noise but no air circulation either as it was boxed in by other hotels.

So, the rooms are small, clean, with bed, shower, dresser, and TV. Looks as if they went under a renovation recently.The staff was easy to deal with. They provided a continental breakfast at a nearby restaurant.

Would I stay here again?.Nope, I will look for a hotel off the main street and one with AC or windows that get a cross breeze at the least. Bolzano is a great town and the people are very friendly, so don't let this review change your mind about going there. Just do some research on the hotel before hand. Maybe winter is better?

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side, "Via Bottai" are terrible. Loud, smokey from street restuarants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I have been staying at this conveniently located hotel in the heart of the Old City in Bolzano, Italy since arriving here June 18, 2011. First of all, it is easy to find so is convenient for a newcomer, located as it is about 400 metres directly straight up the street acroos from the train station exit. I have found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Also, I have taken full advantage of the breakfast buffet that is included in the room rate, often making sandwiches to take away with me for lunch along with a piece or two of cheese. For a budget conscious tourist, this is a real advantage. The restaurant down below has great pizza on the menu and is open until quite late. I have a room with a balcony and have really appreciated the cool mountain breeze blowing in at night. Although not a fancy place, it is clean, quiet and comfortable, so all in all, I would say it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianseaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#22 of 26 in Bolzano
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Feichter
Hotel Feichter
#15 of 26 in Bolzano
214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Lewald
Hotel Lewald
#14 of 26 in Bolzano
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kolpinghaus Bozen
Kolpinghaus Bozen
#17 of 26 in Bolzano
157 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gardenhotel Premstaller
Gardenhotel Premstaller
#23 of 26 in Bolzano
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappello di Ferro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappello di Ferro Hotel

Address: Via Dei Bottai 21, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Price Range: £77 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cappello di Ferro Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cappello di Ferro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing