We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating, and suitable for English speakers”

South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology
Ranked #2 of 186 things to do in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The exhibition of the South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology consists of a collection of the most important archaeological findings of South Tyrol, like the world famous chalcolithic ice mummy called "Ötzi, the Iceman" who was found with all his belongings on the glacier in 1991.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fascinating, and suitable for English speakers”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This is a fascinating museum, albeit an expensive one. It is a very interesting story which is well documented here. In fact I would have preferred more scientific description and less about the media hype that surrounded the discovery of Otzi and subsequent developments. Unusually, the exhibits are also described in English. Well worth an hour or two of your time.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Newportonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,048
    491
    112
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“A small but fascinating museum - a must on any trip to Bozen”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I first visited the museum several years ago. Since then, it has undergone an overhaul and scientists have been able to discover much more about Ötzi, the man whose mummified corpse was found frozen in ice. Accordingly, the museum is even better now and makes for a really interesting visit. Information is presented in 'digestable' size chunks on panels in English, German and Italian and is fascinating for both adults and children. If you are in a rush, this compact museum can easily be done in under an hour but if you wish to do it in more depth you could easily spend a couple of hours here. There is a decent museum shop on the ground floor. Although there is an elevator within the museum (the exhibits are spread over three floors) I am not sure if the ground floor itself has wheelchair access: we entered by the main staircase but perhaps there is a side entrance. Usefully, you can also borrow a lightweight fold-away stool to take round the museum with you - one of our party had mobility problems so this proved to be a great help.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We recently visited the South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology - mainly to find out more about Otzi (the Iceman). We found it to be absolutely amazing. The entrance fee is about €9 each (so well worth every cent). The exhibts are over 2/3 floors and it is possible to see the actual clothing worn and weapons used by Otzi, and to learn a little about how they aged him/found out where he came from etc. It was like an Ice Age CSI!!!! For anybody not familiar with the story of this 5,000 year old mummy - there is documentary video footage playing constantly in several languages - outlining the discovery of Otzi. The best it is - Otzi is on display in the museum also. On the day we visited there was a small queue to see him - (in order to keep the temperature within the room, where he is kept stable - he can only be viewed through a small window). It was fascinating for the adults and so educational for children (without them realising it). Other posters reported that the exhibits are not written in English - this has changed recently I would imagine - as everything now has a newly printed English translation - making the experience easy to follow and very interesting.

The town of Bolzano is lovely. Really pretty - typically Tyrollean. We visited on Easter Saturday and the place was buzzing with the most fantastic stalls - selling everything from meats and fruit to craftwork. We bought the most amazing breads, olives and olive oil here. We also bought really gorgeous nuts/dried fruit mixes and fresh chilli's. There are some nice little shops/restaurants dotted all around the town. Parking was no problem for us - there is a pay and display area outside the museum.

Great day out for anybody touring around the area.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Jersey Shore, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The ICEMAN was what brought us here and he did not disappoint! AMAZING!”
Reviewed 28 January 2011

My husband and I were in Austria for two weeks and we wanted to go to Italy so we took a day trip to Bolzano, Italy! The museum with the Iceman was primarily the reason we went to Bolzano.

The region there is beautiful, vineyards line the hills.

The museum was in the process of a renovation, which I hope for future visitors will be magnificent. It was still 4 levels of different ages, ice age, copper age etc. My husband only had this one day in Bolzano, so we opted not to get the audio guide as we went through the museum.

The iceman mummy was the highlight of the trip. From the story of how he was found, what he was wearing, to how in tact he remains today was simply amazing.

The only qualm I had about this museum is that the descriptions were mostly in German or Italian. With the exception of the Ice Age, due to it being a huge exhibit, they had all three languages including English. My husband and I took full advantage of our entry ticket to see the other levels, but the other levels were not in English. So we couldn't really make out what the objects were (if they weren't obvious) so it was a little disappointing.

However, I will say if you can get to this museum and only have limited time, go see Otzi the Iceman. TOTALLY WORTH THE PRICE!

Note to all: No cameras are allowed and they make you lock up everything before you go through the exhibits. The lockers are large we stored our jackets, backpack, camera etc for 2 Euros.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank nesslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roveredo in Piano
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Okay Museum”
Reviewed 8 July 2009

The museum was fairly small, but it had a lot of good info. Unfortunately, we couldn't read most of it because a lot of the exhibits aren't in English. It was definitely great to see Otzi, but he's in a dark room and you have to stand in line to see him through a small window. You also aren't supposed to take pictures of him. We went during the winter so there weren't a lot of tourists, but we have friends who say they've waited in line almost an hour to see Otzi and the other tourists were pushing them to get out of the way. I recommend this only because of the awesomeness of seeing Otzi.

Helpful?
1 Thank areyouserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology also viewed

Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
 
Bolzano, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing