We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Greif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Greif
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Red Hook, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I loved Hotel Greif. The staff is impeccable, the location divine, the artist-designed rooms interesting and immaculate, and Christian's Asian Mojito in the almost-hidden rooftop bar Grifoncino was one of the best cocktails I've ever tasted. Bolzano is a gem of a town and the new museum of contemporary and modern art is not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHookGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    122
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
93
214
26
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Not impressed by this hotel sincerely speaking , the hospitality speachless and the food disaster,not so clean and the price doesn't relevate the service. Very calm and peacefull place but ....i wouldn't return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Genius I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGreif_Bolzano, Direttore at Hotel Greif, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Genius I,

we try to contact you directly, thanks to the TripAdvisor message service, but, unfortunately, we didn't get any answer from you. Maybe, you didn’t received our message at all...

We were a little bit astonished by your anecdote regarding the welcome the staff reserved you… Our hotel on Walther’ Square has always been famous in Bolzano for the high-level service we offer all our visitors. Every day, we try to do all the best we can to improve our skills in welcoming and cuddling our guests, with the purpose to let them experience the best journey they have ever had.

We are surprised to read your notice about the food too: as a bed and breakfast hotel, we don’t offer any restaurant service directly; we just suggest to try the multiple award winning restaurant at our sister hotel Parkhotel Laurin. On the other hand, we offer every morning an extensive breakfast buffet rich in homemade cakes and jams as well as a large selection on bio-cereals and regional cheeses and hams.

As we normally receive good evaluations from our guests concerning above all our staff and breakfast offer, we would appreciate if you could check the name of the hotel you review… we have the doubt you choose the wrong one by mistake.
Here our website address (it could help you): http://www.greif.it/en/.

We hope you would be so kind to send us your feedback.

With best regards from Bolzano,
Doris Gotter
Hotel Manager at Hotel Greif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Bolzano Defintely worth a visit - interesting city as in Italy but Defintely more German than Italian. Hotel part of design group of hotels and all very efficient and good value And as expected well designed . Rooftop bar is really fab with chatty batman who mixes some great cocktails

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank das90a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We had a suite for 2 night very clean.
The staff were very friendly and suggested a couple of restaurants Vogele was one of them and worth a visit. The room was a good size and well appointed.
Our room had a view over the square and church which is very impressive.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenchen
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

During an extended weekend we enjoyed three nights at the Hotel Greif.
We booked comfort room 308 which offers a great view to the mountains. As already mentioned in many other reviews the brakfast is fantastic and the service was trying to fulfill any of our wishes. In general we experienced all service-staff (desk, chamber-maid,... ) as very helpfull.
Another highlight of the hotel is the offer to use the park and swimming-pool of Hotel Laurin, just on the opposite side of the street.
There is only one little thing which might be optimized. The parking facilities are limited to the public parking house at Waltherplatz which is quite expensive. I would whish a kind of special reduced price for hotel guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrickMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This small boutique-like hotel is conveniently located in the Walther Platz in the centre of the old town. The hotel is modern in its design and attitude, a refreshing change! I had a superior room which was ample for me, very clean, very nice bath, larger rooms with balconies available. The staff extremely helpful and professional. An outdoor lounge was great to relax at the end of the day for a drink and snack while watching the World Cup match. Breakfast was excellent in the dining room and the servers were exceptional. If I return to Bolzano, this is where I would stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hotel Greif was a great hotel, in a fantastic location on the main plaza in Bolzano. Our room was upgraded to a junior suite which was HUGE . We were wonderfully relaxed. The staff were extremely helpful, especially the breakfast staff. I have never seen such a selection of food for breakfast like the one we had. All kinds of fresh fruit, cereal, cheeses etc, topped by a freshly cooked hot breakfast of our choice. I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Bolzano.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
0.0 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,149 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
1.0 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
#10 of 26 in Bolzano
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina A.
Hotel Regina A.
#7 of 26 in Bolzano
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#9 of 26 in Bolzano
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greif

Property: Hotel Greif
Address: Piazza Walther Platz | Entrance Via Della Rena Raingasse, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bolzano
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bolzano
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
#2 Family Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greif 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Greif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greif Hotel Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing