We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bozen weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scala Stiegl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bozen weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We did spend a weekend in Bozen together with friends. We were very satisfied with the hotel, staff and especially our rooms. (This was our second stay in this hotel)
Tere were, however, 2 drawbacks:
1. Sunday breakfast: The bread on a Sunday is never fresh and always from Saturday, which makes especially the rolls and all white breads extremly dry. They should change that into prebaked breads and finish-bake it on Sunday.

2. Whenever a busload of guest is in, the breakfast-room is not large enough. We came in and there was 1 free table wit a `Reserved` sign. After asking, we were not allowed to take the table. Wating already 20 minutes and asking again, we received a very rude reply fron the water. Finally, after about 30 minutes, we got our table and the waitress was just great.

The best comes: We spent alltogether 1hour 20minutes in the breakfast room and the RESERVED table was never occupied!

Room Tip: Try for the superior rooms on the 2 top floors. On level 5 including balconies. Reserve always to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    166
    75
    14
    7
See reviews for
71
126
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
447 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Scala Stiegl while on a business trip to Bolzano. I normally stay out of town close to the trade/expo center, however I was up for a little change this visit. I was truly impressed with this hotel, which is located in downtown Bolzano, with a 10-minute walk to the center city. The outside facade is old world charming, with the Austrian architecture style. Indoors has been totally renovated and features the most modern of comforts.

Upon check in, the greeting and reception was very kind and helpful and my room was ready for me to occupy. The public areas and my guest room were VERY CLEAN. There is small bar in the lobby, a sitting/reading area, the hotel's restaurant and a nicely shaded outdoor area where the pool and dining terrace is located.

My room was very modern and comfortable to stay in. Everything seemed to be very new and there were no signs of wear and tear. The free Internet worked well and the flat-screen television was of good quality and featured approximately 50 channels with a clear picture. The bed was comfortable and fitted with good linens and a comfy comforter for a blanket. Lighting was modern and very good. My room was soundproof, as I heard no noise from the corridor or the neighboring rooms. Floors were bare wood, however, I did not hear noise from the rooms located directly above mine. The window curtains adequately darkened the room and afforded privacy.

The bathroom was spotless and had a tub/shower combination with good water pressure. The bath towels were a little rough on the skin. Amenities were limited to bottled shower gel/shampoo combination and a bar of soap. Breakfast was good, featuring several items to chose from, however, there were no eggs on the buffet.

One little problem I experienced was upon initial arrival at the Scala Stiegl. I drove a car and the hotel is located on a rather small, one-way street in a commercial area of Bolzano. There was no place to pull over to inquire where the hotel's parking lot was located or to unload my luggage. Their parking lot and garage is located across the street from the hotel, though it is not well indicated if driving down this road. I hunted down a parking spot on the road (this was difficult), walked my luggage to the hotel, and checked in. The receptionist then indicated where the parking was located and how to access it. There is a small outdoor lot which is free and garage parking costs 10 euro per day.

All things considered, I highly recommend the Scala Stiegl Hotel when visiting beautiful Bolzano.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirto56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Old hotel walking distance from city centre, but renovated with taste: very large rooms with wooden floors and spacious bath rooms, lovely garden with swimming pool, beautiful terrace under old trees, good breakfast... A lovely place, in a lovely city !

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dirk3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
156 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Within walking distance of the train station and the town centre, this hotel offers pleasant, comfortable accomodation. Rooms are clean, and are furnished in a standard "modern hotel" design. Our room had a view of the pool, and mountain cable car.

Breakfast buffet is good, with the opportunity to eat outside under giant parasols.

There is a smallish pool, and underground secure parking. WiFi is free. Reception staff spoke good english.

Bolzano is a very nice town, with a good selection of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

The subject line sums it up. The room is fine and clean, but quite basic, the same goes for the bathroom. The location is very convenient (although, given the size of Bolzano, pretty much everything is "central"). The breakfast is good, that is, mostly ok, but then there is apple strudel that just keeps coming - make sure you you get some. For a business trip I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKTT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Stiegl Scala in June 2012. Our superior room was a comfortable size, very quiet and had a small balcony overlooking a hillside of forest and vineyards. The breakfast buffet was very good, the staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the swimming pool. The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the city centre

Room Tip: We recommend the 5th floor superior rooms with balcony forest and vineyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night at the start of a two week bike trip. From the outside the hotel doesn't look like much, it seems to be rather old, but that's just the first impression. Inside, it's very modern and elegant. The rooms are large, with hard flooring (always a good thing), very clean; the bathroom was very large and clean. The beds were v. comfy.
We had dinner in their restaurant as well, which was very good. Breakfast was better than usual in hotels, with lots of fresh cheese, ham, eggs etc. Service was attentive, friendly and efficient.
We can recommend this hotel to anyone who'd like to enjoy a nice few days in Bolzano. We couldn't use their swimming pool (too cold), but I guess the garden is lovely in summer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoonySwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
0.4 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
#13 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eberle
Hotel Eberle
#15 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#7 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scala Stiegl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scala Stiegl Hotel

Property: Scala Stiegl Hotel
Address: Via Brennero 11, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bolzano
#9 Business Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scala Stiegl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Scala Stiegl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scala Stiegl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing