We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanity check”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Stadt Hotel Citta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stadt Hotel Citta
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sanity check”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Do not understand why this hotel gets so many rave reviews. This is essentially a glorified college student dorm style room in the center of Bolzano with direct access to undercover parking (16 euros). Our room equipped with Ikea furniture was pointlessly and dis-functionally large yet the bathroom was leaking shower was dim and tiny. At 150+ euros a night including a good but not spectacular breakfast, this is not good value for money and I wish I had stayed at Sheraton Four Points outside the town for less.

Credit goes where it is due - the breakfast lady who spoke excellent English was the most helpful and hospitable of the lot. The front desk folks can learn a lot from her.

One thing to avoid like a plague is going to Kopfen & Co for dinner. What an utter embarrassment and disgrace of Germanic food in general.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navitimer1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    477
    98
    20
    13
See reviews for
214
441
70
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

A very pleasant experience in classic historic Italian hotel.
+ + Pluses:
A beautiful property directly on the active, popular and interesting main square. The public areas are great. The people watching from the sidewalk café is priceless. Had a window on the square...very worthwhile...while still being quiet. Beautiful breakfast room with great buffet and friendly service.. Friendly, helpful staff.
- - Not so Outstanding
Older remodeled hotel with high ceilings, small bathrooms and very Spartan and sparse decorating. Would not recommend as a center for exploring the Dolomites unless you use the convenient public transportation. Small historic downtown with challenging traffic patterns...and only underground public parking garages without guaranteed, dedicated parking for hotel guests. Ingress and egress not easy.
Public parking fees add 14% to hotel bill.
Get good maps and directions to find hotel. You cannot drive up to the front to unload bags.
We had difficulty following hotel directions...develop your own sources.

Room Tip: Get room facing the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erfield5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Citta for two nights on a business trip. Location is great by the main square in the middle of the town centre and a short walk from the train station. Breakfast was great, lots of choice. My room was on the 2nd floor facing an inner courtyard which made it a fairly quiet location. The room and bathrom was a decent size but maybe a bit bare. The same applies to the corridors. I had no problem with connecting to the WiFi but the service was slow. Staff in the breakfast room and reception was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great location, good room standard, good breakfast buffet. Downside was the door-slamming festival after 8am by guests and staff in the echo-chamber corridors, and the painful WiFi, with needlessly complex p/w, frequent cut-outs, and 8hr limit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

this has probably one of the worst experiences in our travel adventures
reception staff not interested in helping their guests at all.
were not able to willing to help us with possibilities of what to do in the area...did not provide any maps...pretty much uninterested.
the rooms are small...dirty..floors need cleaning
Bathrooms and showers are terribly small
non replacement of toiletries...
we will never return to this property and don't recommend it to any one either

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liliana93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berry, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Casablanca meets Poirot....it's fascinating to sit out facing the square and make up stories about the people you'll see. Just had a drink with one such character: charming and disarming. Perfectly positioned hotel for everything you will want to do. We love Bolzano and have enjoyed this hotel immensely. Can't go to bed before 11.30 because the entertainment, be it the pianist or the quartet perform below our window. But whose complaining? It's all just so wonderful to experience.
Terrific big room and all we need, except a decent pillow. I requested another pillow, but it turned out as bad as the first, never mind, it's only for four nights and a small niggle.
Well situated here for Otzi the ice man, not to be missed museum. Bikes can be hired for 1 Euro for five hours, the Bo-Bus will take you to the important sights out of town for 1.5 Euro and the chair lift is close by: take it and the train at the top for a great day out.
Would stay here again. Good breakfast, too.

Room Tip: If you want quiet you're best away from the front of the hotel, but you'll miss out on the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinkyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Everything about this hotel worked brilliantly for me. First, the bedroom was spacious and the water bed was so comfortable after a hard day's hiking. Breakfast was super too - so many healthy choices and also indulgent ones too. Although it has been said many times before I will say it again: the location cannot be bettered if you like being right on the central square. I took several early morning buses and it was fantastic to fuel up on a great breakfast and then walk 5 minutes to catch the bus to Ortisei or Selva. Plus it was great to arrive after a train journey and not have to negotiate a taxi to somewhere unknown - 5 minutes and I was there. I found the staff really helpful and polite - both reception and at breakfast. The spa/wellness is not open over summer but I am looking forward to returning and having a massage after hiking up some of those mountains! I took a top floor room with a view (407) and was not disappointed. It was super.

Room Tip: top floor with a view onto the square really added to my experience of Bolzano. It was nice looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina A.
Hotel Regina A.
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
#12 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#9 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadt Hotel Citta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadt Hotel Citta

Property: Stadt Hotel Citta
Address: Walther Square 21, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bolzano
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bolzano
#3 Business Hotel in Bolzano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
#4 Family Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stadt Hotel Citta 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Citta offers you every style of comfort: 99 comfortable rooms with wooden floors and furniture, an elegant Bar - Cafe - Restaurant (open every day from 7 am to 10 pm) and a Wellness Centre with sauna, steam bath, whirlpool, Kneipp hydrotherapy and treatments. The hotel is the ideal starting place for splendid excursions into the Dolomites. Within a few minutes walking distance: the Teatro Comunale, Auditorium, Archaeological Museum (with Otzi, the famous Similaun Man)and many other interesting attractions to visit. The spa is closed from 30 June until 07 September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stadt Hotel Citta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadt Hotel Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing