We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, very good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Stadt Hotel Citta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stadt Hotel Citta
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were three friends arriving in Bolzano and found this hotel. They had a nice room with three single beds, which we could have right away. The room was situated in the 4th floor, and it was very big - and very clean. Nice bathroom, too. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and extremely friendly. The breakfast was absolutely great, and also here the staff was very friendly. Only the internet wouldn't work in the room, though it was supposed to. I can only recommend this hotel. It is situated in the very center of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StadtHotelCitta, Marketing manager at Stadt Hotel Citta, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Many thanks for your review!
There was recently a problem with internet connections in the whole area due to a technical failure at the provider level, so maybe that's why you experienced problems with the connection. Fortunately these issues don't happen often and you'll surely have a better internet connection next time you visit Bolzano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    488
    101
    20
    13
See reviews for
218
452
73
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

In decades of traveling, including staying in some fine hotels, the Stadt Hotel Citta is the best we've experienced. A wonderfully welcoming, friendly, professional and helpful staff made the visit so nice that we stayed an extra night. The superior room was truly spacious and had the most comfortable beds and sheets we've ever slept in! Nicely appointed bathroom, an astounding view, and a breakfast so vast, I could've stayed and eaten it all day. The location could not be better, and the price, for all this hospitality and such a fine room, is quite reasonable. Kudos all around!

Room Tip: Our superior room was truly superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StadtHotelCitta, Marketing manager at Stadt Hotel Citta, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review and especially for your kind words about the team! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay in Bolzano with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is celebrating its 100 year anniversary, therefore, it's an old building with a lot of charm and very little insulation (and a creaky bed...just saying). The room was large enough, very large bathroom. Horizontal space is limited, however, or maybe that was just our room. It's in the middle of all of the Bolzano action, in fact, I don't think there is a better place to stay if you want to be in the middle of things. The staff bent over backwards to be accommodating as far as what to do, where to eat..anything...they were GREAT! There was AC, and we used it because it was humid during our stay, but sometimes it rained and was cold. They said there were having very weird weather this summer.

We took the free shuttle to Castle Runklestein, which I recommend. Castle cost 8-9 euros to get in, but worth it if you want to see their claim to the largest non-secular frescos in a castle in all of Europe.

We also went to the Anthropology Museum and saw a 5000 year old mummy. You don't see that every day!

There was every kind of shop from high end to H&M. The town is very clean with pockets of graffiti, which I thought was weird because it was so clean. Everyone rides a bike...everyone!

Take a walk along the promenade, near the river. It's nice and shady. We ate a couple times on the street behind the hotel. Paulaner and another place called Hopfen and Co. Paulaner serves beer in liters, so you know that's good!

You can also walk to a laundry mat. Go early, like 7:30am and get it over with. You'll have the whole place to yourself.

Check out their duomo. It's fabulous. Also, see if they're having any free concerts in there. We got lucky and stumbled upon the Sommerhouse school for girls traveling music tour from Australia...OMG Strings, chorus, and regular orchestra. What a treat! and FREE!!

We also ate (and drank) in the hotel bar and it was very good. Watch out for the bar food. People just stick there hands in their and grab stuff. Maybe it's OK in Europe. Grosses us Americans out!!

I hope you're there when it's clear. It was raining most of the time we were there. I got a couple good shots of the dolomites when it cleared up for two seconds. I'm sure it would be lovely to take a gondola ride up one or all of their three rides, but only if you could see! ha ha ha

They also pride themselves on their water. Drink that delicious mountain water right out of the tap. Save a few bucks on bottled water.

There's also a good restaurant, biergarten, Batzenhaus, or Batzenbraueri...something like that, with their own beer and some really good food. Ten-minute walk from the hotel.

This is a lovely place to go and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: It's the outside noise you need to worry about. It's the inside noise. Doors slam, floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StadtHotelCitta, Marketing manager at Stadt Hotel Citta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Bolzano, despite the not so wonderful weather, which by the way has now picked up and giving us the real summer we are used to.
We are very happy you enjoyed the free concert: every summer we have a number of free events on our terrace, which this year include a string quartett, an opera singer, 2 pianists and a jazz ensemble.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two separate nights here. It's right on the pedestrian square and really close to the train station. The breakfast was wonderful. The staff was very nice and helpful. Free bottled water was appreciated. Both rooms had a view of the square and had fabulous views. Great bed and pillows. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bikecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StadtHotelCitta, Marketing manager at Stadt Hotel Citta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We hope to see you again soon in the heart of Bolzano, to celebrate 100 years of the hotel together until October 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, great location (right on main square), beautiful big room and great view to the town and mountains. Breakfast was plentiful, a buffet with lots of choice and their piece de resistance - a drinking water fountain with local mountain water. Some scrambled eggs would have made it perfect. If you come by car, you can park in the Walther public car park (there is direct access to the hotel from level 1, via a ramp and lift) and the hotel will charge a reduced 24 hour fee at checkout (17€ when we were there in May 2014).
And Bolzano is a beautiful Tyrolean where you can have Italian and Austrian food and visit 5000-year-old, but well preserved Oetzi!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank exentrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StadtHotelCitta, Marketing manager at Stadt Hotel Citta, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon in Bolzano, maybe to visit the numerous other sights, now that you've seen "Oetzi".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

First all the nice things about this hotel. The reception staff were all really charming and helpful and the hotel is clean and well managed. The breakfast buffet is one of the best i have experienced with so much variety. They had a super selection of freshly prepared fruit and berries etc with large bowls of bio yoghurt to go with it,as well as all the usual fare. The hotel has a lovely location overlooking the square and the mountains in the distance.
However, the bedroom was very basic with Ikea type decor ,and hard floors without even a bedside rug. The two single beds were more like children's beds ,certainly not big enough for my husband who may be a little on the large side. Also the church bell at 7am is loud enough to wake the dead!
Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the square and was sometimes noisy until late. Maybe a room higher up or at the back would be quieter.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less noise at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StadtHotelCitta, Marketing manager at Stadt Hotel Citta, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review: we're very pleased you found the team friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffett, along with the views from the hotel.

Sorry you didn't like the furniture which was chosen with care and is unique to every room.
At your next visit, you might prefer booking a superior room instead of a classic twin bedroom. Our superior rooms are more spacious and beds are also bigger.

I guess the church bells could be annoying, but it's by now quite rare to find working church bells in Europe and Bolzano prides itself with the bells of the main Gothic cathedral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Good:
The location was very good, right there on the main square, 5 minutes walk from the Ice Man museum (the point of our visit). The breakfast was quite nice. The room was clean, with nice linens and plenty of towels. The building was very pretty inside and out with an elegant staircase inside and detailing outside.

The Bad:
We arrived about 6pm, parked in the city parking that, while conveniently located underneath the hotel, is not free (and we likely will receive a ticket for driving in the limited zone while trying to locate the proper parking for the hotel. FYI: do not enter the hotel address into your GPS or you will get trapped in a limited zone!). After checking in with the less than friendly receptionist we made our way to our room. We booked our room through booking.com. The listing is not accurately described online. The pictures of the deluxe double on booking.com show a room with a big balcony and chairs. While we had french doors that opened onto the piazza it was not a walkout balcony. Furthermore, while the interior of the room was clean the "balcony" wasn't. Upon opening the french doors we discovered a glass full of old cigarettes perched precariously on the ledge just waiting to fall onto a table or customer at the cafe below. Yuck! And obviously dangerous. Another misleading description on the website was about the cost of the room. I booked the room based on size and suitability for our family of four, as well as price, location and availability of parking. The room was large with two queen sized beds. Our children, ages 9 and 6, slept with us in the two beds. On the website it says "Free! All children under 8 years stay free of charge when using existing beds". This is not true. AFTER booking the hotel ( which we booked that morning and was non-refundable ) we were told that the website was wrong and that we would be charged an additional 25 euro per child. This brought the grand total for our one-night stay in a deluxe double room in a 3-star hotel to over 250 euro on a weeknight. Seriously? Bolzano is not Paris and it wasn't the high season. The nail that sealed the coffin on this review was the experience I had at 1am. We were trying to sleep but the room was stiflingly hot and the water was running warm from both sides of the faucet. I called the reception and was told that the air conditioning was on but due to laws in Bolzano nothing could be done. The man at the reception said, "Just open the doors! Jesus Christ it's 14C outside!" When my husband went to the reception the next day to discuss our stay he was met with vacant stares and unhelpful attitudes. He was simply told that booking.com was wrong and we were made to pay the 250 euro with no apologies for the temperature problems or errors in room description/pricing.

Room Tip: The deluxe double is indeed big enough for a family of four with two small children. However, I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraDonofrio, Marketing manager at Stadt Hotel Citta, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review!
We are sorry that your stay with us did not entirely match your expectations, in particular in regards to our friendliness and politeness, which we pride ourselves on. we have immediately gathered the team to discuss and change behaviour as necessary.
No need to worry about a parking ticket: the traffic cameras will start working from the 1st of May. As indicated on our website, when getting to Bolzano by car, it's easiest to enter "viale Stazione" in the navigator and to follow the indications for P3, the parking beneath piazza Walther.

All our rooms are different and while superior rooms have a view to the square, the balcony room is not always available. When the preference for the balcony room is expressed at the moment of booking, we try to accommodate the request, whenever possible.

We apologise for the unclear information about our child policy on booking.com. We have immediately altered the information and tried to make it more explicit and clear.
Even with the extra charge for children we do think that our room rates are competitive and typical for Bolzano and the area.

We hope to have the opportunity to see you again soon in Bolzano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
525 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
1.0 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina A.
Hotel Regina A.
#7 of 26 in Bolzano
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
#11 of 26 in Bolzano
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#8 of 26 in Bolzano
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadt Hotel Citta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadt Hotel Citta

Property: Stadt Hotel Citta
Address: Walther Square 21, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bolzano
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bolzano
#3 Business Hotel in Bolzano
#4 Family Hotel in Bolzano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stadt Hotel Citta 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Citta offers you every style of comfort: 99 comfortable rooms with wooden floors and furniture, an elegant Bar - Cafe - Restaurant (open every day from 7 am to 10 pm) and a Wellness Centre with sauna, steam bath, whirlpool, Kneipp hydrotherapy and treatments. The hotel is the ideal starting place for splendid excursions into the Dolomites. Within a few minutes walking distance: the Teatro Comunale, Auditorium, Archaeological Museum (with Otzi, the famous Similaun Man)and many other interesting attractions to visit. The spa is closed from 30 June until 07 September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stadt Hotel Citta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadt Hotel Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing