We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located”
Review of Hotel Regina A.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Regina A.
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel less than a block from the train station, and only slightly farther from the bus station. In five minutes can walk to the historic city center, or go the other direction and in ten minutes you are at the gondola. Excellent breakfast with a wide range of fruits, breads, pastries,and meats. The self-service espresso machine offers all the choices you need and an unlimited quantity.

Don't be put off by the exterior or the small reception area. This is a modern, clean, and spacious hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiveTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is just a minute walk from the train station.Clean with good size bedrooms. Wifi is free with good signal. We had problem wirh the wifi during our first night and the hotel staff were very helpful. The best breakfast we ever had. We stayed in 3 other places around Bolzano and Trento and Hotel Regina has the best breakfast. The staff in the dining hall were ever so accommodating. It is a bit pricey though but maybe if we did not book it at the last minute we probably got a better deal. Highky recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tetskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had arrived in Bolzano by train from Venzia on a cold wet rainy day and we gratified to find our hotel just across the street and up a short distance. I thought it was expensive but it was clean, comfortable and ver basic but suited us very well. The elevator could be upgraded (sloooow) and continental breakfast was very simple but still worthwhile especially for those traveling by Italiarail.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great location opposite the train station, but there was no issue with noise. In fact we were in a family room with views of the mountain and cable cars. We travelled with 2 teenage girls and the room and bathroom were plenty big enough. Great breakfast. Friendly staff. Easy walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rollerdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Arrived from the train station. With the train station at your back...cross the street and turn right. (The bus ticket area will be right there) Pass the immediate bike area and walk a half a block at the most and Hotel Regina will be there on your left hand side. Very, very close to the train station and the bus station if the trains should go on strike. By the way....if that does happen...the trains still run from certain times posted during the day, look for the posted signs at the ticket area. The cable car ride into the mountains was a beautiful way to see the surrounding area. Make sure you go early in the day as it gets dark early and make sure you know what trails to take as there's not much help once you get to the top. Enjoy....it was another world! Back to town...the old town area is cute. Didn't get to see the Ice Man Museum although would have loved to, and look for Thun figurines that are only made in Bolzano. Didn't find the hotel noisy compared to other places we stayed and the people at the front desk where more than helpful!!

Room Tip: We really didn't think it was noisy at all. You are right by a train station and the center of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cracy5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here recently for 9 nights.Arriving by train, as we did, the hotel is immediately opposite the railway station and a 5 minute walk takes you into the old town.Having done our homework we had booked a large superior room which was to the back of the hotel and away from the main road to the front.The room wasn't what I would call large but there was a large comfortable bed and a large ensuite with a good shower.Because of the good weather we used the air con. so kept the windows closed. We did notice if they were open that it could be noisy at times.Storage in the room was poorly arranged. There was an excess of wardrobe space but no shelves or drawers which may be OK if you are only staying the odd night[as most guests here seemed to] but not too good for longer stays.No English channels on the television, found about six German channels the rest Italian.Wifi available but not often a good connection.
We found the staff to be friendly and efficient, reception staff speak good english.. Breakfast was taken on the first floor with a very good self service buffet,plenty of choice and regularly replenished.The water also made a good cup of tea something you don't often find in European hotels.
There was also a bar and sitting room on the first floor which never seemed to be used. As the weather was good we would have liked to sit out on the terrace but that was off the breakfast room which was locked up after breakfast was finished so not accessible for the rest of the day.
Our room was located on the third floor, the second floor being out of bounds to guests..We were awoken most mornings between 6.30 and 7.30 with noises of constant furniture dragging which seemd to come from this lower floor.With hindsight it would have been better perhaps to have a room on the fourth floor.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but felt that the price was rather high especially compared to hotels in neighbouring Austria.
Bolzano is a good place to use as a base with plenty to do whatever the weather. The 'mobilcard' available to buy from the tourist office lets you travel very cheaply round the whole area with regional transport and cable cars and for a small amount extra you can visit many museums in the area, we certainly got value for money. Bolzano also has an excellent variety of restaurants serving Italian and Austrian cuisine ,we were spoilt for choice.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room possibly the top[4th] floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagittarian_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

very nice and helpfull staf: .they even let us leave suticases after a few days that we weren't guests any more.
great location in front of the train station.
family rooms o.k size. could be a bit bigger but nut realy an issue.
had air condition!
breakfast nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafijulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
0.2 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,202 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
1.2 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
#10 of 26 in Bolzano
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#7 of 26 in Bolzano
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina A.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina A.

Address: Via Renon 1, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Price Range: £106 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina A. 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Regina A. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina a

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing