We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather expensive !”
Review of Hotel Hanny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hanny
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Many good points,
Excellent views
Superb breakfast,
Comfortable room,
Beautifully clean,
Friendly helpful barman/waiter in the evening
Disappointing points
Too far for us to walk into Bolzano and walk back. We had a taxi back.
Very expensive at 130 euros for Bed and breakfast. We stayed in a Michelin starred hotel for same price which was much better value.
No air con. According to receptionist we had to expect it was hot as it was summer.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic visit to South Tyrol while staying at Hotel Hanny.

It was a pleasure to leave on a full happy stomach every morning because of the fresh big breakfast buffet and good coffee, and to arrive back in our room in the evening with a great view of the surrounding hills with vinyards and Bolzano further away.

Everyone on staff was very friendly, inviting and helpful.

It was one of the more expensive rooms along our trip at 120€/night but we really enjoyed our stay. Notice that they show prices per person, we did not and were surprised at departure. We thought it was the bargain of a lifetime :) but it is reasonably priced to match the quality.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We spent three nights at Hotel Hanny and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was very good and the setting on the balcony was superb. Our room was very comfortable with the same amazing view as from the balcony. We were able to park the car at the hotel and enjoy a 10 minute walk into Bolzano itself. The one evening meal we had there was delicious made even better by a charming and knowledgable waiter.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We checked out every other hotel in Bolzano. Most were overpriced or so old they were falling apart. BUT, the Hotel Hanny is a modern, clean hotel with views of old castles and ruins. The rooms are large and have a great view. We had two balconies. The water is clear,sweet,and drinkable (not normal for Europe), the view is great and the breakfast was a supreme delight.
Their apple strudel is really something... The owners speak German, Italian and English. The price was very reasonable by European standards as well. You can walk into town on a nice bike path or they will lend you a bike free of charge. Both bike paths run along a river which heads into the down-town area. Another path take you over to Schloss Rumplestein which is a nearby castle and museum.

Room Tip: The top floor has the best view. Rent a small car because the roads in Bolzano are very narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Bolzano is a hub for skiing and, in summer, mountaineering and hiking. Bicycles rule at intersections, and in the mostly pedestrian old part of town – think Boulder, Colorado with medieval and art-nouveau flourishes.
We were immediately comfortable in this charming setting and energized by the cool climate, and welcoming civility.
Our accommodation was the family run, hillside Hanny Hotel - on the edge of town – surrounded by terraced vineyards, waterfalls, and 12th century castles. Our host, Herr Riegler supervises one of the best kitchens in town, assisted by waiter supreme, Massimo (cool Ray-Ban Peter Sellers’ glasses), who reassured us we didn’t have to search far for sustenance.
The advent of Spring Asparagus (the pampered white varietal, as well as the familiar green) is somewhat of a religious festival in this borough. Pastas, risottos, appetizers, main courses all sport the white and green motifs of the rain kissed spring shoots.
Centrally situated in this lovely sub-alpine valley, we were able to hike from our lodging to Maretsch Castle, and take advantage of marvelously designed neighborhood pathways for walking and biking (townie bikes courtesy of Family Riegler).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelblogger1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here in late October, 2011. It's a modern hotel, well designed in every aspect. Rooms all have views of the surrounding hills. It's a short walk (1 mile) from downtown but is in a very good location for taking the gondola to San Genesio or to walk the promenade path the contours above the city.

Although we enjoyed everything about the hotel, I would make a special mention of the food - both breakfast (included) and dinner (in the restaurant). The breakfast was a beautifully presented array of fruits, breads, cheeses, strudel, yogurt, home-made jam and more served with coffee made-to-order. Normally we would be skittish about a hotel restaurant but, since we were tired, we stayed in. Each of us really liked our entree. Mine was ravioli with smoked ricotta cheese. It was my favorite of a two week trip in Italy. Massimo, the waiter, was attentive and helpful. As he got to know us over our stay, he also became quite entertaining. The wine list was outstanding, too. Oh, and my husband would want me to mention the Forst beer on tap (ala spina) - available from later afternoon on. It was too cool for us to sit out on the large terrace - but I'm sure it would be very pleasant on a summer day with a glass of local wine or beer.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the valley - though all the rooms had some type of view. A few rooms app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I read the reviews and chose this hotel for my family. It worked out well partly because I knew it would be a walk to town (which was very nice) and because the setting was very pretty.
Pros
Good food, beautiful location, the walks are a great excuse to justify a gelato every day. Also, the bed was comfortable.
Cons
Distance from town means must use a taxi if the walks are not realistic for some people, narrow road is a challenge to safely walk before getting to the pretty path to
town, the room was minimal, wifi was only in the lobby.
The family was efficient and very busy working. I respect that although it was not a vacation ambience sometimes which would have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoMedicineMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
1.2 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#7 of 26 in Bolzano
391 reviews
3.3 mi away
Business Resort Parkhotel Werth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hanny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hanny

Address: Via San Pietro 4, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
#3 Family Hotel in Bolzano
#6 Business Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range: £125 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hanny 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hanny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanny Hotel Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing