We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views but No Attention to Details”
Review of Magdalener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magdalener Hof
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Certificate of Excellence
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
653 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,259 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views but No Attention to Details”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Like some other reviewers, I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Magdalener Hof but felt that the value for money isn’t there and they seem very casual about keeping the public areas clean. Our room #106 had a great view, nice small balcony and was comfortable, but there were no amenities in the bathroom except liquid soap dispensers, the room décor needs some freshening up, the furniture seemed right from Ikea. Our room was clean, but someone left a drill bit on the bathroom floor! The Internet did not work in the room, on the balcony, in the gardens or at the bar! It was very hot while we were in Bolzano, so we were pleased that our room had A/C but it just barely worked. Other disappointments center on the cleanliness of the public areas. There is a delightful cabana in the back near the pool, but it isn’t serviced and the two evenings we sat with drinks that we brought from the bar, there were dirty glasses, ashtrays and bottles left behind. But the worst was the gym which is situated across from an employee dressing area and seemed to be used mainly by the employees, as there were aprons and clothing left behind among empty bottles of water and soda. The gym has fairly good equipment but the area was dirty and even after my husband complained, it wasn’t much better the next day. The swimming pool is nicely maintained and unheated.

Breakfast was good, with all the normal foods, nothing outstanding or special and hot coffee was hard to come by. Service was friendly but hard to find. Our check in and check out was professional, efficient and friendly. Free covered parking is a plus and the hotel is on a bus line, which makes it easy to get to town, which is a 20 minute walk. Bus service stops after about 8pm, so it's taxis after that. We ate dinner at the hotel one evening and food and service was very good, reasonably priced and the view was beautiful. Advance reservations (the morning before) were recommended and the restaurant terrace was full the evening we dinned.

Overall, I feel the hotel sustains its business because of its location and is pretty lax in other areas. It could be a first rate hotel with attention to detail, but right now it relays on the beautiful views to get great reviews. I wasn’t that impressed and would probably try another hotel closer to town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains with A/C during the summer; not all rooms have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    140
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
74
115
3
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
De Soto, Kansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We picked this hotel because of a recommendation from a couple we met in Venice. Then found it had good ratings on TA. It was a great place to stay. 10 minute walk to downtown. If you don't want to walk the bus stops right out front. i think i was 1 euro to ride. The property is well maintained and the staff very helpful. The Second building is newly renovated and the rooms have air conditioning. Well worth the few euros extra. The pool area is very nice and has great views. Very nice

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for air conditioner if it is important to you not all rooms have them. The second bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bladel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Booked this hotel for 1 night on our way to Italy-Toscane. Very good hotel. 4-persons bedroom equiped with silent airco with a terras on groundfloor connected to the greenyard and swimmingpool. Good service at the swimmingpool. Very good varierity buffet breakfast. Free WiFi. One minor: no diner on monday evenings, but got a good alternative from the reception in the nice center of Bolzano.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud6611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Only had 1 night and wanted too relax choose perfect hotel, nice and quaint, rooms are large and very clean, however there is no fan or air on so it does get very hot and it's tough too cool down, the food at the restaurant was amazing, not often a hotel has a full restaurant every night and such amazing food. Will return

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrendenAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hotel is about 25 minutes walk from the centre of town. The advantage of this is the marvellous view from the restaurant/garden/swimming pool area to the back of the hotel which more central establishments don't have. The downside is either the uphill walk back from the town or funding somewhere to park if you take the car down to the centre.

Rooms of adequate size but shower in the bathroom, no bath. Clean, well looked after. Internet access (free, although we had been told on a website it would be 6 Euros an hour), was variable and hotspot was limited to the room.

Very good restaurant, nice to have champagne for Buck's Fizz (presumably), at breakfast! Plenty of lunch choices. Did not eat dinner in the restaurant.

Helpful, charming reception staff fluent in German/Italian/English.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52Asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very nice, although bolzano is not a nice town, this hotel has a great view from the pool and the rooms. Service at the pool is great! We had a very large room where 2 adults and 2 kids had plenty of room. Nice bathroom too with window in the ceiling.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gkaanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We enjoyed two nights here and found the outdoor gardens and setting to be spectacular. The pool views are of vineyards and mountains. It is a bit out of town which makes for quite a hot walk in summer time, but it is doable. Also be aware of no AC in the rooms. The restaurant staff was charming and attentive. We had a very delicious meal there and really loved the local wines, especially the St. Magdelener wines. The rest of the hotel staff were fairly curt and not terribly service oriented, but did meet requests when asked.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoowabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalenerhof2011, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Magdalener Hof, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
I´m glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Magdalener Hof and thank you very much for your helpful coment. It is very helpful for us to read the feedbacks in order to improve our service from day to day. You are right, not all of our rooms are equipped with aircondition but if you give us the honor to welcome you again in our hotel, for the next time we could also put at your disposal a airconditioned room.
I wish you a pleasent day and look forward to welcome you again.
sincerely
Jakob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
1.0 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
3.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
1.0 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eberle
Hotel Eberle
#12 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#9 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalener Hof

Property: Magdalener Hof
Address: Rentscher Strasse 48, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bolzano
#8 Business Hotel in Bolzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Magdalener Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magdalener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magdalener Hof Bolzano
Magdalener Hof Hotel Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing