We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay in Castelrotto”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel al Lupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel al Lupo
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Castelrotto
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in Castelrotto”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

First of all, the town itself is awesome. Just a walk or bus ride from some great hiking. Good restaurants in town and really peaceful. The hotel is very nice, and the owners are super helpful with tips and advice. Good views from the balcony, an all you can eat breakfast included and very clean rooms; all add up to a place I would return to again and again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    41
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very clean hotel in a beautiful breakfast buffet. Received good advise for hiking by the hotel hosts during our 3-night stay. Good location for hiking in the Alpe di Sisi to enjoy the dramatic landscape of the Dolomites. Convenient location to the buses that take you to the hiking trail heads. Hotel had its own parking lot which was also a plus in this small village.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Riel_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for one night in July 2013. We splurged (for us) and stayed in a room with a balcony. It was definitely worth the extra euros because the scenery surrounding the area was spectacular.
We were both impressed with the selection for breakfast - eggs, cereal, yogurt. The staff was courteous and we always had a parking space. Great base to explore the region and hiking trails.
I would definitely stay at Hotel Zum Wolf again and really hope to return to this unique part of Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pritchke2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Lovely hotel in heart of town with excellent breakfast and extremely helpful hosts who patiently answered all questions and recommended the best hikes. Rooms were big, very comfortable, excellent views from our balcony in the rear of hotel. There was music or a festival in town every night during our visit in mid July which could be disturbing for some (music could be heard in the rooms), but we enjoyed it. We stayed for 5 days, hiked the Alpe di Suisi, and hated to leave lovely Castelrotto and Hotel Wolf. Highly recommended...we want to come back.

Room Tip: Top floor rear of the hotel for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our second visit to this town, this hotel is lovely, big clean room, good breakfast. Staff very helpful, everything is close by. Church bells start early so do not plan to sleep in. . Truly beautiful town hope to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The convenient location of this place made it a great place to base our hiking. It was right behind the bus stop, so we did not have to walk all over town looking for it. Our room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was wonderful both by taste and variety. The staff was very helpful and accommodating which made it easy to find places and things the average tourist would not be able to find. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We drove from Venice to Castelrotto and Hotel Zum Wolf. After a 4 hour drive we were ready to find the hotel quickly. Unfortunately it was not as easy to find as maybe it should have been. We were using the directions from the hotel's website, and they basically just said that they were in the middle of town; not very helpful. We had to stop twice to ask locals for directions, before finally finding the hotel.

It is located on a pedestrian street, which is great once you are situated but a little disconcerting when you are arriving by car, and don't know how to check in! They do provide parking though, and that is great. Once we were settled in our rooms we were very happy.

We had three rooms for our family of 8. All the rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. They all had balconies, with wonderful views of the surrounding valley and distant mountains. We particularly liked the sitting areas in each room. After spending a good part of our day driving we were very content to relax in the rooms for the evening. We all congregated in one room, at a booth table which comfortably fit all of us. We literally made ourselves at home. We bought pizzas from down the street and ate in the room. The bar was self-serve, and we helped ourselves to drinks (filling out the sheet to let them know what we had taken). We had a lovely, relaxing evening; just what we wanted.

The hotel staff even arranged a table for breakfast large enough for our group; very considerate.

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Zum Wolf. We only wish we had more time to explore the Dolomites. We will have to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desklampVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelrotto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
#1 of 34 in Castelrotto
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABINEA Dolomiti Romantic SPA Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
#8 of 34 in Castelrotto
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#18 of 34 in Castelrotto
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mayr
Hotel Mayr
#13 of 34 in Castelrotto
197 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
#5 of 34 in Castelrotto
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel al Lupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Lupo

Property: Hotel al Lupo
Address: Via Oswald von Wolkenstein 5, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Castelrotto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelrotto
#16 Family Hotel in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel al Lupo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel ,,Zum Wolf" is a historical place in the centre of the village Kastelruth in South Tyrol. You will pass your holidays near the Dolomites, which are meant as UNESCO World Nature Heritage. The southtyrolean mountains offer the best possibility for every kind of sport. We promise You that You won't regret this holiday experience. A big breakfast buffet is waiting for You every morning, to charge Your energy for the whole day. The breakfast constist of many differtent types of food. We are very proud to announce that there is also a biolounge, a patisserie, a coffee- and teabar. The hotel offers at least a bar with an open chimney. The rooms are all very comforable. In everyone is a en suite bathroom with a shower, a telephone, a televisor with satellite reception, a safe, a balcony with a stunning view, a minibar and a tiled stove available. We are looking forward to see You at our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel al Lupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Wolf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing