We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Wolf”
Review of Hotel al Lupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel al Lupo
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Castelrotto
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Wolf”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Quality hotel, right in the center of town, and few steps to ski bus stop. Couple of ski shops down the street with rental equipment. Free outdoor parking, underground available. Several restaurants within few minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    42
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
84
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very nice hotel in the center of Castelrotto. You are close to everything in this cozy town. The beds were good and soft. Our room was large, clean and quiet.. We ate in the breakfast room two days and it was very good. Plenty of food items with lots of variety. Parking was secure on property, just out the back door. There was an elevator which was nice as not all hotels in Italy have one. I would love to return to Castelrotto and stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Beautiful hotel just steps from the bus station. Super friendly staff. We used this hotel as our base for exploring the Dolomites. The room was huge, with two double beds with duvets rather than top sheets. Not helpful when it's 80+ degrees. Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the street below. We enjoyed sitting out there drinking wine and people watching. We bought bread at the bakery and cheese, olives and speck at the grocery store and had a feast in our room which also included a large dining table. Unfortunately, the street below was noisy until about midnight. At 3 am the church bells rang out and when I asked about it the following morning, the receptionist said it was a mistake. She said the bells never ring at that time of night and they woke her family up, too. We had a very filling breakfast in the quaint breakfast room including coffee with steamed milk.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the parking lot if you require quiet. Not as picturesque, though
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelEuropeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The owners were so helpful! They spoke English very well and they had lots of information for us about things to do in Castelrotto. The hotel was very clean. Our room was spacious, with a balcony, a dining nook, a seating area, and a nice, clean, large bathroom. The breakfast was really nice! The cost on checkout was lower than quoted in my reservation, which was an excellent price as it was! We were very impressed and would highly recommend this hotel; it is a fantastic value!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spyderbyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. I travel often and can say I've never been greeted with more warmth and enthusiasm anywhere when checking in. We felt like we were staying with old friends! Great view from the balcony and perfect location for enjoying the town. The full sized tub was wonderful after a long day of hiking and the opportunity to do laundry (for a small fee) was really appreciated. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We used this hotel as a base to do some of the local walks and also to visit the Otzi museum in Balzano which is worth visiting . This hotel was a great base and had everything we needed - interconnecting rooms for our family, a laundry, car parking and breakfast included. It was well located, good value and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t0_kn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Castelrotto is a fantastic place if you enjoy hiking at all and we our stay was just that much better because we stayed at this hotel. The staff we VERY helpful in interpreting maps, checking on weather for hiking, what attractions would be open, which events were currently going on, things like that. The room was comfortable, clean and had a gorgeous view. The breakfast in the morning was spectacular, changing bread options every day, with some of the best jam I tasted in all of Italy, France, and Greece. The hotel is also within walking distance of almost anything in Castelrotto (also known as Kastelruth) including a grocery store. All in all a great stay and I highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelrotto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
Hotel Cavallino d'Oro
#1 of 34 in Castelrotto
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
Hotel Villa Kastelruth
#13 of 34 in Castelrotto
63 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
Hotel Pinei Nature & Spirit
#5 of 34 in Castelrotto
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ABINEA Dolomiti Romantic SPA Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre
Hotel Zum Turm/Alla Torre
#24 of 34 in Castelrotto
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenroyal
Hotel Alpenroyal
#15 of 34 in Castelrotto
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel al Lupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Lupo

Property: Hotel al Lupo
Address: Via Oswald von Wolkenstein 5, 39040 Castelrotto, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Castelrotto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelrotto
#16 Family Hotel in Castelrotto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel al Lupo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel ,,Zum Wolf" is a historical place in the centre of the village Kastelruth in South Tyrol. You will pass your holidays near the Dolomites, which are meant as UNESCO World Nature Heritage. The southtyrolean mountains offer the best possibility for every kind of sport. We promise You that You won't regret this holiday experience. A big breakfast buffet is waiting for You every morning, to charge Your energy for the whole day. The breakfast constist of many differtent types of food. We are very proud to announce that there is also a biolounge, a patisserie, a coffee- and teabar. The hotel offers at least a bar with an open chimney. The rooms are all very comforable. In everyone is a en suite bathroom with a shower, a telephone, a televisor with satellite reception, a safe, a balcony with a stunning view, a minibar and a tiled stove available. We are looking forward to see You at our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel al Lupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Wolf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing