We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinnacle of our journey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pinnacle of our journey”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Up the long and windy road, hairpin bends, the passing of trucks and hanging on, anticipation building, when there it was, resplendent in the early afternoon haze. Just as one would imagine a fairy castle appearing this is what Castel Fragsburg looked like at first glance.beautiful and what views there are from all aspects of the building and the grounds.

We were surprised, although we really shouldn't have been looking at the name, that this was ostensibly a small part of Germany in the north of Italy. Mainly German speaking too. The rooms are comfortable and from the top floor overlooking the valley and the monstrous mountains the views are unbelievable.

This to us though was to be a gourmet experience, food, wine and a little comfort. We had delicious drinks and canapés on our arrival whilst we sat and relaxed. Then dinner time arrived. We dressed as one does when one is about to experience something good and we were not disappointed. The degustation advertised six courses of the most indescribable splendor, but in reality we ate ten? ( How we moved after that was amazing..to continue) The accompanying wines were chosen for us and without a shadow of a doubt this menu was of the highest quality we have experienced in our world of travels. To attempt a description of the dishes would be a disservice to the master in the kitchen. Suffice to say that the ingredients were of the highest quality as was presentation and service.

Breakfast and subsequent meals did not disappoint although we were sad not to have been capable of eating as we did that night.

A memorable magnificent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finchamrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    34
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
198
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
116 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is one of our most favourite hotels. It is way up the mountain from Meran, a good 10min drive on a narrow road, so not the most convenient place, but for this you get a fantastic view, outstanding food and very nice rooms.
This year we arrived just after they re-opened after the long winter-break and both the hotel facilities and the service staff were still in “start-up” mode. So not everything was yet functioning, especially sauna and satellite TV became operational only in the midst of our stay, and the restaurant service was sometimes slow and overall not as attentive as we were used to from previous visits. As mentioned by others, both breakfast and dinner choices and quality are superb, and the wine selection is huge. By the away, always go for a bottle of wine, you can finish it the next day, rather than for wine by the glass (which at Euro 12 is rather expensive) and be prepared that you will be charged Euro 3.50 for a carafe of tap-water...
Besides this, there is nothing better than sitting on the terrace with a drink before dinner watching the sun set behind the mountains of the other side of the valley or having breakfast there in the morning with Meran below and the peaks of the Alps to the right. Definitely one of the most beautiful places you can ever stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor and towards the left (south) side of the hotel have more sun and more views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

July 2012 we stayed for 4 nights in this wonderful hotel.This is one of the best hotels we stayed in.The hotel and rooms are lovely decorated with lots of charme. We had a modern warm decorated room with a fantastic bathroom (lovely shower to) The breakfest is THE BEST EVER All kind of fresh berry's,pinapple, melon you name it they have it. Fresh orange juice, cooked options to perfection, all kind of breads, cereals, yoghurts etc..
The dinner was every night a true delight with a lot of choice. The service was just OUTSTANDING. The road to the hotel is a litlle bit long but if you want to have a view to die for and a peacefull and quiet setting than is that the price to pay for
In short if you want to spend a wonderful romantic holiday in a great decor (inside and outside) this is the place for you.Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerdaEdegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days in the Castel with our friends. Very nice and quaint rooms with comfortable beds and pillows. The staff was very friendly and assisted us with enthusiasm in planning our tours around Merano. We still remember our delicious dinner at the restaurant. Superb! We will love to return in our near future! Our congrats!

Room Tip: All rooms are very very goood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My wife, son and I stayed here for two nights, and it was thoroughly relaxing and delightful. From the complimentary drink on the terrace upon arrival to the comfortable rooms, spa, pool and one-star Michelin dinner (and breakfast is fantastic too, our say was memorable to say the least. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_mesrobian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbogan, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

FragsBurg. This would have to be one of the most luxurious places that we have ever stayed in. It was written in our Italy Drives book and sounded really interesting so we decided to check it out. After an amazing meander up a narrow winding road above the beautiful town of Merano we arrived at the Castel. Every single detail was perfect outside , from the garden layout, the autumn decorations throughout the garden and entry ( carved pumpkins, berries in jars, bowls of colored flowers and foliage) . We went in and enquired and quickly discovered this was an exclusive hotel and the price reflected it. We showed Elisabeth, our lovely receptionist, what the guide had listed the cost bracket to be and she took that to the manager and we ended up paying half price. Our suite overlooked the valley 1000 meters  below, the pictures tell this story, the separate "bath" room was tiled in travertine and the picture window also shared the superb valley view, the snow capped Dolomites rising upwards. The king bed was swathed in Egyptian cotton monogrammed linen and down pillows. Fingertip controls @ the bedside allowed for the electric shutters to be raised or lowered, dimming of the up lighting lining the perimeter of the room in the layered ceiling.  The lounge was hand carved timber as was the chiffoner and writing desk. The shower room and toilet had underfloor heating as well as heated towel rails ( same in bathroom), the bath products included perfumed water. The shower was completely lined in travertine and had a 30cm diameter shower head. 
Our deck overlooked the valley and again the views need to be seen to be appreciated.
The walk in robe had complimentary footwear and robes to wear down to the sauna area (. 4 saunas all different temperatures) we then lounged in the conservatorium sipping any one of a myriad of herbal teas. 
Dinner : The 2hour degastation we feasted on in this Michelin Star restaurant was amazing. We felt like royalty as we were served by Vincento and Paulo the most exquisite meal , imagine mustard ice cream served in glass jar of sesame seeds that accompanied 4different ways of cooking char ( a local fresh water fish) as well as caviar and sea asparagus .  Between entree and, main we were treated to a range of in between dishes all beautifully presented. At 83 euros it was  well worth the experience. A lasting memory. We awoke to clearer skies and much snow had fallen on the mountains surrounding us. Breakfast was included and again , in keeping with the quality of dinner, it was a stunning array of fruit, baked goods, home made jams, mueslis with any accompaniment ( seeds, yoghurts, dried fruits ) any cooked thing you could want, beautiful Italian hams, semi dried tomatoes, olives, grilled zucchini, fish, fresh juices, great cappuccino . We were so fortunate to have stayed here what a special place !

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful that looks over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed for 4 days in the beautiful hotel and could not have had a better experience. The setting is exquisite, truly peaceful and healing. We were greeted heartily by Gunther who saw that all our needs were met. Every staff member was warm and welcoming and we had NO problems with language, even though we are English speakers. Anna was particularly charming, and our excursion with Tomas into the mountains remains a vivid and exhilarating memory.

Dinners were works of art, with time between courses to enjoy the meal to the fullest. Be sure to get full board so as to take best advantage of the meals offered by Michelin rated chef Alexander Ortner. Spa services were also fantastic and relaxing. Poor could have been a bit warmer, but it is the end of the season.

Do not miss this hidden gem. We cannot wait to return. A heartfelt thanks to the Ortner family for this wonderful experience.

Visited October 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanvale135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merano
2.0 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#5 of 56 in Merano
608 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 56 in Merano
1,239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 56 in Merano
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa Eden
Villa Eden
#14 of 56 in Merano
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Miramonti Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Castel Rundegg Hotel
Castel Rundegg Hotel
#11 of 56 in Merano
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg

Property: Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Address: Via Fragsburger Strasse, 3, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#2 Spa Hotel in Merano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Merano
#5 Family Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above the valley of Merano – nestling against the sundrenched southern slopes of the mighty Dolomites and commanding spectacular sweeping views over one of Europe’s most enchanting landscapes: this is Castel Fragsburg, a fine 17th century Retreat of noble origins, now the smallest luxury hotel in the region. Castel Fragsburg is privately owned since 1955 by the Ortner family, who continue to give the hotel remarkable character reflecting the unspoilt, vast landscape of the Dolomites and the vineyards and orchards of South Tyrol. As a member of Relais & Châteaux the Castle Fragsburg follows the philosophy ‘a unique home for a unique stay’ and is part of their ‘collection of the world’s finest restaurants and hotels’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Fragsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing