We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above our expectations”
Review of Westend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westend Hotel
Ranked #51 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Above our expectations”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel in June for World Cup Cycling Races. The hotel sits in a beautiful setting with amazing views. The staff went out of their way to be sure we had everything we needed for our athletes and to store our equipment. Anything we asked for was met with a smile and done right away. Our rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The 5 course dinners that were included were wonderful and perfect for our athletes. We have absolutely no negatives about this hotel. Would highly recommend them to anyone. .

Room Tip: Many rooms have balconies with views of the Alps. The hotel sits on a river and the sounds of the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandSimonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    32
    38
    26
    16
See reviews for
24
63
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Bed extremely uncomfortable,pillows felt like straw,other one lumpy,poorly cleaned, bathroom in need of repair, as shower head came apart and shower flooded due to absent shower seals.......
Breakfast mediocre, in all - would not recommend.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merano hotels

Zurich
Level Contributor
205 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Could be a beautiful place if the owner would invest a little money, but obviously this won't happen (see picture). The building and the rooms are run-down; however the facilities are clean. Highlight was the friendly waiter at the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lottez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Run down, small, uncomfortable room, mediocre food, weird owner - all for a very high price; they won't give you a glass of water unless you pay for it. Housed in a spectacularly beautiful old villa, in a quiet neighbourhood - but what's the good?

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basil5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We stayed 3 nights but we were disappointed with the outdated furnishings and overall run-down appearance and shabby condition of the rooms......the owners clearly don't seem to wish to invest in the place.

On the other hand the breakfast was excellent and the dining room was attractive. The location is delightful but not so convenient for the town centre for those with walking difficulties

We would certainly choose another hotel if we were to return to Merano.

Disappointed Brits from Middlesbrough, UK

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LanMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We arrived at this stately looking old art deco mansion. It was a mustardy gold colour which oozed charm. The hotel itself is situated about 400mts from the town centre alongside a river with a lovely promenade which which leads into town. The rooms are quite large by Italian standards and are impeccabley clean. A big modern bathroom with roomy shower and double basins. Lovely big windows and if you are lucky enough one facing the river. We overlooked the back area which was just fine.The staff were very pleasant and parking is available. Breakfast was something from a bygone era with cloth napkins and silverware which was beatifully polished. The food was good and best of all the price was extremely reasonable.

  • Liked — The feeling of entering another time.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diedre_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

I stayed at the Westend for four nights at the beginning of March 2008. The villa, set in attractive gardens, has character and an excellent, quiet location, next to the river; it is close to both the railway/bus station & the centre of town, which you reach by a pleasant stroll along the riverbank.

My single room was clean & very spacious - unlike many single rooms I've encountered - as was the ensuite shower room (no bath, but otherwise well equipped), while my balcony came with a glorious mountain view. The furnishings, apart from the minibar & a rather low-tech TV, matched the style of the room.

I enjoyed the half-board option. Dinner consisted of 5 courses: a salad buffet, then soup of the day, pasta of the day, main course (usually a choice was offered), and finally dessert. Personal service from Herr Strohmer, who is a bit of a character, and his staff, and the kitchen was very accommodating when it came to feeding the young child of the couple at the next table.

I didn't get round to hiring one of the available bikes (I believe they are free) on this occasion.

Not the place for you if, for example, high speed internet or a plasma screen TV is essential, but I found it excellent value.

P.S. After-sales service: on the way home I discovered that I'd left my reading glasses behind, and emailed Herr Strohmer the next day. His initial response seemed oddly casual, but then he contacted me to say that my glasses had got mixed up with the laundry and ended up in the hotel washing machine, from which they emerged with the frame slightly bent, and a screw missing. He took the glasses to his optician, who made them good as new, then wrapped them up securely & posted them on to me.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kareol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Splendid
Hotel Europa Splendid
#10 of 56 in Merano
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#7 of 56 in Merano
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#34 of 56 in Merano
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Flora Meran
1.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Tannerhof
Hotel Garni Tannerhof
#35 of 56 in Merano
51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gardenresidence Zea Curtis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend Hotel

Property: Westend Hotel
Address: Via Josef Speckbacher 9 | Sud Tirolo, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the welcoming Westend Hotel with its beautiful riverside garden in a quiet yet central location in Merano – take a relaxing break from the hectic city life. Nestled in a beautiful garden area, overlooking the promenade of the river Passirio, with glittering mountains behind, Hotel Westend offers you a friendly and relaxing stay in the Dolomites.Many attractions and sights are nearby, including the Merano Thermal Baths, Trauttmansdorff Castle and the popular Merano 2000 ski area.The three-star Hotel Westend in Meran is a very special place for a holiday in South Tyrol. The hotel is located in a historical building, an Art Nouveau villa dating from the late 19th Century, located on the Passirio. The building is protected as a historic monument; guests will find a delightful accommodation with the charm and style of past years in an atmosphere of peace and tranquility.The hotel offers spacious, traditionally furnished rooms. Almost all are equipped with a balcony overlooking the surrounding landscape. This former villa is simply ideal for a relaxing holiday. Guests can enjoy excellent home cooked food and attentive service. The owner and the staff will do everything to ensure a welcoming and pleasant stay in Meran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Hotel Merano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing