We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for the young!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Youth Hostel Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We're. 60's+ couple traveling through Italy. This youth hostel is a real find! There's quite a few young people, but some of us old folks, too. Our room is very comfortable, we pushed two of the single beds together (and used the third for our clothes). We made up our own bed, and did have to rent a towel as we did not bring one.

The hostel is located about a 10 minute walk from the center of town along plesant, tree-lined streets. And the glass-walled elevator outside the building is wonderful, giving an instant birds-eye view of the area.

Breakfast is copious, if not particularly refined -- cereal, bread, packaged jams, cheeses, and pates. And plenty of fresh coffee.

I recommend the Youth Hostel to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, casual place to stay at a good price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We are seniors, and were looking for budget but clean accommodations in Merano and found it at the Youth Hostel. It is right near the main part of town within walking distance to most everything. We had a rental car and they even provided free parking! And breakfast- which was very decent- yogurt, coffee, fresh bread, cereal, juice.
It's clean, all twin beds but some private rooms and our room that a great view of the mountains. It was a great find. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlattheCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent two night in this hostel. The room was clean, it is located in a central position, free breakfast was good. There is also a little playground for kids and free wi-fi. The staff is super nice.
We paid 24€ for each adult and 12€ for my kid.

Room Tip: for those who travel with kids: room n. 3 is the closest to the little playground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

You can stay cheap or affordable in Meran. Just 5 minutes by bike from the station there is the youth hostel just for 22,50 € per Person in a double room. With good breakfast. The city is just round the corner and the church too (you get a free wake up call by nice music (really nice)).
The rooms are mostly calm.
For bycicles there is extra space in the cellar.
The staff is friendly and you get an answer to all your questions.
Wifi is free.

Room Tip: Get one at the third floor and direction to the back like 306. Pay attention the elevator is not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cristian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriaAnzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Flora Meran
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 54 in Merano
1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#8 of 54 in Merano
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gardenresidence Zea Curtis
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#24 of 54 in Merano
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Merano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Merano

Address: Via Giosue' Carducci 77, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Merano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing