We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week of beauty” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castel Rundegg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castel Rundegg Hotel
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week of beauty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Castel Rundegg compound is very attractive for the location and treatments provided but........... there is not a swimming pool open air and during summertime .............

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zetarome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    37
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
81
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

Excellent service, beautiful room with alpine views, spa was fantastic as well as the hotel food. staff was extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

I have stayed at many spas over the years and this was by far the best experience I have had. I chose the "Love in the castle" package. The spa treatments were absolutely top shelf. The massage was the most therapeutic experience I have had at a spa so I was really impressed. The food was delectable and dining was an absolute pleasure. Every course at dinner was equisitely prepared fare from the region.

The service was also wonderful. Cristina from the restaurant staff was not only friendly and funny but always attentive. She made dinner such a joyful experience.

I found the room to be tastefully decorated and what you would expect from an old castle. The front desk staff was also lovely. They were always willing to be of assistance with information and patient with us forgetting our keys. They were not only helpful but truly personable.

The spa was sparkling clean which isn't always the case especially with older properties. The property is maintained to the highest standard. The garden in the rear is quite beautiful and I would have loved to have seen in it in the summer.

The only recommendation I would make is that I think they should place a bottle of water in your room. They are offered gratis in the spa. On the first night, I took a shower and the water was a bit rusty for the first few minutes but this was resolved quickly by allowing it to run for a few minutes. I live in Italy so wasn't put off by this especially in a 12th century castle.

Merano was a brief walk down the hill and typical of an old spa town. It was charming and quaint.

We also visited the museum in Bolzano and viewed the iceman exhibition which was quite interesting.

My friend went skiing for the day and it wasn't far from the hotel as was specified.

As far as the negative review I read, I made sure I didn't use the telephone so I didn't have any issues with the hotel upon check-out. I confirmed every aspect of our stay prior to booking right down to the taxes. Our bill was true to the quote we were sent but you are charged for beverages. We paid for wine, cappucino's and water I took from the minibar.

I would highly recommend this spa for an overall wonderful experience you won't forget. It was luxurious but in an understated way that was pleasant. It was a bit pricey for the weekend but I thought well worth it considering what we received. Our package included half board, facial, massage and peeling for two. In addition, we received welcome flowers and a bottle of prosecco with a fruit basket.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericanaToscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2006

Very nice hotel and spa, although the spa had strange hours. But will never go back and recommend anyone who stays here, watch out for the big rip-off at check out. Do not charge anything to your room, do not use the phone, do not even pick it up... Our phone bill was higher than our room rate at check out. Called a Toll-Free (800) Milan, Italy Intel Business Number and was charged nearly $300.00 for an hour converstaion. Argued to no avail, even tried to argue the point with my Credit Card company when i got the bill but that was no use either. The receptionist said there are no such thing as Toll-Free numbers in Italy. I said, since when, i have travelled to Italy many times and called the corporate office in Milan toll-free. This type of thing can still happend in Italy... so you just have to be careful, sad but reality. Avoid this hotel...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Telephone Bill
  • Tips/Secrets — Watch out and do not use any services at the hotel.
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank fletch3742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.4 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#5 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.0 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#7 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
0.7 mi away
Europa Splendid
Europa Splendid
#10 of 56 in Merano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Rundegg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Rundegg Hotel

Property: Castel Rundegg Hotel
Address: Schennasterasse 2, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castel Rundegg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Castel Rundegg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing