We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of this trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castel Rundegg Hotel
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Not hard to find, yet a castle in the town itself. You pull in through the outer gate. My room was in the outer structure of the Castle. It was a small suite with a view onto the porch and garden. The front desk was very helpful with specific answers and assisted me in directions as to where I was eating that evening. The pool area was very relaxing as was the outdoor whirlpool. The interior is, well it is a Castle! If I return to Merano this Hotel will be at the top of my list. Sorry, the breakfast was again all you could eat. However, they had mounds of fresh fruit ie. strawberries, kiwi, pineapple. I loved this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

Castell Rundegg is a 10-minute walk to the town center, which makes for a great location. The room was nice and clean. The feel of the castle is not sacrificed, while modern amenities are added. Bathroom is charming, with all the features you need and has a walk-in shower. Breakfast is included and is adequate, but the servers were a bit stiff in personality. No wifi in room and mattress is a little hard. All in all, a nice experience. Merano is wonderful!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TisaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Randegg - an ancient castle located in Italy near the large city of Merano to the province of Bolzano (northern Italy). A little more than a century ago that part of the country in which the castle belonged to was Austria. In this regard, there are still some strong Austrian traditions. The castle stands between the Val and Val Passeier Ventosta in the exclusive area of ​​Maia Alta is known for its spas. Randegg does not look like a castle in the usual sense - rather it is a huge mansion, built in the Romanesque style. The estate consists of a set of extensions, covered with a peaked tile roof.
In the summer Randegg is surrounded by green garden, which is the subject of special pride for the owners of the castle. Here you can stroll along the paths laid out with stones or relax in one of the many sun loungers. In winter, the estate covered with snow and decorated with a small flashlight, like a fairy-tale cottage.
The current owner of the castle converted into hotel Randegg and beauty center, the so-called Beauty Farm. Here come visitors from all over the world - mainly in order to rest and restore health, which contributes to very mild Mediterranean climate areas.
Rooms are equipped with quite modern castle. In the rooms you will not find that charming medieval castles which offer other hotels, but, nevertheless, is quite comfortable. In the public areas (lobby and restaurant) owners have tried to preserve the historic environment, leaving low-arched openings here and old paintings. The three wings of the building are connected by transitions luxuriously furnished, where you can see a variety of antiques and paintings.
Besides the wide selection of spa treatments, it also offers medical services. The estate often holds weddings and business meetings. Capacity is limited by the castle - there are only 30 rooms, and so there is no standard for large hotels in the hustle and bustle.
The guests of the castle can take a walk on local historical sites and visit the nearby town of Merano.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Castel Rundegg compound is very attractive for the location and treatments provided but........... there is not a swimming pool open air and during summertime .............

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zetarome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Excellent service, beautiful room with alpine views, spa was fantastic as well as the hotel food. staff was extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I have stayed at many spas over the years and this was by far the best experience I have had. I chose the "Love in the castle" package. The spa treatments were absolutely top shelf. The massage was the most therapeutic experience I have had at a spa so I was really impressed. The food was delectable and dining was an absolute pleasure. Every course at dinner was equisitely prepared fare from the region.

The service was also wonderful. Cristina from the restaurant staff was not only friendly and funny but always attentive. She made dinner such a joyful experience.

I found the room to be tastefully decorated and what you would expect from an old castle. The front desk staff was also lovely. They were always willing to be of assistance with information and patient with us forgetting our keys. They were not only helpful but truly personable.

The spa was sparkling clean which isn't always the case especially with older properties. The property is maintained to the highest standard. The garden in the rear is quite beautiful and I would have loved to have seen in it in the summer.

The only recommendation I would make is that I think they should place a bottle of water in your room. They are offered gratis in the spa. On the first night, I took a shower and the water was a bit rusty for the first few minutes but this was resolved quickly by allowing it to run for a few minutes. I live in Italy so wasn't put off by this especially in a 12th century castle.

Merano was a brief walk down the hill and typical of an old spa town. It was charming and quaint.

We also visited the museum in Bolzano and viewed the iceman exhibition which was quite interesting.

My friend went skiing for the day and it wasn't far from the hotel as was specified.

As far as the negative review I read, I made sure I didn't use the telephone so I didn't have any issues with the hotel upon check-out. I confirmed every aspect of our stay prior to booking right down to the taxes. Our bill was true to the quote we were sent but you are charged for beverages. We paid for wine, cappucino's and water I took from the minibar.

I would highly recommend this spa for an overall wonderful experience you won't forget. It was luxurious but in an understated way that was pleasant. It was a bit pricey for the weekend but I thought well worth it considering what we received. Our package included half board, facial, massage and peeling for two. In addition, we received welcome flowers and a bottle of prosecco with a fruit basket.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmericanaToscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

Very nice hotel and spa, although the spa had strange hours. But will never go back and recommend anyone who stays here, watch out for the big rip-off at check out. Do not charge anything to your room, do not use the phone, do not even pick it up... Our phone bill was higher than our room rate at check out. Called a Toll-Free (800) Milan, Italy Intel Business Number and was charged nearly $300.00 for an hour converstaion. Argued to no avail, even tried to argue the point with my Credit Card company when i got the bill but that was no use either. The receptionist said there are no such thing as Toll-Free numbers in Italy. I said, since when, i have travelled to Italy many times and called the corporate office in Milan toll-free. This type of thing can still happend in Italy... so you just have to be careful, sad but reality. Avoid this hotel...

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank fletch3742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 54 in Merano
1,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
0.6 mi away
Villa Eden Leading Park Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sittnerhof Hotel
Sittnerhof Hotel
#19 of 54 in Merano
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa Splendid
Hotel Europa Splendid
#11 of 54 in Merano
342 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Rundegg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Rundegg Hotel

Address: Schennasterasse 2, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Price Range: £145 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castel Rundegg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Castel Rundegg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing