We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can I say?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel Mignon & Spa
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What more can I say?”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have just returned from our fifth visit, in twenty plus years, to this wonderful hotel and to say that it was even better than our previous visits would indeed be an understatement. My wife and I had a fabulous holiday and with 'wall to wall sunshine' for the whole time, it was indeed the best holiday we've ever had. The luxurious facilities and the splendid cuisine in the restaurant were of the highest standard and the staff were both very efficient and unobtrusive in their duties. The room was scrupulously clean, comfortable and very spacious and we were so very well looked after throughout our visit. We join so many others in again highly recommending this superb hotel.
So often in an hotel, one is regularly subjected to what is called 'the waiter's lament'. It usually starts with a solicitous enquiry as to the intended victim(s)' enjoyment of their day and it then rolls on to how it's his day off tomorrow and he has been working so-o-o-o hard and at long last, it's his day off tomorrow. Failure to respond with a generous dash quickly dissipates the 'bon-hommie' and usually results in deplorable service thereafter. In one hotel, the waiter brought us the wine when we were near the end of the main course. That would not be tolerated in the Mignon.
If there is one thing we can further recommend, it is to 'do your own thing', from booking scheduled flights and local travel to making your own reservation directly with the hotel. The money you save by doing so brings many benefits, not least of which is a more spacious room. Try it, it is well worthwhile.

Room Tip: Book a Junior Suite, it's well worth it and by cutting out the 'Rep', it doesn't cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    9
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings with excellent staff, service and ......excellent food and wine!
This Hotel is understated luxury, not flamboyant like The Palace Hotel nearby but elegant and refined, nestled in a verdant oasis surrounded by the mountains which dominate Merano. Our holiday was perfection! Lots of walking and hiking, with relaxing time around the poolside, completed by gourmet food and delicious local wine! Our waiter, Adolf, suggested several excellent wines sourced by himself from the local vineyards always taking into consideration our tastes and budget.

Merano is an excellent location to stay, a lovely spa town with the river running through it. There are many walks for all levels of ability, from hiking atop the Merano 2000 to maybe just strolling along one off the many waal-wegs (walks that follow old irrigation channels through hectares of vineyards and orchards!) One of the easiest but pretty walks was following 'Sissi's way' to the Trautmansdorf Gardens. The 6th best garden in Europe and well worth a visit.

But this isn't a travel brochure .... The Park Mignon is the place to stay in Merano! We had a fabulous room with his and hers bathrooms and an enormous balcony that caught the late evening sun. All the staff were friendly and helpful without being overbearing. What more can I say? We had a wonderful stay and wouldn't stay anywhere else if we were ever in Merano again. It truly was a 5 star experience! Oh, and it is even better in real life than it looks on their web site. And that's saying something!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlebev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at the Park Hotel Mignon for a week (July 2013) as part of a two centre holiday stay (with Inghams). This was an excellent hotel to stay in being ideally placed for the short walk (5 minutes) into the heart of Merano as well as access to the wide-ranging options of walks and visits that could be undertaken very easily as a consequence of the travel pass that enabled free train/bus rides. The hotel is 5 star quality. There might be sense of being underwhelmed as your bus/taxi worms its way through the (very) residential area around the hotel and you enter a small forecourt - but do not be put off! The buildings are beautifully maintained and extend in to garden areas and an indoor to out swimming pool which are oasis of calm. The spa has a variety of free to use sauna and shower areas and while the individual treatments were expensive they were an inviting part of the relaxation package of events possible at the Park Hotel. Our room was on the third floor and had a balcony which looked out on to the wonderful mountain range vista of the South Tyrol. For us to breathe that air and to listen to the church bells that resonated around the mountain-side was a really uplifting part of our stay. Our room was quite spacious with a tasteful bathroom and once we had got the knack of lowering the roller blinds (electronically) to cut out the early morning light everything worked, including a very efficient air conditioning unit. The food was very well prepared. Breakfasts were plentiful, with a vast range of fresh juices, fruit, cereals as well as an on-hand chef to prepare crepes and eggs to suit all tastes. Dinners were an event - a reason to dress well! An 8 course (gala) dinner might sound really overwhelming, but these well defined dishes were exquisitely prepared and presented such that neither of us felt overly-stuffed as we left the dining room. The staff were gracious, polite and very helpful in all matters - the language in Merano is balanced between Italian and German and in the hotel it was largely the latter. We had a wonderful stay at the Park Hotel - we were well served by the owners who graced the residents with their company on a regular basis and it seemed to be a hallmark of their concern for high standards that they attended to their guests with such charm and attentiveness. Additionally our Inghams rep (Ian) was outstanding in his care and advice for the possibilities in exploring the world of Merano and beyond.
We are determined to return!

Room Tip: It is a quiet hotel and placed in a residential setting: I might assume that all rooms would share t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brewer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous trip to Merano, which was made even better by our stay in the Park Hotel Mignon.
From the moment we arrived after a long transfer from Verona airport (around 2 hours) we were made to feel very welcome and immediately taken to our room by the receptionist. Upon opening the door we found a complementary bottle of wine, fruit and flowers.
The room itself was spacious, comfortable, air-conditioned (which was needed as the temperatures were in the mid 30's!) and had the best bathroom we have ever had (massive shower, separate bath and huge twin-sink).
The hotel grounds and facilities are amazing, a lovely pool area with sunbeds and towels provided, spa and peaceful sitting areas to relax. The hotel is only a short walk from the centre of Merano but felt so peaceful and quiet.
However the highlight of the day was the evening meal, six courses each night (eight for the tyrolean evening!) of quite superb food, beautifully presented and tasted just as good. Some of the best pasta I have ever eaten and I cannot remember not enjoying a single course for the ten nights we had. Breakfast was also excellent, freshly cooked eggs and a huge selection of meats, cheese, pastries etc..
The staff were always friendly and helpful (particularly when working out which buses to catch to do certain walks) and the service was always efficient and done with a smile!
Although Merano is in Italy the language of choice in the town is German, with little English spoken which we had to adjust to. A lot of the menu's when you are out and about are only in Italian and German, and the further into the hills you went most people only spoke German, so make sure you brush-up before you go!
Merano is a beautiful town with pleanty of places to eat, drink and shop (hardly any tacky tourist shops which was nice) and really well geared up for walkers and cyclists. The hotel gave us "Merano Cards", which give you free use of the buses and trains, and some discounts on the cable-cars and museums. We also had fantastic weather, really hot and sunny and only a couple of thunderstorms in the evenings.
This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in, and some of the few British guests were repeat visitors, which tells you a lot about how good this place is. Highly recommended by us!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobinMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our stay at the Park Hotel Mignon was nothing short of outstanding. The faciliy and grounds are immaculate, and it is an oasis in the center of Merano. A couple examples of the terrific service -- I needed to rise at 4:30 am for a bicycle event, and they arranged a full breakfast spread and hot coffee for me hours before the breakfast room opened. Also, my wife left a jacket behind in our room, and when we called, they cheerfully sent the jacket to our next destination. Merano is a beautiful spa town, and we would gladly return to this hotel for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked this holiday only 10 days before travelling, so were expecting a fairly standard 'what was left' room. Wrong! The room was very spacious with TWO bathrooms, a shower room, a full bathroom, one at each end of the room. The king sized bed faced the two big patio doors, and the balcony ran the length of the room/bathrooms. Although it overlooked the front of the hotel, and the annex opposite, it also overlooked the roof garden between these properties. Everything had been thought of - a rucksack for our use hung in the wardrobe, 4 towels for use at the the pool were provided each day in a beach bag.
Each evening a newsletter was delivered giving the temperature for the next few days, activities at the spa, and recommending a walk. The hotel ran a free courtesy bus to the start of a different walk each day, providing a map with the route back, cafes, restaurants etc.and the approximate length of the walk.
And then there was the food! The chef apparently is a Global Master Chef, and the food was absolutely superb. I ate things I didn't even know were dishes (crispy deer, lavender seed on the dessert, rocket brulee), each meal was an experience.
The hotel is about a 10 minute stroll from the centre of Merano, there is a bus route a few minutes walk away. Transport in Merano is first class and cheap (buy a travel card from the hotel for 28 eu per week, it covers trains, buses and some cable cars) and will take you everywhere. The hotel reception are brilliant at advising trips, walks and how to get there.
The clientele are about 50-50 British and German, mainly there for the walking.
This is an absolutely first class hotel whose staff really care about your stay. I cannot fault it.

Room Tip: South side rooms overlook the extensive gardens. North side rooms do not have such a good view, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RRMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We rarely return to the same hotel twice - for 2 weeks, this is a first! But Merano is such a delightful centre and this hotel is an oasis of peace and calm. We enjoyed ir even more this year.
Unlike last year, we booked an ordinary double bedroom rather than a Junior Suite. To our surprise we found our room better than the Suite! Large room, super bathroom with large walk-in shower as well as a fine large bath. Good sized very peaceful verandah with bird-filled trees (being bird watchers that suited us fine).
A typical day for us would be an early breakfast in the garden with the friendly service of the brilliant staff; off with our free-travel Merano Cards (supplied free by the hotel) by bus, train or a combination of both, plus, maybe a chairlift. Walking in the delightful hills of South Tyrol; and return to relax in the garden with a swim and a read, with an excellent dinner to follow.
The hotel has almost everything right. So can I suggest any improvement? Difficult, but just one matter we found puzzling on both trips. They lack a sommelier. Ask any waiter to reccomend a wine and you'll not get much help. (As regards white wine, do try Fratti Lugana; I'm afraid I never found a red that really suited us!)
So, will we return? ........ Probably.

Room Tip: Don't go for a Junior Suite upgrade if you travel with Inghams - save your money for wine etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rieverrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
2.3 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
0.5 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#5 of 56 in Merano
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Eden
Villa Eden
#14 of 56 in Merano
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#15 of 56 in Merano
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meranerhof
Hotel Meranerhof
#8 of 56 in Merano
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castel Rundegg Hotel
Castel Rundegg Hotel
#12 of 56 in Merano
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Mignon & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Mignon & Spa

Property: Park Hotel Mignon & Spa
Address: Via Karl Grabmayr 5 | 39012 Merano, 39012, Merano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Merano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Merano
#13 Spa Hotel in Merano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hotel Mignon & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glatt-Amort-Ellmenreich family is delighted and proud to present Park Hotel Mignon to you all as a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group for the first time.Park Hotel Mignon was built by our family in 1967 and we are happy to say that it has been in our hands, as both owners and managers, for almost four decades.It is in a really central yet wonderfully quiet, secluded position just a few minutes? walk from the river Passirio, the ornate Liberty-style Kurhaus and fascinating shady shopping arcades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Mignon & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Mignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing