We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Windsor
Nearby Hotels
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terme Merano(Merano)
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Adria(Merano)
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$446
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
282
104
14
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
104
14
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationthe riverlots of fresh fruitgreat hostsbreakfast was excellenta nice place to staynice familywonderful servicelovely roomtown centrepool areacomfortable roomsexcellent hoteldigardendeskgerman
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have stayed at this place a couple of times now, and i have always been very satisfied. Central location, and very nice rooms. The service is outstanding,the pool is great, and the outside area is great for breakfast in the morning. Rooms are clean,big and very well soundproofed. There is a busy street next to the hotel, but it 's really not a problem. I will probably stay here again next time also!

Room Tip: get a room with balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCASMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Best three star hotel we have stayed in. Wonderfully renovated with very quiet rooms. Great breakfast, lovely pool area. Good location and wonderful service in this family run hotel. Location is easy walking distance to the center and the train station. We did the train trip to Mals with a 60 km bike ride back to Merano along the Adige river. Really wonderful. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in July 2013. I agree with what Mikkofin has said.

I think the key benefit here is that the hotel is alongside the river and on one of the famous promenades. It's only 3 blocks into the centre of town, and not a lot further the other way to the railway station (certainly within suitcase wheeling distance - you don't need a car).

Recently refurbished, the rooms are well soundproofed and air conditioned, and very comfortable for sleeping. They come with wi-fi.

Breakfasts are largely cereals, cold meats, cheeses and juices, with coffee and a boiled egg on request, and can be taken al fresco on the patio below the pool, which is south or south east facing and pleasant.

The pool isn't heated, but in the Italian sun was plenty warm enough and again, remember that this is pretty well in the centre of town. All in all a great location, with a hard working family and their staff taking care of your needs.

Evening meals are not served but there's a bar should you need it.

Something to be seriously commended is the inclusive provision in your stay of a Merano card. This gives free access to the Sud Tirol Bahn which runs up and down the valley every half an hour or so, all of the local buses, a small number of cablecars, pretty well every museum for miles, and discounts everywhere else.

This makes a trip to Bolzano completely free by bus or train (recommend taking the Renon/Ritten cablecar from near Bolzano Station - an amazing cable-car run like a gondola with something like 8 cable car cabins on the loop.... and then the narrow gauge railway at the top, all included).

While you are in Merano, do try as many gelato styles as you can - they're only 1 Euro a scoop and amazing. Go to the Merano Thermes for 3 hours (discount available if bought at the hotel). Go to the beautiful Trautmannsdorff gardens. Take a trip up the Vinschal valley on the train (an hour each way) and maybe take a bus (we went to the top of the Stelvio Pass - second highest in Europe with 48 hairpins up... and all on a free transport pass). And try a Waanderweg, one of the paths along the irrigation channel along the valley side.

The hotel can also get you a 10% discount in half a dozen or so restaurants within walking distance. This takes the heat out of wondering where to go until you find your feet.

We had a wonderful stay, and thank the family at the Windsor Hotel for their warm welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheet_bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at the Hotel Windsor. The atmosphere at the hotel was very welcoming from the beginning till the end of our stay. The location is good as the hotel is situated by the river and you can reach the city centre by walking a couple of minutes by the river. The staff was really friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkoFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is our third time at the Windsor and we came away more satisfied than ever. This year the family added air con to the rooms, which was brilliant. It has been a specially hot summer this year. The welcome is warm and all the family do their utmost to please. The location is ideal, just a few minutes walk into town along the river, for shops, bars and restaurants. It's also just 5 mins walk to the bus and train station, so easy for getting around the town and the wider area. The hotel includes the option of the Meraner card which means free public transport and discounts to many many places. They also have negotiated discounts at a number of local restaurants.
A perfect little hotel!

Room Tip: If you are walkers ask for a room with a bath tub- much better !
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markthetraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews