We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the Dolomites”
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bavaria
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Having spent 20 + years traveling the Alps in France, Switzerland, Austria and Italy, we constantly are on the lookout for hotels that meet a 4 star standard for a reasonable price near hiking opportunities. The Bavaria and it's partner Hotel Palma, located in the hills above Merano, are shining examples of older properties brought back to days of grandeur. The staff is very accommodating, the charming dining room could not be nicer, the cuisine first rate. Enjoy breakfast on the covered patio with it's retractable awning, together with a buffet of meats, cheeses, fruit, many bread choices and always pleasant service. Each morning, enjoy selecting the evening meal from the daily menu provided.
The grounds are beautifully maintained, and the pool is a refreshing relaxation spot after a day spent hiking the surrounding mountains. The rooms typically are not overly large, however many come with their own balcony, and everything is spotlessly clean. This charming jewel is a can't miss; we have returned 5 times to spend a week there.
Merano itself is a bustling small city with a picturesque downtown, river walk, cobble stone streets, and up scale shopping. Don't miss walking on the Tappeiner Weg, a series of low level gravel paths some 200 to 300 feet above the city. Easily done, it is lined with many rest stops serving local wines.
In sum, this is a winner.
John E

Room Tip: The rooms in sister Hotel Palma are very generously sized by European standards.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bavaria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel is located in a beautyful part of the city of Merano, Italy, only 50 meters from the city center with the river Passiria and Park Elisabeth on the opposite side of the street.

I am travelling with my motorcycle and I must say they took good care of that, letting me have it parked secured and safe at the entrance of the hotel, next to the lobby.

Breakfast was served at the terrace and you could have dinner at the hotels restaurant as well. In the afternoon they served patisseries at no extra cost.

The only negative I have to say is that, at least, my room had no air conditioning. However I stayed in the sheapest little room they got right under the hot roof and I don't know how it was at the other rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennethBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I arrived at Merano quite late in the day on my bicycle and did not expect to find a cheap hotel. The Bavariawas the first hotel I came across and looked well out of my price range but they quoted me 90 euros for a single room bed and breakfast. The bed was comfortable with a nice view and I enjoyed a quiet night's sleep
One of the staff helped me to unload my bike and took it away for safe keeping overnight. The room was excellent but I was disapointed to find no English speaking channels on the television.
Breakfast was really excellent in all respects. I don't stay at hotels of this price very often but this was a pleasant little luxury in a ten day cycling holiday. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianfromKingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Lucia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ennio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palma
Hotel Palma
#43 of 55 in Merano
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#10 of 55 in Merano
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castel Rundegg Hotel
Castel Rundegg Hotel
#13 of 55 in Merano
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Juliane
Hotel Juliane
#19 of 55 in Merano
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#7 of 55 in Merano
621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pienzenau am Schlosspark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Kirchsteig 15 | St. Georgenstr. 20, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Merano
Price Range: £175 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bavaria 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing