We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Booked into this hotel for a short getaway planning to only spend one night, as it is only 130 kms from our home in Switzerland. On arrival we were given a very friendly greeting and shown around by a young man with perfect English language skills. First impressions were so good - beautiful garden setting, vine covered outdoor dining areas, cool green pool garden with inviting turquoise outdoor pool, (beautiful indoor pool area, which we did not use). Liked what we saw, so we booked another day. We are glad we did, because the food was excellent, and good value with 'half board'. Simple lunch pasta dish for 8 Euros was exquisite, and complimentary afternoon cake buffet was lovely. First room we were allocated (although premium in layout and design had a 'silly little TV only fit for use as a desktop computer monitor' - not for viewing from the lounge or bed. It also did not have the 'promised view' but looked onto a untidy neighbouring property. Reception staff quickly dealt with our 'complaint' and moved us at a small extra cost to a 'garden suite'. (garden/pool Outlook). This room was also excellent, had a more respectable size TV plus a Bath instead of shower only. Worth the extra Euro 30.00 per night. Owners obviously pay attention to detail, making this property a special place to which we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden view room, not listed on web booking sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howardR109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Very nice, clean relaxing hotel. Hotel front desk promised an English paper and it actually was on our breakfast table the next day!
Food very good, the breakfast a bit light by 4 star standards.
Staff very friendly and always looking to help.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finnsdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Just returned from Italy during which we spent four days at this Hotel. When my brother and I arrived we were greeted in the most friendly was by Fabian. He immediatly checked us in and took care of our luggage, despite us being three hours early. Our time here was so exceptional we extended our stay by an extra night. The staff was exceptional and professional. They were very helpful, thoughtful, and facilitated our every need and then some. Leaving I felt thoroughly rested and restored. One morning when I walked out of my room the owner was walking by, she said hello and then went into a nearby room with the help where she discussed the making up of the room. Her attention to detail and keeping the high standard of this hotel are impressive. That this hotel is family owned and operated shows in every aspect of this hotel. The food is creative and delicious. Every night at our special table that had our name on it, we were offered a special menu from that night made by the chef or if we liked we could order from a more extensive a la carte menu. The wonderful manager, Manuel, and all the wonderful staff made sure we were aware of this. They really took extra time to explain things to us, making us feel at ease. The rooms were terrific! Beds were super comfy, and the bathroom had heated floors which in February are pretty great to get warmed up quickly after coming in from a good hike or skiing. The indoor pool was a great temperature with a beautiful ceiling that looked like little stars. The property had palm tree's and all sorts of fabulous plants. The internet area was free. This hotel is not inexpensive, but well worth the extra.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonviage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very nice spa hotel in a quiet area of Merano. Very elegand place, suite very comfortable, excellent food.
I suggest this superb hotel to whom would like to spend a right holiday in Merano

Room Tip: excellent suite on the garden, superb service very equipped. Unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonella029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

After reading the last two reviews with negative feedback regarding the owner Mrs. Gufler I had to write this review even though it is a bit late as we stayed here in March. The Hotel is very nice and the food outstanding. When we arrived I politely asked wether there is a possibility of using the fitness center earlier than its opening time and was told by Mrs. Gufler that there are rooms above the center and I would disturb sleeping guests. Of course I accepted this explanation, only to find out later on that there are no rooms above and that the center never closes, so I used it very early every day without bothering with Mrs. Gufler anymore. A few hours later on the first day I asked wether we could reserve a different table than assigned in their restaurant (seats are assigned at the same table for the entire stay). A very rude Mrs. Gufler started yelling at me in essence saying how I could be so arrogant and narrow minded to even asked such a question. This lastet for several minutes. I stayed calm asking why she treats a paying guest like this but it took a long time for her to calm down and even then she never apologized. I met her on several different occasions during our stay and had to realize that beeing rude is her trademark. In every other hotel she would have been fired a long time ago but as she and her husband own this place( inheritance) they never experienced what it is like to start a business from scratch and the importance of customer service in the hotel industry.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank grevenbroich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Never been to Meran and selected Hotel on basis of reviews on the site. Suburban location among villas is a touch remote but we found the hotel without too much trouble. The relatively ordinary patch of ground has been cleverly enhanced by all sorts of decorations, good architecture and furniture. Room (in the newish extension) also very nice. We had half board and choose from a menu that gave a few choices for each course. That is when the trouble started. Already on the first evening we were wondering about a somewhat slow service, lots of eye rolling between us and the neighbouring tables...second evening not much better...on the third we were lucky but one had to feel uncomfortable as the table next to us sat for nearly one hour without getting any more food after the second of five courses. When I mentioned this to the Maitre d' and asked him to have one of the owners to come and see us he told us to go to reception after dinner and speak to one of them. Which I did - not suspecting to get a drubbing from the owner's wife. How could I dare to complain about them/her to staff, I was a guest (sic) in her house....etc etc I always thought that the Tyrolian mind was a tad closed by the presence of the mountains and that one should not expect polished charme but to be treated like this as a paying guest with a valid complaint sets a new standard in arrogance. I guess the reader can sense that the hotel will not see us again and anyone who expects somewhat speedy service in the restaurant would be well-advised to stay clear. Pity, the breakfast buffet was very nice (you can even press your own juices). The irony is that the hotel makes a lot of the fact that it is family run, but they don't seem to wish to interfere with staff in the restaurant, the husband of the house was pretty invisible - maybe ordering more wine, there is a 3500 Euro Grand Cru on the Wine List in case you are a connoisseur

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank helg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed for 1 week in July, I liked really very much the location and the food. Unfortunately it's not a hotel for children as most of the customers are couples and just want to relax, therefore you always feel a little bit embarassed if your kids are playing around.
The owner Mrs Gufler is an unpleasant person and has rude manners. All the waiters were very polite .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ppaolo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#5 of 54 in Merano
1,302 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
1.2 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 54 in Merano
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Castel Rundegg Hotel
Castel Rundegg Hotel
#11 of 54 in Merano
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#10 of 54 in Merano
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pienzenau am Schlosspark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansitz Plantitscherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansitz Plantitscherhof

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 56, 39012, Merano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Merano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merano
#5 Spa Hotel in Merano
#6 Luxury Hotel in Merano
Price Range: £194 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ansitz Plantitscherhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ansitz Plantitscherhof, the 4-star hotel above the rooftops of Merano, particularly impresses with its high standards of quality. It is evident throughout the premises: from the cellar - where our vintage wines are stored - to the roof, where we offer our Body & Mind Programme with our guests on the terrace. Come and visit us. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ansitz Plantitscherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansitz Plantitscherhof Merano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing