We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel, comes at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Moorebank NSW
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“very nice hotel, comes at a price”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We did enjoy our stay here recently, the staff is very friendly, the rooms very clean, spacious and comfortable and the hotel is situated in a quiet location, still within walking distance to town. The wellness area is fabulous and spending a few hours there was bliss, a program of daily activities is also provided.We were a bit disappointed with the food, however, not so much in terms of quality, which was excellent, but more what is on offer and on occasions also extremely small serving sizes. We think that the environment (an old homestead farmhouse) would lean itself more to offering local traditional specialties (there are some on the menu, but not enough), maybe with a modern twist, but instead what was on offer during our stay was coming across as a bit pretentious. The quality was good, however, serving sizes were at times very small. On our second night we chose roast angus beef as our main course and got a sliver of meat, probably not even 100 grams. I have to add that we are usually not people, who want kilos of meat, but on this occasion, the serving size was entree sized at best. A charge of 11.50 EUR for three handmade chocolates for desert also had me in stitches laughing.I had ordered them, because it seemed on the menu, that they came with a glass of sherry for that price, later being told that the sherry was just a recommendation as accompaniment. I did get the sherry for free in the end, credit to the staff there.
Again, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely be back, but found the dinner menu a bit hoity toity.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amadeusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    91
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
112
378
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Quite simply the best hotel I've stayed at in years of trips to Italy. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms and interior of the hotel are the cleanest I've seen. Rooms are spacious and the hotel is a short, romantic walk from the old city of Merano. What makes this hotel the best, however, is the remarkable staff. The friendliness and professionalism of everyone (to include the owner) is without equal. I won't stay in any other hotel in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was a perfect hotel for an active and luxury vacation. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was wonderful. Beautiful views, convenient for walking into the city. Great activities director. We participated in the mountain walk and the bike ride. More strenuous hiking easily available with a short drive. Excellent breakfast. We did not have dinner at the hotel and it was easy to get to other restaurants. Our son stayed in the older building which was not air conditioned but was fine even with temps in the 90's. Outstanding pool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikinglady91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

If one is looking for a first-class wellness and Spa experience this is the place to be. The hotel staff is friendly and outgoing. The service is very good. Our room well equipped and comfortable. Contrary to what the hotel claims, the kitchen is good but far from gourmet. (At least during the evening we eat there). In general the hotel is trying very hard to offer first class service and standards. This was frustrated with a silly contradiction. For one night stay we paid over € 600,00 (which we reckoned with and are not complaining about) but it is a strange experience when they insist you to pay € 0,40 for internet usage. Beside the fact that the confirmation stated "internet f.o.c.", they insisted to call us back for to pay for internet usage. This in my opinion characterized a certain narrow minded attitude and does not fit the general image of this pretentious place. We paid them € 1,00 and let them keep the change ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joponr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klosters, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Booked into this hotel for a short getaway planning to only spend one night, as it is only 130 kms from our home in Switzerland. On arrival we were given a very friendly greeting and shown around by a young man with perfect English language skills. First impressions were so good - beautiful garden setting, vine covered outdoor dining areas, cool green pool garden with inviting turquoise outdoor pool, (beautiful indoor pool area, which we did not use). Liked what we saw, so we booked another day. We are glad we did, because the food was excellent, and good value with 'half board'. Simple lunch pasta dish for 8 Euros was exquisite, and complimentary afternoon cake buffet was lovely. First room we were allocated (although premium in layout and design had a 'silly little TV only fit for use as a desktop computer monitor' - not for viewing from the lounge or bed. It also did not have the 'promised view' but looked onto a untidy neighbouring property. Reception staff quickly dealt with our 'complaint' and moved us at a small extra cost to a 'garden suite'. (garden/pool Outlook). This room was also excellent, had a more respectable size TV plus a Bath instead of shower only. Worth the extra Euro 30.00 per night. Owners obviously pay attention to detail, making this property a special place to which we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden view room, not listed on web booking sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howardR109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Very nice, clean relaxing hotel. Hotel front desk promised an English paper and it actually was on our breakfast table the next day!
Food very good, the breakfast a bit light by 4 star standards.
Staff very friendly and always looking to help.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finnsdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Just returned from Italy during which we spent four days at this Hotel. When my brother and I arrived we were greeted in the most friendly was by Fabian. He immediatly checked us in and took care of our luggage, despite us being three hours early. Our time here was so exceptional we extended our stay by an extra night. The staff was exceptional and professional. They were very helpful, thoughtful, and facilitated our every need and then some. Leaving I felt thoroughly rested and restored. One morning when I walked out of my room the owner was walking by, she said hello and then went into a nearby room with the help where she discussed the making up of the room. Her attention to detail and keeping the high standard of this hotel are impressive. That this hotel is family owned and operated shows in every aspect of this hotel. The food is creative and delicious. Every night at our special table that had our name on it, we were offered a special menu from that night made by the chef or if we liked we could order from a more extensive a la carte menu. The wonderful manager, Manuel, and all the wonderful staff made sure we were aware of this. They really took extra time to explain things to us, making us feel at ease. The rooms were terrific! Beds were super comfy, and the bathroom had heated floors which in February are pretty great to get warmed up quickly after coming in from a good hike or skiing. The indoor pool was a great temperature with a beautiful ceiling that looked like little stars. The property had palm tree's and all sorts of fabulous plants. The internet area was free. This hotel is not inexpensive, but well worth the extra.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonviage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 56 in Merano
1,237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 56 in Merano
362 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meranerhof
Hotel Meranerhof
#8 of 56 in Merano
279 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#6 of 56 in Merano
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gardenresidence Zea Curtis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansitz Plantitscherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansitz Plantitscherhof

Property: Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Address: Via Dante Alighieri 56, 39012, Merano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Merano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#4 Spa Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ansitz Plantitscherhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ansitz Plantitscherhof, the 4-star hotel above the rooftops of Merano, particularly impresses with its high standards of quality. It is evident throughout the premises: from the cellar - where our vintage wines are stored - to the roof, where we offer our Body & Mind Programme with our guests on the terrace. Come and visit us. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ansitz Plantitscherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansitz Plantitscherhof Merano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing