We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Anatol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anatol Hotel
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is outside of Meran but very quiet and with lovely views. It is within walking distance to the Gardens of Trauttmansdorff Castle, which is an absolute must, but it is quite a long walk into the centre.
Our room was large and had a balcony facing the swimming pool. The room was kept exceptionally clean and every day the chambermaid surprised us with a lovely animal decoration made from the towels. The swimming pool is not very big but kept very clean and great for a cool off after returning from a trip. There were always loungers free. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and the 5 course dinners were superb. Just the right portions for 5 courses and fantastically presented. Free parking is also available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    50
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Hotel simple and elegant. The food was very good and prepared with taste.
In the hotel there is also a spa and sauna, not very big but very relaxing.
The rooms are simple and tastefully furnished. They also have a beautiful view of the valley.
The location is convenient, close to the center.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thun, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Absolutely outstanding! Beautiful, quiet location. We were fortunate having booked one of the superior rooms (apparently recently renovated) as it was one of the nicest hotel rooms we've ever stayed in - for a modest supplement (all via Aldi). Buffet breakfasts and 6-course dinners were superb although, when the hotel was full, the restaurant staff in the evenings were stretched, yet still efficient and friendly. Notably courteous reception staff/management (probably all family) who remembered our names throughout our stay - quite rare these days - and were very helpful in providing info/recommendations about activities in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We arrived after a long trip and to early for the check in. The Hotel Manager arranged us the room realier than normal even though the hotel was fully booked. Once you book that hotel, make sure you order half board, it is great food and service. The Wellness Area is a bit to small for the winter period, however I am sure that the summer can be enjoyed very fine as there is a beautiful outdoor pool area. We have very much enjoyed our stay and thanks to all the great and friendly employees.
Just one point to mention, the internet connection was very slow: only 11kb/s

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannesSchuschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVON
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Eight of us stayed at this hotel. It had fantastics views of mountains and it was within a short walking distance to nearby famous botanical gardens. Bed rooms were very clean and tastfully furnished with Bath robes and plenty of thick towels. Their Buffet style breakfast set one up for the day and the more than ample excellant set evening meal consisted of 5 or 6 courses. The menu changed daily. Management were very helpful such as getting their wine suppliers to give us an excellent free wine tasting. The swimming pool and exercise room were pristine clean. The only drawbacks were a long walk, down hill, into town and no english tv channels. Better to use nearby bus stop or car. Early booking had got us a bargain at €150 a night for Room and half board. Would we stay again? Yes most certainly

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonFoxtrotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2006

This hotel is advertising with 4 stars but this might simply mean it can put a check behind the basic necessities to get to 4 stars but without looking at the actual quality of the facilities.

Here follows a short description of our impressions (from a young family):

When you arrive the hotel likes fine with its bright yellow facade, but when you come closer you get a bit of a feeling that is is not that well maintained. The hotel is located along some very narrow streets and directly borders on the premises of another large hotel. There is parking available directly in front of the hotel for about 10 cars (most of which underneath a roof). Just outside the premises, along a narrow (but calm) road are several parking spots available.

The swimming pool is direclty next to the main entrance in the front of the building. The pool is very, VERY small. When we were there the water temperature must have been well over 30 degrees celcius, which meant that you weren't really cooling down from taking a swim in the small pool. (the hotel actually advertises that the pool is always kept at 29 degrees, but with outside temperatures above 30 degrees the water becomes too warm). There also seems to be insufficient water overflowing so that the surface of the water isn't cleaned well enough, hence a large number of dead insects and a glow of suncream on the surface. The water looks murky. There are two shower cabins but they look very unhygienic. The doors are partly rotted away. The whirlpool (of which we saw a nice picture in their brocure) looks rather doubtfull. At the edge there are some pipes/tubes that turned black from fungus. In case you have children you hardly dare to have them play in/near the pool as typically some older visitors were sleeping there and you get the feeling that the hotel is mainly aimed at 60+ visitors. If you see the different pictures available on several websites the pool looks rather large, but count the number of chairs next to the pool and compare it to the fact that it is a 42 room hotel. Get my point? Towels are available at the reception and after your swimm you are expected to take them back to your room.

It is also surprising that this hotel has no airconditioning. Don't be fooled by comments that you will get a room on the mountain side. It can get very hot in Merano also on the mountain side!

In all fairness the food was OK and dinner included 6 (small) courses while you can choose either fish or meat for your main course. Next to the plates that were served there was a buffet with several salads etc. We did notice that the people serving are sometimes making comments like, "you don't want to eat your vitamines" or "you didn't like it" etc. which we couldn't appreciate. The dining room, with its salmon colors, looks like a dining room that was fashionable in the 80s.

The room we had was one filled with old furniture. We had 3 chairs, a table, a desk, a double bed, two bed tables and a sofa/bed in a fairly small room that is offered for 2 to 4 people. We had the feeling we were staying with someone's grandmother. The alarmclock at the side of bed (big Grundig with huge numbers and build in radio must date back to the 70s). I give this example so you get a feel for what you should expect.

Please note: Besides the small pool there is literally nothing to do for children on the premises on anywhere near the hotel. The hotel is located around 20 minutes walk from the centre of Merano (and not 10 as advertised).

Conclusion: Don't count on high quality facilities or service. Definately avoid when you are traveling with children. More suitable for older visitors that might not be using the pool and that use the hotel as a base to visit the Merano area, but for these requirements the hotel can be considered expensive! Therefore: AVOID!

  • Liked — leaving!
  • Disliked — the small warm dirty pool
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid this hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BBuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#27 of 55 in Merano
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Europa Splendid
Hotel Europa Splendid
#10 of 55 in Merano
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gardenresidence Zea Curtis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#7 of 55 in Merano
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliane
Hotel Juliane
#14 of 55 in Merano
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pienzenau am Schlosspark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anatol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anatol Hotel

Property: Anatol Hotel
Address: Kastanienweg 3, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anatol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Anatol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing