We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Meranerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Meranerhof
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Fidenza, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family run hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were staying at another hotel during the xmas markets, which was awful, so we had to escape and just happened to walk in and ask if they had a free room. We also asked if we could see the room before excepting and they were so nice about it! We had such a nice experience that we returned for Easter holiday! The pool and sauna areas are wonderful so warm and smell fantastic! It's a great place if you need to relax and unwind! Breakfast and dinner were really good! The only thing I could say in negative is that the average age is quite high so not a lot of young people but we didn't have a problem with that!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristina_tutino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    78
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
60
145
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in late December during our trip to northern Italy. The hotel is in the center of Merano, close to the Christmas markets. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is very very nice and always friendly and smiling. Our room was very nice, spacious and very clean, they were kind and on our arrival we were able to check-in before 14. Restaurant serving delicious dishes and the breakfast is good and plentiful. We also used the spa and even here the staff and facilities are excellent. The hotel has parking included in the room rate. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: our room was facing south with balcony and garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MywayDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We enjoyed a simple double room here during the Christmas market and had a very pleasant experience. The staff, room, and restaurant were all quite good. We did not have a chance to use the spa but it looked very nice. On-site parking is a bit cramped.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We spent two nights here while attending a meeting. The hotel is located right next to the city spa center (it also has an indoor pool and fitness center of its own) and a short walk from the center of Meran(o). This is a hotel that puts its guests first and is committed to making guests feel at home. Every member of the hotel staff that we encountered was friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable, a real home-away-from-home, with a comfortable bed, high ceiling, comfortable chairs and a balcony. In addition, there is free WiFi throughout the building.
Free parking is available for guests. We didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel (the menu looks quite "traditional"), but breakfast was excellent and served in a cheerful and bright dining room. Our room was impeccably clean. We could have easily stayed on for a week, but unfortunately needed to return home. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swisstravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have just spent a most enjoyable week in this very friendly family hotel. It is well organised and run on a professional basis where the guest is treated as "king" by all members of staff. Nothing is too much trouble, all you need do is ask Elisabeth in reception and she will help you. We stayed in room 203 with a balcony, at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden which was pleasant and quiet. We enjoyed having our breakfast and dinner on the terrace in the open air, it was lovely. The cuisine was absolutely superb, everything we had was delicious and well presented, what we really liked was the flexibility of choice in menu. Each evening the lady owner came round to speak with each guest at dinner, which is a nice touch. She really cared! The same lady also took the time to shake our hands and thank us for coming when we departed. We commend this hotel as the ideal place to stay in Merano, which is well located to explore the beauty of the Italian South Tyrol area. It is simply wonderful!

We travelled with Inghams who organised a very efficient transfer from Verona airport to Merano a journey of approximately 2 hours. Ian Hill the Inghams representative, is an excellent guide who took us out for hiking trips which were most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Best rooms with a balcony are at the back of the hotel facing the garden. These are quieter than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malsorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A friendly clean well run hotel that nakes all guests very welcome.
Great food and plenty of choice. Central location

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have balcony and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This hotel is one of my favorites (and I travel a lot!): elegant, centrally located yet quiet, fenced in parking facilities, beautiful garden with pool, good restaurant at attractive prices, wonderful breakfast buffet. It is a family-run hotel that is operated in a very professional and personal way.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back with balcony. It's worth the surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 55 in Merano
1,253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#6 of 55 in Merano
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 55 in Merano
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#7 of 55 in Merano
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#13 of 55 in Merano
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meranerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meranerhof

Property: Hotel Meranerhof
Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni 1 | 39012 Merano, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Merano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#9 Family Hotel in Merano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Meranerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 4-star superior Liberty style Hotel in the centre of Merano, since 1966 in the possession of Family Eisenkeil. The Hotel has a personal touch and flair. Our guests enjoy special moments in an exclusive ambience with art niveau style. Fabulous our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meranerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meranerhof Hotel Merano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing