We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel.”
Review of Hotel Juliane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Juliane
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lovely hotel fairly close to the city. We walked for about 15 minutes to get to restaurants in the city. The hotel had a lovely pool, it was very clean, would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was great. Set in lovely grounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamrock784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    43
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
78
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

To say that this hotel has not changed for 40 years would not do it justice. It has been updated (certainly more than once), but retains its charm, peacfulness and quite elegance. The owner leads by example and the staff tries to read your mind! More helpful is not possible! The customers are "older" and the rooms decor fits their taste - by no means worn or dated, but somewhat "older looking".
All in all a wonderful stay and a great place to spend a night or two or more in Meran.
Thank you Mrs. Inderst!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvistoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here for a week in July (family of four) and had a great time.

The hotel itself is really nice. No complaints at all. Breakfast is good - you can have cappucino, or espresso rather than the usual plain coffee or tea, if you ask. Dinner is several courses, mostly very good indeed. We were half board, but the hotel also offers lunch for no extra cost, if you want it; simple stuff like pasta or salad, but very welcome if you're around. You have to let them know at breakfast if you want lunch and sometimes we struggled to get back in time from a bike ride, or whatever. No big deal. Parking is plentiful, if you come by car - some of the hotels we stayed at on our trip had very limited space. Not so here, we found. The pool is really nice and there's table tennis for kids and also an indoor pool and a small gym and spa. Note: you have to pay extra for the jacuzzi (6 euros a pop!)

The area is beautiful: A walk along the river in Meran and into the town is an absolute must, as is an ice cream at one of the many parlours, or a fresh juice from the chap along the river walk if it's hot! If you are a keen cyclist, you are in the right place! We took a train from Meran to Malles (about an hour or so). You put your bikes on a van and they arrive at about the same time as the train, and we biked all the way back to Meran with our two kids. If you get fed up or tired, you can always get off the cycle path and get a train back! It's 90per cent cycle paths and a short amount of main (but not at all busy) road, but the best thing is that it's practically all downhill (some quite steep descents if you have young children, make sure they don't go hell for leather!) It is a long ride, even downhill, and depending on how many stops you make along the way, it can take between three and eight hours, but it's well worth it - you feel like you've done something. There are any number of bike rides to do, all very beautiful, mostly with apple orchards on one side and the river on the other and, of course, mountains all around - perfect! Very good biking also, for people who don't want to kill themselves doing extreme mountain biking or heave themselves uphill in the heat...lots of gentle cycling if you want. There is also plenty of hiking to be done, and other sports like paragliding nearby (you can do tandem paragliding, even quite young children can have a go!). Lots to do in this area, and also many good and reasonably priced restaurants. All in all, a very good place to come for an active summer holiday with the children.

Room Tip: No air conditioning. If you're coming by car, pack a fan if you have youngsters who might not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

All positives about this hotel apart from one thing.
Bit difficult to find and be careful on those really narrow back roads, a Sat Nav helps greatly! Merano itself is a beautiful place, take the walk up to the castle and around the hillside above the main church. Great views from quiet gardens and vineyards.
A little bit pricey perhaps but this hotel undersells itself, indoor and outdoor pool, some spa facilities for example all very clean and well presented.
We only stayed one night and we didn't realise it until bedtime but our room was above the kitchen and sound proofing wasn't good so we listened to the tidying up at the end of the night and the getting ready for breakfast.
Very good staff, lots of good information, good chocolate on pillow!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSofDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gardenresidence Zea Curtis
0.1 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#5 of 56 in Merano
608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 56 in Merano
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 56 in Merano
1,239 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#6 of 56 in Merano
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#15 of 56 in Merano
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliane

Property: Hotel Juliane
Address: Feldweg, 6, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliane 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Juliane has a quiet and sunny position, a 15 minutes walk away from the centre of Meran and is an ideal starting point for daily trips to the Dolomites, the Garda lake, to Verona or to Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Juliane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing