We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for the service you get” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Terme Merano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terme Merano
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the service you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Nice hotel from the pictures in the Internet. But that's it.

Helpful?
Thank TheHeavyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    320
    70
    23
    9
See reviews for
262
620
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

i had been here before years ago when it still used to be with the steigenberger group – and it hasn't changed much. to avoid any misunderstandings, it doesn't look worn or tired, it's been kept and maintained very well. both the public areas as well as the rooms still rate very high in terms of ambiance and modern design.

when we arrived in the evening we were greeted in a personal and very friendly manner by a young female receptionist, who also explained all the amenities concerning the hotel and the free entrance to the merano therme and also made a special effort to recommend and book a nice restaurant for us. also the next evening, the reception staff had a very nice restaurant recommendation for us, as the one we had asked for was (fortunately?) closed that evening.

rooms are spacious and cosy, and a bag with towels is waiting to be taken to the spa.

the buffet breakfast offered a good and ample choice – much better and more than you would expect when in italy.

the hotel bar serves a mean hugo, a cocktail drink that i have come to love ever since

tip:
a visit to the large therme is impressive, but on some days (especially the weekend) it tends to be VERY busy with families, so after having seen and tried all the special features, it was a real treat to be able to retreat to the hotel's pool and wellness area, where it was a lot quieter. come to think of it, the hotel spa had everything in terms of the features that we also saw in the larger therme.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PushingTheSenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Modern, clean, great location, Walking distance to old city, wonderful breakfast, tunnel to thermal bath. Perfect choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We indeed enjoyed a well needed relaxing weekend and great food at the Terme Merano. Merano is modern rather tastefully decorated hotel and is well positioned next to the river in the city centre. The staff is very professional and speaks not only Italian, but also German and some English. The hotel spa is beautiful and it's also connected to the Meran thermal baths. However, there are not enough chairs or beds for the guest at the Hotel spa. Consequently guests are putting towels on the beds and don't use the spa until later during the day. My husband fell almost twice due to the slippery wet floor. They offered tea at a corner of the spa facilities, but it was not kept in order and looked rather messy. Also the toilettes in the spa area where not clean.
The breakfast room is immaculate, the buffet is rich, fresh - one of the best I ever had in Italy. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable, however, we could not lower the temperature, 26 C°, in our room which resulted into that we did not sleep so well. Second night we slept with the windows open, but where disturbed by some noises outside the hotel.
No Wi-Fi in the rooms! I was quite disappointed that I could not use my ipad in our room as internet was only available by cable. Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby. On the first floor there is a computer and a printer available for hotel guests, however, the lightning was insufficient (due to missing bulbs in the lamps) where the computer was placed and we could not see the key board, or read papers, credit card numbers etc.
We had a great time, however, I would expect a little bit more from a hotel which charges 200 Euros per night. I'm confident the hotel will eventually be perfect after some "corrections" .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariajanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My wife and I just spent came back from a weekend at this hotel. It is a modern and quite beautiful structure, very well positioned in the city center and connected to the Meran thermal baths.
We had a very nice time, the restaurant was excellent (great breakfast buffet and good gourmet dinners) and service was very good.
Unfortunately the structure has several small flaws that need to be addressed. In fact they told us that it was recently bought by new owners that are going to close it to do some restructuring.
By looking at the building and room plan I believe that about 90% of the rooms have a beautiful or at least pleasant view: our room was one of the remaining 10% or less that look at a rather ugly apartment building.
Wifi is available in the lobby, but not in the rooms where internet connection is only available by cable. The mattresses were very hard (and we are used to a hard mattress) with extremely flat pillows, so our sleep quality was not so good.
Our bathroom was large, but it did not have ANY space where to place toiletries so we had to keep them in the closet. The shower did not have a shower plate, but only a drain in the floor and a courtain. In addition the floor did not have any slope towards the drain, so in order not to flood the bathroom when showering we had to make a little retainer with a towel. In our opinion the colour of the tiles was quite ugly (green and brown) and also I did not like that they had stainless steel accessories (soap dispensers, bath holders, grab bars, trash bin) and chromed plumbing. They should have opted for stainless steel or at least stainless steel finish faucets. Maybe some of the flaws are due to the fact that our bathroom was equipped for people on a wheel chair, but then it made no sense to put this kind of room at the end of a long carpeted hallway (not so easy access on a wheelchair).
The spa area was quite nice, but as it was a busy weekend there was not enough room where to relax, either in the pool area or after a treatment at the spa. They only offered a small table with tea and apples and it was not always stocked.
Another issue was with the elevators: 1. there is no service elevator. 2. when taking the elevator to the underground level for the spa, you get out by the garage door. 3. at lobby level the doors open on a small and very dark atrium without any decorations or indications: like many others at first we were not sure if we were on the right level.
Hopefully the new ownership will adress these issues and the hotel will easily get a perfect score.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viclugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigevano, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel is placed in Merano city centre, near the river. It is equipped with everything guests can need to enjoy a completely relaxing holiday. The design is so medern and the service is excellent. The hotel spa is wonderful and I enhoyed a fantastic massage.
Breakfast is delicious and it was the best I've ever had in my life!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel is simply fantastic. Rooms are ultramodern, superb design. Breakfast is best we ever had in Italy. Worth the visit itself. The baths are more fun than the kids ever had before in any swimming pool. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#7 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#5 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meranerhof
Hotel Meranerhof
#6 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#19 of 56 in Merano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Splendid
Europa Splendid
#10 of 56 in Merano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terme Merano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terme Merano

Property: Hotel Terme Merano
Address: Piazza Terme 1, 39012, Merano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Merano
#3 Family Hotel in Merano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Terme Merano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Terme Merano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Merano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing