We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a mixed bag in a great location”
Review of Hotel Terme Merano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Terme Merano
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A bit of a mixed bag in a great location”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here a total of 4 nights and there's no doubt that the location can't be beat if you're planning a stay in Merano. The hotel is situated along the river and adjacent to the public pools and gardens of Merano, which themselves are a beautiful. A one-minute stroll over the bridge and the entire shopping district of Merano presents itself. We stayed there in early October, so most of the tourist crush had passed but the weather was still perfect.

We booked a suite and we a bit surprised that the price was actually per person and not per night. I realize that this is not unheard of, but I mention it so that prospective guests are taken aback upon check in. The suite was really far more space than we needed and I'd opt for a double room on the highest floor next time. Breakfast is included and was very nicely done, with warm and cold buffets, eggs made to order and lots of great breads, meats, cheeses and sweets. And, the bedding was simple, crisp and impeccably clean and fresh.

So what's not to love? Well, maybe it's a bit nitpicky, but we were never able to get the wifi to work in our room, which forced us to go down to the lobby and it wasn't much better there. It was incredibly frustrating as, even though we were on vacation, we both had work to stay on top of. The result was that we ended up incurring ridiculous roaming charges on our iPhones to get our e-mail and data. This is modern relatively new-ish hotel, so I can't understand how this can be.

Also, the quality of the fixtures in both our suites [we broke up our stay in two visits with a 1 day break in between] were really flimsy...toilet paper holders virtually falling out of the wall. The white rug in the second suite was really dirty, the furnishings in the public areas showing signs of wear... The front desk staff seemed at a loss when we asked for a recommendation for a decent seafood restaurant and could only refer to the same book we had in our room.

Perhaps most disappointing were the spa services, which were really mediocre. We each tried massages and I booked a facial, but we were rather underwhelmed. There was no pre-treatment consultation, no checking in during the treatment to see if everything was okay. And when it was over, the massage therapist just walked out of the treatment room without a word. It was weird.

All that said: Would we stay here again? Actually, yes. The location, its convenience and the access to the Merano pools and gardens trumped the other issues that we encountered. We'll probably return again this time next year. And maybe the wifi will be worked out by then!

Room Tip: The suites are corner rooms with a great terrace and fabulous views, but more space that we needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    321
    70
    23
    9
See reviews for
269
629
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Centrally located in Merano on the Adige River it's perfect for getting to know Merano. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful, spotlessly clean, large rooms - very quiet and comfortable. Breakfast served was delicious and varied with hot and cold dishes plus some pretty yummy looking pastries and cakes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Definitely a YES for the location, a YES for the friendly staff, a YES for the stylish and well designed room (a suite!) as well as a YES for the very good treatments at the hotel's spa
A NO for too many families with small children who produce a hell of a noice and hazzle in the Spa areas, in the pool and in the garden. The area around the saunas and steam bath is very open so you feel like in a public bath. Completely misses a relaxed and calm Spa atmosphere. And a NO for the hectic at breakfast as well as a NO for not providing any small snacks in the minibar like peanuts or anything similar. When going down to the concierge in the night he was also unable to provide us with some chips or cookies at least. Well, its clearly a four star, but quite pricy....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva_Maria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Nice hotel from the pictures in the Internet. But that's it.

Helpful?
Thank TheHeavyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

i had been here before years ago when it still used to be with the steigenberger group – and it hasn't changed much. to avoid any misunderstandings, it doesn't look worn or tired, it's been kept and maintained very well. both the public areas as well as the rooms still rate very high in terms of ambiance and modern design.

when we arrived in the evening we were greeted in a personal and very friendly manner by a young female receptionist, who also explained all the amenities concerning the hotel and the free entrance to the merano therme and also made a special effort to recommend and book a nice restaurant for us. also the next evening, the reception staff had a very nice restaurant recommendation for us, as the one we had asked for was (fortunately?) closed that evening.

rooms are spacious and cosy, and a bag with towels is waiting to be taken to the spa.

the buffet breakfast offered a good and ample choice – much better and more than you would expect when in italy.

the hotel bar serves a mean hugo, a cocktail drink that i have come to love ever since

tip:
a visit to the large therme is impressive, but on some days (especially the weekend) it tends to be VERY busy with families, so after having seen and tried all the special features, it was a real treat to be able to retreat to the hotel's pool and wellness area, where it was a lot quieter. come to think of it, the hotel spa had everything in terms of the features that we also saw in the larger therme.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PushingTheSenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Modern, clean, great location, Walking distance to old city, wonderful breakfast, tunnel to thermal bath. Perfect choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We indeed enjoyed a well needed relaxing weekend and great food at the Terme Merano. Merano is modern rather tastefully decorated hotel and is well positioned next to the river in the city centre. The staff is very professional and speaks not only Italian, but also German and some English. The hotel spa is beautiful and it's also connected to the Meran thermal baths. However, there are not enough chairs or beds for the guest at the Hotel spa. Consequently guests are putting towels on the beds and don't use the spa until later during the day. My husband fell almost twice due to the slippery wet floor. They offered tea at a corner of the spa facilities, but it was not kept in order and looked rather messy. Also the toilettes in the spa area where not clean.
The breakfast room is immaculate, the buffet is rich, fresh - one of the best I ever had in Italy. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable, however, we could not lower the temperature, 26 C°, in our room which resulted into that we did not sleep so well. Second night we slept with the windows open, but where disturbed by some noises outside the hotel.
No Wi-Fi in the rooms! I was quite disappointed that I could not use my ipad in our room as internet was only available by cable. Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby. On the first floor there is a computer and a printer available for hotel guests, however, the lightning was insufficient (due to missing bulbs in the lamps) where the computer was placed and we could not see the key board, or read papers, credit card numbers etc.
We had a great time, however, I would expect a little bit more from a hotel which charges 200 Euros per night. I'm confident the hotel will eventually be perfect after some "corrections" .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariajanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
0.8 mi away
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
Ansitz Plantitscherhof
#5 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#6 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meranerhof
Hotel Meranerhof
#8 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 56 in Merano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#19 of 56 in Merano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Flora Meran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terme Merano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terme Merano

Property: Hotel Terme Merano
Address: Piazza Terme 1, 39012, Merano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Merano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Merano
#3 Spa Hotel in Merano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Terme Merano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Terme Merano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Merano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing