We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experiance”
Review of Villa Bertagnolli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Bertagnolli
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Bellingham,Wa, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A unique experiance”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked this property for location. Intending to stay only one night we were not looking for a special experience. Our stay became one of the most pleasant memories of many years of traveling in Italy. Here we found hospitality, a clean and spacious room filled with antiques, an intimate restaurant with exceptional fine dinning all with in a very large 16th century rural villa. We arrived mid afternoon having driven from Munich. We of course found the restaurant closed however a plate of antipasto,bread and a bottle of local wine appeared when the owners son realized we we hungry. This is a favorite for large local groups
(200+ as they have the space and ability to serve meals to large events) .If you are seeking modern luxury hotel accommodations this is not for you. However, if you want to step back four centuries and have the time to take the one hour morning tour of a villa filled with antiques, many of the original frescoes and art this is for you. The current owners are 5th generation wine and grappa makers and exporters and blend their knowledge of wine with fine dinning.
The towels are of low quality, the bathrooms functional but definitely not luxurious. You must have a car as this is somewhat remote but only minutes from the autostrada. Highly recommended for a couple interested in wine, fine dinning and history.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank pericowest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    92
    43
    28
    33
See reviews for
55
151
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We wanted to share with our two teenage sons an unforgettable trip to Europe. In an effort to experience more of the culture of our host country we decided to stay exclusively at B&Bs and avoid traditional western hotels. We stayed at the Villa Bertagnolli for four nights. Upon arrival after a long stressful travel day we received a relaxed, friendly greeting before being shown into a beautiful interior courtyard lined with potted lemon trees where refreshments were brought to us while we were being checked in. My husband and I stayed in a room with a veranda that looked out over the vineyards, the kids just down the hall. The views of the vineyards and mountains were magnificent while the grounds of the Villa exploded with colorful floral blooms. The room was comfortable, appointed with period furnishings. The bathroom was well stocked; the towels were a bit rough which made for an invigorating after-shower rub-down. We ate at the restaurant three out of four nights enjoying the local fare including the wine. The breakfast buffet was fine; serve yourself all the usual offerings, seat yourself on an outdoor terrace or indoor dining room. The staff helped me arrange a lovely dinner party for twelve (we have relatives living nearby) in a beautiful separate dining room decorated with an excess of 100 copper pots on the walls; truly stunning. The staff was so pleasant and very helpful in every aspect. We will stay at the Villa Bertagnolli every time we visit Trento. If you are looking for a unique lodging/dining experience within the walls of a time-honored villa surrounded by an intoxicating landscape, I highly recommend staying with the Bertagnollis.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed there for one night, booked 2 rooms for a family of 5. Kids had a room with a loft, they loved it. yes it is very hard to find, even with a GPS, definatley need more signs. Arrived early evening to closed gates. once in we went through a maze of floors and corridors to our rooms, never though i would find my way back to the car. It was fun just walking around and seeing where you come out from. Wifi only works in the main yard. the hosts were very nice and talkative, spoke english very well. Beautiful area in a vally with vinyards all the way around. breakfast outside was awsome with the beautiful scenery. Not much to do there but relax and enjoy nature. Very peaceful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We booked a room plus kitchen in the Villa Bertagnolli for 2 weeks in June 2013. The villa is charmingly rustic, being set back from the road and surrounded by vineyards. Our room was large and the furniture old but comfortably. The staff were very friendly (we don't speak Italian but as some of them spoke English that didn't prove a problem). The Villa has its own restaurant which we found to be of good quality and reasonably priced as long as you didn't eat your way through all the courses available (starter, first course, second course and dessert – all priced at around 8 euros per course). There are various local shops and supermarkets only 5 minutes drive away in Mattarello and, as we had cooking facilities, we tended to buy food locally. The really important feature about our stay was that we were able to have our two pug dogs with us at no additional cost. While not perfect, we enjoyed our stay at the Villa Bertagnolli immensely and would seriously recommend it to anyone looking for quiet, comfortable accommodation with old-world charm and service.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticino
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here a group of Harley Davidson riders, 20 people. The place is beautiful with allot of charm, warmth and great great service. The people tried do much to make our stay unforgettable, and it will be. We will definitely return here, I guess most of us either as a group or individually . Thank you very much

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The stay was wonderful in every way. Aside from the slight detour into the high mountains of Tréntino that we had to make, the atmosphere was unworldly. We were greeted with great hospitality, and a personal midnight meal of delectable fish and lasagna--specially catered to our vegetarian taste-- overlooking the beautiful mountains and lakes. The rustic-ity of the place is amazing. We slept in a cob and wood paneled room with natural wooden artisan furniture, and freshly pressed comfy linens. Especially in the morning, we would pull the curtains and watch the unreal picturesque sunrise over the Dolomites. Next we walk along a likely centuries-old stone road through the scenic vineyard and orchard to get to the welcoming breakfast room terrace literally hanging over the valley of the Dolomites, where homemade pastries and home grown fruit straight from the orchard and bakery were served.

Room Tip: Rooms uphill are more temperature cool, at least during the summer. Only some rooms have electricity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishmael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trento hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Karinhall
Hotel Karinhall
#1 of 1 in Mattarello
97 reviews
7.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Trento
B&B Hotel Trento
#5 of 36 in Trento
1,091 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Bondone
Hotel Monte Bondone
#1 of 2 in Vaneze
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Buonconsiglio
Hotel Buonconsiglio
#11 of 36 in Trento
370 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Everest
Hotel Everest
#13 of 36 in Trento
138 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dolomiti Chalet Family Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bertagnolli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bertagnolli

Property: Villa Bertagnolli
Address: Strada delle Novaline 42 | Mattarello, 38123, Trento, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Trento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Bertagnolli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Bertagnolli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing