We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, good location, quiet enough, good staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Trento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Trento
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, good location, quiet enough, good staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We took a superior room and were pleased with our choice. The hotel also serves as a smallish conference hotel and we contended with one during our visit.

There were no issues of consequence apart from steering your way through conference smokers clustering in the entrance...tacky.........Shift them along!

THEIR DAYS ARE NUMBERED! .....ha.

The room was clean and beautifully decorated. The staff friendly. Decent enough breakfast. The wifi worked.

The hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the station and very close to the centre. Everything we (old folk) wanted was in walking distance . We had a fine couple of days exploring the painted city which was a delight. The castle was magnificent.

Well done all.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David60UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear David60UK,
Many thanks for leaving a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you loved our location and our service, sorry about the smokers clustering the entrance.
We look forward to you returning soon.
Kindest regards.
Andrea Allegro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    502
    95
    12
    4
See reviews for
286
538
45
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
201 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Trento is a small town in the valley, and Grand Hotel is probably one of the best places to stay there. I have stayed in this Hotel 5-6 times in the past and this time after a long break of 6-7 years. But i was surprised to see the Hotel in exactly the same form of neat , clean shape.
The location of the hotel is excellent, just opposite to the Railway station, its actually a 2 minute walk from the railway station to the entrance of the Hotel.
The reception though small but is friendly and the check in and check out is very fast. The rooms are cosy and very clean always. Though the size of the room is not very big but bathroom is good with a bathtub and spic and span marble fittings. A curtain in the bathtub would have been better to have. The wi-fi in the room is now free and is quite good.
The break fast spread is decent and good enough. The quality of food in the Restaurant is also very good. They have a small bar also in the hall. There are of course other eating options outside within walking distance to change the taste.
Overall its a very nice experience for a business visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sghosh1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sghosh 1967,
many thanks for leaving a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel in the same goos shape as 7 years ago.
Thank you for choosing us once again and for recommending us to fellow travelers, we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Kindest regards.
Andrea Allegro.
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantiano, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was our fifth stay at GHT and it will not be the last. There might be hotels as nice but none of them will have a staff as competent, friendly, and courteous as the staff at Grand Hotel Trento. We love the bar and the staff in the bar, the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and our warm and comfortable room.
Grand Hotel Trento is conveniently located about a two-minute walk from Centro Storico, with shops and stores all over.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Susan N,
It was great to read your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you felt the team were a real asset. I will surely share your comments with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Trento in the future.
Andrea Allegro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Art deco style outside, delightful northern Italian style inside. Very comfortable rooms, some with views of the mountains, well appointed bathrooms, all warm and cosy despite the snow and -2c outside. As usual a warm welcome in the bar and the restaurant was back up to it's old standard.
It was nice to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Gordon R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us.
I hope that we do have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Trento in the near future.
Kindest regards.
Andrea Allegro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Hotel is in a very comfortable location, just in front the train station and at walking distance from the city center. It's actually a nice hotel but after looking at the entrance and the lobby we would have expected something more from the room. Nothing wrong with it however it was a bit small and maybe too basic compare to the expectation I had looking around at the lobby.
The break fast was fine but nothing special. The Wi-Fi is not included in the hotel rate.
All in all a good hotel for business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Dadde74,
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Trento and for telling others about your stay.
As from January 1st, Wi-Fi is included now in the room rate.
We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards.
Andrea Allegro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

stayed over the NY period and this hotel is right in the heart of trento city centre. It is very majestic and grand, and from outside it is all lit up making the hotel truly a beautiful one. Service especially at reception, is quite a rarity in Italy, usually Italians are a bit maybe brusk and not very very helpful...but not here, Fatima and the rest of the team took certainly time to help, guide us for what was happening for NYE (nothing at all in Trento unfortunately this year!!), they even noticed we were departing very early and would have missed b'fast, and they told us they would prepare a b'fast package for us to take with us! The room is very spacious, we had 616, almost on our own on that side of the hotel - just a huge terrace next to us which is absolutely beautiful. You can go on the terrace with a glass of wine and just enjoy the view of the mountains. Room had lots of storage space, a superb bathroom, lovely amenities which were replenished daily (even if we had not used the item), no minibar freaky rules (you can empty it to store your items and no complaints whatsoever), and very very comfy electronic controls for the lights, heating, and DND by your bedside - definitely not 4 star but a 5 star room and service! The best part of it all in my opinion was housekeeping. They would completely overhaul all the room and not wipe around stuff like other even 5 star hotels would do - they would fold all our clothes again, clean the bathroom to a point that not even a speck of water stain was there, replenish everything and leave ample number of different towels for our needs. Once we left our DND sign on and when we came back from a tiring day at 7pm we found out the room was not made, rightly so. We phoned reception thinking there was nothing that can be done as usually hotels (even 5 star) tell you housekeeping work till 5pm, but no, the receptionist told us it can be done straight away. We went for a walk to the city (3 mins) and came back to an amazing welcoming warm room. Thanks! The only negative thing that for me was quite disturbing, being a light sleeper, was that, since the room is close to the lift you can hear the lift mechanism working, not the usual noise from the lifts opening or closing or people coming out, it is like a very low frequency noise like a jackhammer softly working whenever someone uses the lift. Due to this, I did not sleep well for 2 nights. Breakfast is also very limited, almost like continental - only two hot items and service very very slow.They can also improve on the room service menu, as sometimes when it is snowing or raining, and you dont feel like moving from your room, good room service would be good, both for the client and also for the hotel! They have a restaurant but limited choices and also quite pricey! All in all, the best hotel I have ever stayed in all Italy! Would rate it a 5 star!

Room Tip: the higher the room the better the view. ask for a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamaica29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Jamaica29,
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others. Sorry to hear you had a few minor issues, we are aiming for perfection, consistently and whilst I am very pleased our team reacted so positively we will use your feedback as a learning opportunity. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Trento!
I wish you a very happy New Year.
Best regards.
Andrea Allegro.
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Checked in this hotel for one week between new year. Hotel service is excellent and room is very nice and housekeeping are the best ever, they keep room immaculate. Wifi is now free of charge in room (very good connection). Room we had is number 616, which has a very nice view and your practically alone.i.e. close to the roof patio (recommend room very much). Hotel staff are extremely helpful and in your room on both bedside tables you have.controls to do dnd sign and switch off lights almost bulb by bulb with a button. Hotel staff also all speak in very good English. Only 2 faults are: breakfast is not very good and service is not good either and you have very small.choices. Also room is close to lift and u can hear lift working from your room, which is quite noisy. For a 4 star room is extremely good quality, location is excellent and would return back when in trento.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AND170282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear ANDNat121,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel and it is particularly rewarding for us to receive such positive feedback. Thank you.
We wish you a very happy new year.
Andrea Allegro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trento hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Trento
NH Trento
#3 of 36 in Trento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#6 of 36 in Trento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Madruzzo
Villa Madruzzo
#2 of 36 in Trento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buonconsiglio
Hotel Buonconsiglio
#11 of 36 in Trento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Everest
Hotel Everest
#16 of 36 in Trento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Trento
B&B Hotel Trento
#5 of 36 in Trento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Trento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Trento

Property: Grand Hotel Trento
Address: Piazza Dante, 20, 38122, Trento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Trento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Trento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Trento 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel in the historic center of Trento for a stay with maximum comfort. A location equipped with elegant spaces in which you can organize private or business events. A cosy and refined cafe that is an oasis of tranquility in the heart of the city. At the end, relaxation and indulgence in our Wellness Center, to devote to ourselves the attentions that make us feel in form. This is the Grand Hotel Trento. The warmth of tradition and the Trentian hospitality, the style of a fin-de-siècle atmosphere and the efficiency of technology in one of the most beautiful historical centers of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Trento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trento Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing