We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and comfortable”
Review of Grand Hotel Trento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Trento
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent four nights here and were impressed with the hotel and its staff. It was very clean and the decor fresh and although it is decorated in a sort of "Disneyesque Classical" style, this should not put you off. Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in our room rate and this was a buffet offering a good variety of cereals, scrambled eggs, hot bacon, cold meats, cheeses, fruit, bread and pastries.

The location makes it a great place to explore the historic city of Trento. Don't miss the magnificent Duomo and its associated museum, the castle (seat of the Prince Bishops) and its tower containing the frescos of the months of the year. This is helped as the hotel offers guests a free tourist card giving free admission to museums and galleries across Trentino and local transport - a little thing but a nice touch.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room if you are staying a few days. You get a nice seating area in whi...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Nick S,
Thank you for the excellent review!
We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
All the best!
Andrea Allegro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Trento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

A very nice hotel conveniently situated a short, level walk from the old town.
Professional, welcoming English speaking staff - nothing too much trouble.
Our bedroom and bathroom were huge and spotlessly clean - aircon and wifi OK - very reasonably priced hotel !
Only negative comment - there is a large roof terrace but guests are not allowed to use it (according to reception) because there are insurance issues ??

Overall, a really nice hotel with style, and highly recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rotiel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear rotiel321,
Thank you for sharing you feedback with travel community! It’s great to know that your stay with us was an enjoyable experience and that you found the hotel location convenient to your needs.
I do not quite understand your comment on the roof terrace, you can use it for sure. I will see with the reception what sort of information they gave you.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Trento!
All the best!
Andrea Allegro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel was built in 1938-1940, it is one of the few examples of architecture left of that period. It is really exceptional from that point of view. The hotel and the rooms are up to 4 star standards, especially the bathroom is luxurious. Very nice bar, it all has this peculiar thirties athmosphere. The hotel offers a free city card, giving access to public transport and musea. Trento is lovely, by the way, and the city centre is really close to the hotel. For those arriving by car, the hotel has a very good underground parking (11 euros per day). Breakfast was nice, but the breakfast room was a bit crowded (it is rather small).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delagioventu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear delagioventu,
Thank you for choosing out hotel on your trip to Trento! I am happy that your stay was a pleasant experience and you enjoyed the hotel athmosphere and its location. We will be looking forward to welcome you back one day!
Sincerely,
Andrea Allegro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Really old school hotel with funny decoration ( classic / tacky ? ).

Rooms were pretty clean. Zero smell ( really important ) and with everything we needed.

Breakfast was pretty good and overall the service on both restaurants was above the average.

Internet connection: Pretty good. better than most of the US hotels I've stayed at.

Spacious bathroom, pretty clean and organized.

Only thing I've truly missed was a stronger air conditioning machine.

Walkable? A lot. pretty close to the Duomo and other main attractions. 10-12 minutes from the Muse area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 620marceloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Marcelo O,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am glad that you were able to enjoy the comforts of the room and the convenience of our central location during your visit. We hope to see you the next time you are back in Trento! Best Regards,
Andrea Allegro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I've just spent 2 nights at the Grand hotel in Trento, and I can highly recommend it . The rooms were great , the bathroom was superb with a excellent bath to relax in ,the staff were as good and helpful as anywhere I have stayed .
The breakfast was the best I've had this trip which was a 3 hotel trip .
Plus it's right in the centre of town and it's 200 mtrs from the train station .
I will bring my wife back here one day as I think the town and hotel are a treat not to be missed .

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Denbo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Denbo_10,
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that the hotel location was convenient to your needs.
We appreciate your review and recommendation and hope to welcome you and your wife back in the future and be able to provide you with another memorable experience.
All the best!
Andrea Allegro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a high standard and quite luxurious hotel and overall, a good place to stay. But the décor is rather heavy and overbearing, especially in the public areas. If you are looking for charm and character - something that matches the atmosphere of Trento itself, this isn't for you. On the positive side, it is extremely well located for the historic centre of the town. and the hotel participates in a scheme that gives you free passes to museums and other historic attractions in the town and surroundings. This can save you a lot of money so make sure you ask for it. The staff were very helpful over this The new Renzo Piano Science Museum is particularly good, as are the underground, preserved roman town excavations.
Breakfast was good but with one major downside, for a coffee addict like me anyway. The breakfast coffee came out of a nescafe machine and if it wasn't instant coffee, it certainly tasted like it!
The bedroom was comfortable, well furnished and large but the air conditioning was very noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Ian S,
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. It’s good to know that your stay was overall a pleasant experience and that hotel location was convenient to your points of interest.
I hope that maybe one day you will stay with us again!
All the best!
Andrea Allegro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our room was very nice with lots of space and nicely furnished (although it was *very* red).

Although it overlooked the square opposite the station, it was very quiet.

The hotel seems to be more tailored towards business travel but the room was comparatively good value and the breakfast buffet was good.

If you stay at this hotel, you're entitled to a "Trento Card" which gives you free public transport in the town for the duration of your stay and access to quite a few museums & the cable car. I mention this because we weren't given one on arrival but, after asking about it at the nearby Tourist Office, we got one from reception.

Location is good, very convenient for the railway station and only a short stroll into the heart of the town through quiet streets.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREA A, Direttore at Grand Hotel Trento, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi George Y,
Thank you for sharing comments with travel community. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed convenience of hotel location and you enjoyed comfort of the room.
Thank you for mentioning the "Trento Card", it should have been handed yo you upon arrival, I apologize about that.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back one day!
All the Best!
Andrea Allegro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trento hotels
3.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Trento
B&B Hotel Trento
#5 of 36 in Trento
1,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buonconsiglio
Hotel Buonconsiglio
#10 of 36 in Trento
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Trento
NH Trento
#3 of 36 in Trento
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#6 of 36 in Trento
562 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Madruzzo
Villa Madruzzo
#2 of 36 in Trento
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Everest
Hotel Everest
#14 of 36 in Trento
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Trento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Trento

Address: Piazza Dante, 20, 38122, Trento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Trento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Trento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trento
Price Range: £75 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Trento 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel in the historic center of Trento for a stay with maximum comfort. A location equipped with elegant spaces in which you can organize private or business events. A cosy and refined cafe that is an oasis of tranquility in the heart of the city. At the end, relaxation and indulgence in our Wellness Center, to devote to ourselves the attentions that make us feel in form. This is the Grand Hotel Trento. The warmth of tradition and the Trentian hospitality, the style of a fin-de-siècle atmosphere and the efficiency of technology in one of the most beautiful historical centers of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Trento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trento Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing