We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent & lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Certificate of Excellence
the Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent & lovely”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very happy with this hotel. My second time there. 5 minutes from the train station and 5 minutes from the delightful old town. Clean and comfortable. Homey. Friendly staff. No complaints about anything. A lovely room with balcony (room 252). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: it is lovely to get a room with a balcony -- we had room 252 and were very happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    250
    44
    9
    5
See reviews for
73
150
49
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have spent just two nights at the "America" and was pleased in all respects. The room was clean (although I spent an hour or so to vent the clorox smell of room maintenance) and spacious; also very quiet as it was facing the backyard (the backyard is ugly; but what can one expect --- Versailles?). The staff is very friendly, and the self-service breakfast excellent as it also caters to special dietary needs: always a sign of elevated standards. There are just 4 parking places, but the hotel has an excellent deal with the local garage just two blocks away. If I had to come to Trento again, I imagine I could choose this place again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssirca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel America is an easy 5-7 minute walk from the station and is in a central but fairly quiet location. Our room was spacious and comfortable.
It is a very short walk to the historical buildings, shops, cafes and restaurants of Trento.
A good nearby restaurant is the Due Mori,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby_of_Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

There are only a handful of hotels in the historic district of Trento, and the Hotel America happens to be the best three-star by far, and competitive with the four-star properties. Its strenghts are: (i) location (400 meters from the train station: exiting the station, walk LEFT, then turn RIGHT onto Via Gazzoletti, past the stately Palazzo della Provincia and the modern Palazzo della Regione, until the street dead ends at the front door of the America; 500 meters from the Duomo; 250 meters from the Castello del Buonconsiglio); (ii) super-clean, especially the immaculate bathrooms; (iii) extremely professional and cordial staff (including night porter and breakrast room personnell); (iv) fantastic variety of breakfast items, all of high quality and easily matching the level of a 4-star hotel; (v) hotel restaurant; and (vi) clean and functional rooms. Room rates are reasonable, and the 5-minute walk from the train station (6 minutes from the Duomo) make the Hotel America an easy and logical choice. Just steps from the hotel is a small, modern grocery store (CONAD), and several good restaurants are also within easy walking distance. No negatives whatsoever that I could discern. Guests who can read Italian will enjoy learning the engrossing history of the hotel's founder and his experiences in the rough-and-tumble Wyoming of the early 1920's. A booklet is provided in each guestroom. Trento is also a great small town well worth a visit, whether for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, away from Via Torre Verde
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel was decent. The rooms were small and decently well apportioned. The matress was not great. The breakfast was typical Italian continental fare. The plus was how close it was to the delightful old town and to the rail station. No wifi in the room was a pain, though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurWander-FilledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,732 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,058 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We arrived by train and it took less than 5 minutes to walk to Hotel America, which is also just a few minutes walk to the cathedral and other sights of interest. There are many bus stops in the area as well as a post office and a large supermarket.

The hotel stands on a busy street, but we had a quiet, cozy room with modern decor on the third floor at the rear with a partial view of the nearby castle. A small terrace held two chairs, a table and much well-tended greenery. Inside, there were two firm beds, two chairs, a small flatscreen TV, a good-sized desk area, a large closet with ample hangers. a safe and a small refrigerator. The modern bathroom had an excellent shower but no bathtub and virtually no counter space. The cleaning crew ensured daily (we stayed for six nights) that everything remained immaculate. Unfortunately, I had constant problems connecting to the free wi-fi in our room. I often had to go to the ground-floor lounge to use the free desk-top computer there.

The breakfast buffet overwhelmed with high-quality choices that seemed never-ending, from delicious apple cake to scrambled eggs. A machine offered Italian- and American-style coffee, but I quickly learned that staff behind the counter would make a fresh cup of cappucino when requested by a guest. I ate two dinners at the hotel and both meals were very good, which I didn't expect from a hotel restaurant.

There are a washer and a dryer in the basement, available to guests for 5E each. You pay at the reception desk and receive two tokens to use in the machines. Detergent is supplied automatically when the washing machine is in use. An ironing board and an iron are also in this area for guests to use.

All staff that I interacted with, at the reception desk and in the dining room, spoke English and often went out of their way to offer the information/assistance that I needed.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Hotel America is located just 5 minutes on foor opposite from the main train station of Trento. Stayed there for two night, got a room in the attic, very small (single room reservation) but very cute, warm and still very convenient with some view to the mountains. Service is particularly good, stuff is very friendly and they do their best to communicate with non-Italian guests in English.
Breakfast was tasty with good variety (especially desserts) and coffee was good. I would stay again, given the price, it is a good value for money if you look for a convenient stay in Trento close to the center.
Dinner at the hotel restaurant was excellent, liked the on-house starter and sparkling wine!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Trento
Grand Hotel Trento
#4 of 36 in Trento
1,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Trento
NH Trento
#3 of 36 in Trento
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buonconsiglio
Hotel Buonconsiglio
#11 of 36 in Trento
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Madruzzo
Villa Madruzzo
#2 of 36 in Trento
829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aquila d'Oro
Hotel Aquila d'Oro
#15 of 36 in Trento
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Everest
Hotel Everest
#14 of 36 in Trento
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Property: Hotel America
Address: Via Torre Verde 50, 38122, Trento, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Trento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel America 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel America, in the heart of Trento historical centre. At a short walking distance from Castle del Buonconsiglio and the Duomo, it is the perfect hotel if you have business in town or if you are an art or nature loving tourist.The Hotel, which includes a bar and a restaurant, has 67 comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms (new ones will be added soon) all have insuite bathrooms with tub shower hair-dryer, satellite color TV, telephone, minibar, air conditioning and internet wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Trento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing