We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Certificate of Excellence
Edelsfeld
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, good value”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We had reserv. for 3 nights in late February, and arrived at the hotel on a Friday night. Parking in front of the hotel was full, but we were able to unload at the entrance, take our bags to our room, and return to move our car. Checked into our room on the 3rd floor, and found the carpeting to be worn/old, and the bed very firm. Returned to ask for another room and was informed that the hotel was full, but I was advised that a room change would be possible in the morning. After breakfast on Sat. the clerk informed me that I could change to a room on the 5th floor. That room was more spacious, the bed much more comfortable, and it had a terrazza with a beautiful view of the old town and the Dolomiti mountains. The staff was courteous and attentive to every one of our requests. The breakfast buffet is pretty complete, and dining in the glass enclosed attrium is very nice. On a late breakfast Sunday morning there were no prepared eggs, so we requested eggs, and the staff promptly prepared them exactly as requested. The coffee machine had been shut off when I went for a second cup, so the gal attending to the coffee bar immediately prepared a fresh cappuccino for me. Parking is avail. in a multistory parking garage 2 city blocks down, for a reasonable price (5 euro per exit, regardless of duration). We parked for 2.5 days and paid only 5 Euros. On Sunday night there was a space in front of the hotel, so there was no charge thereafter. Wifi was available at no additional charge, but the clerk must provide you with a user name and password to enter, and I had no problem logging on. Each room has a small paperback book written in Italian with b&w photos, outlining the life of the owner, his family tree, his travel to Wyoming via Ellis Island, NY, and his return to Trento after 10 years of working in the mines in Wyoming. I don't speak or read Italian, but I was able to decipher the major details and found it all fascinating. This is a family owned and managed property, and they go out of their way to please their customers. The hotel is right on the very edge of the old town, and a very easy walk to all historical sites, including the Castello del Buonconsiglio, the Duomo, public transport, etc. Within a very short walk from the hotel is the underground Roman city of Tridentum. We did not discover this until Sunday night, and the museum is closed on Mondays, but it would have been worth the visit.
The train station and bus station are about an 8 minute walk from the hotel - straight shot out the front door, and you keep walking directly till you run into both. Buses are 90 cents per person and tickets are good for 70 minutes after initial validation. We were able to take the #4 bus to a large shopping center called the COOP, and return with the same ticket. Just beyond the train station, and walking on the elevated street over the train tracks, is a cable car. For only 90 cents per person you can take the cable car up to a mountain that gives you a spectacular birdseye view, on a clear day, of the entire city of Trento, the Dolomiti mountains, a war memorial, the motorway, and the river Adige. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bavarianride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    250
    44
    9
    5
See reviews for
73
150
49
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We have stayed at this hotel twice, summer and winter, both times we were very happy with the service, accomodations and location. It is clean, well maintained, the staff speak very little English but they are friendly and try to be helpful. The rooms are a little on the small side as are the bathrooms. But the bed was comfortable, there is plenty of room for a suitcase and we travel with our two dogs so they were welcomed and there was enough room for them too. Breakfast is very good and served in a pretty glass enclosed attrium. The hotel is just around the corner from the main castle of the city and just a minute or two walk to the old centre of the town and the cathedral. There is a parking garage about 3 minutes walk and the hotel has a special low rate for guests. I look forward to staying there again which is the best compliment you can pay a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We found Hotel America by chance & were pleased we did.A very central location within walking distance to the old centre with a great choice of good restaurants.We stayed 2 nights,our room was situated at the back so was very quite & also very comfortable with a good size bathroom.All the staff were friendly & helpful,we loved the generous breakfast & we even had a free car park right at the front of the Hotel.We would stay there again as the position is fabulous & very good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This would be about a 10 minute walk from the train station. Staff were very pleasant and courteous from the reservation process through to checkout. The room was comfortable and had a unique, pleasant wall painting! The carpet was old and dingy; some guests might want to bring slippers. The bathroom was modern and immaculate. The air conditioning worked well, and it was HOT in July 2010. The breakfast buffet provided many choices including eggs and gluten-free or sugar-free items. Near high-end shopping. Major square was a 10 minute walk (for me as an older person). My room was on the fourth floor facing the street, but noise was not a problem. Hotel did not charge me extra for Internet, but you needed a code from the front desk every 24-hours. I had trouble logging on at first. It may have been because I got the code in the morning and did not try to use it until four or five hours later. Desk gave me a second code and from then on I had good access from my room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Highly recommendable business hotel, 5 minutes from train station, with comfortable rooms and a very nice restaurant.
Service is careful, everyone of the staff is willing to help in any possible way.
Breakfast buffet is rich and tasty.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cibernella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I've speent a week in Hotel America during a business trip.The hotel was booked by my company, so I did not choose it directly, but it turned out to be a very googd choice. The hotel can easily be reached walking from the railways station and it is withing walking distance from the center, with many restaurants and stores, from the castello del Buonconsiglio and there is a bus stop nearby. It has also a restaurant, in case you don't wanto to go out for dinner.
The athmosphere in the entrance is warm, as are the local personel. My room was small, but nicley furnished, and clean, and it has a nice view over the roofs of the nearby buldings. Maybe the walls are a little thin, so I could hear the TV in the neighbour room, but otherwise the room was quiet.
A buffet breakfast is available, with a choce of freash bread, ham and cheese, sweets, including cakes and strudel, cerelas, and, important for me, fresh fruit and yogurt. A self service machine is available for tea and coffee, but you can ask for a capuccino or an espresso, too.
As the company who invited payed for my room I cannot comment on the price, but the listed price for my room seemed good for the quality of the hotel.
The only minus is the internet connection, which is not free of charge.
I must say that the quality of hotels in Trento is generally good, but I can certainly recommend hotel America and will consider returning here during my next trip to Trento.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maichi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Our room was clean and pleasant. Prices are reasonable, though not a great bargain. The breakfast buffet was extensive and quite good-- a full American-style breakfast, rather than the typical coffee and rolls. Everyone at the front desk spoke fluent English, and they were helpful with storing bags for a week while we were backpacking in the Dolomites. No complaints about this place; I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuppetV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Trento
Grand Hotel Trento
#4 of 36 in Trento
1,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Trento
NH Trento
#3 of 36 in Trento
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buonconsiglio
Hotel Buonconsiglio
#11 of 36 in Trento
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Madruzzo
Villa Madruzzo
#2 of 36 in Trento
830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aquila d'Oro
Hotel Aquila d'Oro
#15 of 36 in Trento
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Everest
Hotel Everest
#14 of 36 in Trento
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Property: Hotel America
Address: Via Torre Verde 50, 38122, Trento, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Trento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Trento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel America 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel America, in the heart of Trento historical centre. At a short walking distance from Castle del Buonconsiglio and the Duomo, it is the perfect hotel if you have business in town or if you are an art or nature loving tourist.The Hotel, which includes a bar and a restaurant, has 67 comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms (new ones will be added soon) all have insuite bathrooms with tub shower hair-dryer, satellite color TV, telephone, minibar, air conditioning and internet wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Trento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing