We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incomparable New Year dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vecchia Aosta

Vecchia Aosta
Ranked #150 of 285 Restaurants in Aosta
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
SanktPeterburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incomparable New Year dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Thank you for a wonderful romantic New Year dinner. Very tasty food and desserts, great wines. Bottle of sparkling wine as a NY present.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DmitryZagrivny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    120
    49
    34
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Romantic, good food and service focusing on the local fare.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

After walking through the town we had a few glasses of wine and then decided on Ristorante Vecchio Aosta in the center right beside the area where they were digging up the old Roman ruins. On Fridays, they invite the public to ask questions of the archeologists as they work.  

We started with glasses of the local prosecco and had a barbera with our meal. My wife started her meal again with poached egg with truffles on a bed of asparagus in Parmagian sauce and I had thinly sliced duck breast with aged balsamic salad. We shared a tagliatelle in a red sauce. She had spiced beef with cloves and cinnamon in a red wine sauce on polenta and I had the pork tenderloin with apples and wine vinegar. Both are traditional regional dishes. All the dishes were nicely done, but felt the starters and the pasta were particularly outstanding.

We had hoped to eat at Ristorante Xavier as it had venison on the menu, but it was closed so we returned to Ristorante Vecchio Aosta from our first night here. My wife started with her usual and I had cod with radicchio. We shared the risotto with zucchini and both of us had the osso bocco . All were done perfectly to our tastes. The proprietor, Danielo, is a wonderful host. We tried Geispi, a local digestif made from wild flowers. The smell reminded me of the forest and it was very tasty although I would not make a habit of it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redroverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blonay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic place...and excellent typical dishes from the valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The restaurant sits on the antic walls of the city of Aosta. The view at the first floor is just magic at night. The service is cordial and the choice quite large, mostly typical dishes cooked with style.Prices are quite affordable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marie1946485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful old house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Had a quick lunch, but guess this place is better when you've got more time and is worth a visit for a dinner. The restaurant is situated in an old house which looks just beautiful from outside and is very charming inside.
The food was good and the service as well!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maria_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
597 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Very VERY mixed bag”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

The first time we visited it was a blessing, as other places were already closing down. And we liked the food a lot ... and the location is nice too.

But the second time, when we specifically brought out of country guests to experience this place, it was a disaster! Service was unfriendly, the 'grilled' piece of meat came pan-fried (something I would be ashamed to offer my family) and then there was the discussion if charging 2.5€ as coperto for a toddler was fair (snotty reply '2.50€ means nothing to me, I don;t know why you complain")

It is a shame, the location is nice, the first time we were there was great even though we were pretty late for the usual tourist lunch crowd ... but the second time .. well .. we never went back .. big surprise ... We felt ashamed we brought friends there. (actually our last visit was July 06, but the TA system would not let me put in that date)

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vecchia Aosta also viewed

 
 

Been to Vecchia Aosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing