We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of La Roche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Roche
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Aosta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very much recommended. Good service, lovely atmosphere, good value for money. I would have liked try the sauna in the garden or the hot tub after the long drive over the alps but didnt have time. Cherries from the owners garden where delicious.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 396petrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for one night on a trip through Italy. The location is great for mountain views but it up a very long and windy hill so not easy to get to town unless you have a car.

We booked a studio but were upgraded to a one bed apartment which was great. The rooms were generous in size and the bathroom was good. The bed was big and comfy but the mattress was a bit hard for my liking.

Service was good and we got helpful directions on where to park on our visit to town.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel has mountain views whereas the otherside doesn't so make sure you book a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_B055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for three days in a mountain view room. It was a good size, very clean, with a kitchenette. It had an outside terrace. Breakfast was amazing, fresh eggs and cherries from the owner's garden, and lots of other local produce. And very good coffee. The owners were charming and helpful. We ate up the hill at Pappagrand and were very pleased with it. Extremely good value for money.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Good location, quiet place, close to the center of Aosta (if you have a car). Hotel is clean, comfortable. Awsome breakfast... i went with some friends and we all agreed that it was a perfect place to go on like a honeymoon or with your someone special..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennhen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A very nice little hotel just up the hill from Aosta with a view that can't be beat. The couple whom I presume are the owners are very sweet accommodating people, even though the gentleman spoke almost no english, he was quite helpful.

The residence is older but is really kept up nicely. The rooms are decent sized with good lighting, and the bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

I would definitely stay there if visiting Aosta.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

On the way from Ceresole Reale (on the other side of the mountains) to Milan to visit family, our plans were to stay in Aosta just for three nights (June 9-12), a chance to show to my wife another part of Italy. Since we were already in Italy when we decided to visit region, we had little time to do a thorough search of hotels in town. We booked La Roche through the Val d'Aosta tourism site, based on some positive reviews (at the time La Roche did not have as many good reviews as it does now). We did not have great expectations.

The Hotel La Roche exceeded any expectation we might have had. A clean, spacious, comfortable and unpretentious apartment, decorated with care and the personal touch of the owner, la signora Piera. We had read a couple of TA reviews, one mentioning "dated" decor, another one, in Italian, referred to the bathroom as "restructured" but without "quel qualcosa di piu" that was expected. Once at the La Roche, we were left wondering about people's expectations. The "official" pictures on line, and the many contribution by customers, accurately represent the ambiance, room, decor, etc. of the hotel.

La Roche is nicely located above the city of Aosta (having a car is strongly recommended), and provides a great base to explore the region any time of the year. Everyday, after extensive touring/traveling/hiking, we spent a few hrs relaxing and sipping local wine enjoying the magnificent view from the balcony/garden. Since we are light breakfast eaters, we made use of the breakfast option only once and found the offerings fresh and abundant. The kitchenette we had in our apartment was well equipped and allowed us to prepare nice evening meals. We were touring just at the beginning of the season and we found the area and the hotel very quiet (which we loved it).

Piera and Riccardo, the couple who owns and manages La Roche, were simply superb. Piera, fluent in English, was very friendly and helpful, and spent lots of time to give us directions to the local fairly huge supermarket as well as to sites we could visit. Very patient, she cared about the hotel and that was noticeable in so many little touches. Of course, she also expected customers to treat it as it were their home (which we did). While stopping by the office to ask for advice, we frequently interrupted her reading online reviews and addressing, within reason, comments and suggestions for improvements made by past customers. That is what we would call "caring", not to mention "business smart"! Our only regret is having missed Riccardo playing the accordion…

We had originally planned to stay only three nights. We were able to extend our stay for another three. That is a reflection of how much we liked the hotel and how comfortable we were there. La Roche is definitely "the" place to recommend to anyone visiting Aosta.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roman_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The appartments are comfortable and are well equipped. It is out of town so a car is needed to get there. It is a good place for children with a garden and play area. Breakfast excellent and owners friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aosta hotels
1.1 mi away
HB Aosta Hotel
HB Aosta Hotel
#2 of 18 in Aosta
492 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 2 in Pollein
210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
#1 of 18 in Aosta
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cecchin
Hotel Cecchin
#4 of 18 in Aosta
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Pageot
Hotel Le Pageot
#11 of 18 in Aosta
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roche

Address: Localita Signayes, 11100, Aosta, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Aosta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Aosta
Price Range: £35 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Roche 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roche Hotel is surrounded by greenery which offers a magnificent view of Mount Emilius, the mountains of Graian, located in Valle d'Aosta, Height: 3559 m. LaRoche-Appartement hotel offers its guests the electric charge for the car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Roche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing