We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roma

Hotel Roma
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Aosta
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so good...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

I came here on a school ski trip and we didn't have such a good experience as everyone else seems to. The rooms were very small and cramped, ours felt as if it had had an extra bed squeezed in for us because there weren't enough rooms. They didn't seem properly cleaned, there was a huge amount of dust under the beds (which may sound very petty but if it wasn't cleaned there, what else wasn't cleaned?) Two of the hinges on the main door were broken. There were no easily accessible plug sockets (one way up on the wall, one in the bathroom), The bathroom was tiny, had mould up the wall and one of the insulating shields from the electricity cables came off (again may sound petty but could be very dangerous). One of my friends had a shower that didn't work. We did, however, see some of the teacher's rooms at the end of the trip and they were bigger, lighter and much better cared for, with bathrooms that were clean
We also had trouble with the food. I'm vegetarian and there were several of us on the trip that were. The food we recieved was very unpleasant and we ended up buying food from the supermarket and keeping it in our rooms so we wouldn't go hungry. On the upside, the starters were huge which meant we could get away with just eating the starters and leaving the main courses.
We were a party of girls, aged between fourteen and eighteen. Although the owners are meant to be very friendly, especially towards young people, they seemed to us quite hostile. However they did seem fine with being polite to the teachers and other guests.
Overall, although we enjoyed the skiing, the hotel was not a great experience and maybe should be avoided if you have a party with teenagers or vegetarians in.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
5 Thank metalhead16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    69
    14
    14
    0
See reviews for
13
52
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

I have just got back home form, a school ski-ing trip to Aosta.
I must say that my first impressions of Hotel Roma were not superb as it is surrounded by a few run-down buildings. However, it is a completely different matter inside. Graziella, the owner, is extremely helpful and can speak good english. The room's were cosy and of a reasonable size. All rooms came with an ensuite which was very clean and modern. I found the rooms very cosy, and the TV with satellite was also an added bonus.
The reception was very welcoming, with a bar also there for you to purchase any drinks.
Also, I found that the food was to a high standard and as we were a school grou, the staff always offerd us several more servings. Particularly of the tasty pasta dishes, which were often served as starters.
Aside from the lack of views, the Hotel Roma is also located just next to the town centre, with beautiful architecture surrounding all of the shops which came in many varieties. From chain shops, to small family-run souvenir gift-shops. The hotel's location is also perfect for sight-seeing, and shopping.
All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Hotel Roma.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Views
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SiteSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2007

Did a one night stopover at Hotel Roma in Aosta en route home to UK from Italy. Arrived late in the day and decided to stay in the town to be near restaurants and the old main street. Hotel Roma is situated just outside one of the old gates to the town literally a couple of mins walk to the main street full of bars, restaurants and pretty little shops of all types. Walked in off the street and paid 66 euros for a double room and 6 euros for secure garage parking. Breakfast was extra.

Room was fine, clean, smelt slightly of smoke until we opened the windows, but the bathroom was new and spotlessly clean. Had a comfortable night after a great meal in Pizzeria Moderno (walk up the main street from the old gate near the Roma and it's a fair way up on the left hand side). Looked around many of the older more quaint restaurants which seemed quite quiet, but Pizzeria Moderno was buzzing and full of locals, with larger familes dining upstairs. The pizzas are baked in a real stone oven.

Breakfast the next morning was very quiet but fine - usual buffet . Staff were very helpful and very obliging. Overall, I think it was pleasant enough and good value for money as long as you don't mind being in by midnight as the hotel is locked then and you foresake the mountain views from the hotels out of town for the convenience of being near to the lovely old centre of Aosta - a delightful place. Also, the Roman ruins were very interesting - apparently Aosta is known as the 'Rome of the North'. A good stopover!

  • Liked — Location near to the old part of Aosta
  • Disliked — Nothing really - it was fine
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowbridgelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2006

The hotel is home from home!! What a pleasure to stay with Graziella and her family in her lovely and homely hotel. The hospitality is at its best when you stay at the Hotel Roma!! The food - what can I say - Mamma Mia - its delicious!!!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2006

We have just come back from a school skiing trip to hotel roma in aosta and it was quite good except for the food which was appalling. The rooms were of a fair size which was good. There was an en suite in every room which consisted of a bath with a shower over it, a toilet and a sink. The hotel was fairly quiet at night times. A few people were ill during the course of the week. I would go to the skiing resort again but maybe stay at a better hotel. I feel that the standard of food let down the quality of the hotel. The town was less than five minutes walk away from the hotel and was quite a friendly and laid back place. There were a large selection of bars and restaurants. The town was of a fair price and there was a lot to do and a lot to keep small kids and adults busy.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aosta hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aosta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
#1 of 18 in Aosta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Turin
Hotel Turin
#13 of 18 in Aosta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pageot
Hotel Le Pageot
#11 of 18 in Aosta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Al Caminetto
Al Caminetto
#12 of 18 in Aosta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
HB Aosta Hotel
HB Aosta Hotel
#3 of 18 in Aosta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milleluci
Hotel Milleluci
#2 of 18 in Aosta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Via Torino 7, 11100, Aosta, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Aosta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Aosta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing