We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located by the Cretaz Chair lift, a few minutes walk, almost ski in & out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Breuil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Breuil
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Located by the Cretaz Chair lift, a few minutes walk, almost ski in & out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is my second visit to Cervinia, so I was looking forward to ski-ing in such e great ski area again. And was delighted with this hotel which added to a great week. A few minutes walk from the coach park where we were dropped off, and a few minutes walk to the Cretaz chair lift every morning. Although it is located by the pistes it is not ski in or out, as there is a ditch between the hotel and the pistes. There is a outdoor skating rink besides the hotel also.

It is a 4 storey hotel, modern and purpose built slightly hidden amongst some more traditional chalets. Inside it is very pleasant to the eye and well thought out for the purpose of a ski holiday hotel. The receptionist/owner was very welcoming, and immediately worked out we are a group of 4, even though our bookings were all made separately. And arranged for us to sit together straight away for our first meal; we arrived at dinner time. The waiter welcomed us and advised us that we will be given a better table the next day, and it happened as promised, a table with a view of the pistes for the rest of the week.

Two of us were on single rooms on the first and third floor with no neighbours and ensuite showers. Our couple friends were on the second floor with a balcony, ensuite with shower but no bath. Rooms were well decorated with TV and Sky, and hairdryer. If anything too warm so we all turned down our radiators. The rooms were very well cleaned each day.

The only noise experienced was a little music from the ice rink next door one evening. Otherwise very good.

The hotel bar is small and low key with a variety of seating from sofas to small tables for playing card games.etc. The lounge area is reasonably large with a enclosed TV room which is used more as an additional more intimate lounge. Free WiFi connection is offered primarily in the reception area (seatings available), and to some extent in the lounge also although reception is intermittent.

The whole hotel is warm, and although full, never felt crowded anywhere. Breakfasts is buffet and continental style. Real Coffee is served although not of great quality. Apricot croissants area served with bread rolls and selection of charcuterie, and breakfast cereals, yoghurts and various types of fruits.

Dinner is three courses with choices of starters and main courses with plated desserts buffet style so you can help yourself. Dinner is of good standard and good decent portions and we came away happy each evening. (If you are skipping lunch and expecting a big feed in the evening, you may be disappointed). You will be offered bottled water but jugs of tap water will be served upon requests. Afternoon Teas is not served.

The waiting staff were attentive and remembered our likes and looked after us very well.

The Boot room is amongst the best I have come across with heated boot rack for almost everyone. And the Ski rests organised like the shops with sliding racks and poles holders, as well. And a couple of snowboard racks.


There do offer massages and various spa facilities but very low key and no selling. we did not make use of these so unable to comment.

SKI TIPS.

When you ski over to Zermatt, take note of the last cabin car back and time yourself. Zermatt is over 3 mountains so quite a lot of getting around. But rewarded with great long runs. Expect to experience strong winds as you are very high up, and the times of your connection back will change hour by hour. Carry your passport with you just in case you can't get back due to very bad weather, as you will need it to check into a hotel. This would be a cheaper option as to get back by taxi or helicopter will costs you +£500. At the end of the Cable car, there is a long walk through a tunnel to arrive at the peak at 3840m; snow is usually the best here; the run is short though. But it is a great starting point to ski all the way down to Valtournenche (via the No 1 Red run), reportedly over 28 km in distance.

There are also 2 T Bars option to get back to Cervinia from Zermatt; the first take 20 minutes, and if you know where you can drop off after a few minutes on the 2nd T bar, to get back to Cervinia. It will be cool to cold on this T Bar drag lift so zipped up first. This may remain open when the cable car is closed. We actually prefer this option.

Cervinia is a great ski area to match Zermatt and do not overlook Valtournenche (enough for a day's ski-ing and better protected from the winds). We have developed a tradition of stopping for a coffee break at restaurant "Bontadini" (Not sure of spelling) at the end of the day for a leisurely very long descend down to the bottom, with no lifts to catch. If you ski down No: 7, you will arrive at the Telecabin/ Cable Car station in Cervinia above the square by the church and Hotel Breuil. It is a few minutes walk down but we did not try to walk up; we preferred to walk to the Cretaz Chair lift. Run No: 13 will take you down very near this Cable Car station so do not panic when you arrive here. It is literally a few minutes "U" walk.

This is a great area with lots of long Reds and Blues, but only a few short Blacks.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunworshipper003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    52
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
26
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
holmfirth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

This review is purely for the staff at the Breuil. Rarely do you meet people in this world who are as friendly as Francesco at the Breuil, apart from the fact that he was a superb waiter and extremely efficient, he took time to speak to us and indeed share a laugh with us each day.
He made our holiday very special. A mention also for Claudio and Robert, very pleasant, efficient people who again contributed to a lovely experience. Good luck guys in all that you do. xxx

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in Febuary for our annual ski holiday. A good hotel with a reasonably sized room with three single beds. We used one for our ski clothes. The shower room was adequate and clean and these was lots of hot water. The room was warm and the beds comfortable. The ski room was a basic room that we left our skis in and we took our boots to our room at night to make sure that they were dry and warm in the morning. The food was good with good service from the staff. We went to the bar loung a couple of times which was ok and enjoyed a wander round the town in the evening. The location is reasonably central a short walk to the shops and supermarket if you want to get snacks and drinks. The lower slopes and lifts a a five minute walk, however the walk to the cable car station is up hill and takes about ten minutes with a substantial que for the cabins first thing in the morning. We had an all area pass which we used to ski on both the Italian and Swiss sides of the resorts. Be prepared to wait for the electric bus and walk on the Swiss side if you wish to access the two other resorts in Switzerland. It is worth taking a day to explore that side of the linked resort.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Macleod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The staff are pleasant, friendly and attentative (a definate 5 rating) ensuring your stay is as good as possible. Roberto was especially nice ensuring that our needs were met at all times. He knew we were on our honeymoon and went the extra step of giving me flowers....which was very thoughtful. the little touches made all the difference. For example, on our first night we used a blanket as a secondary pillow (didnt really want to ask for anothet one as it was late at night). The next day we went out and when we got back we both had a secondary pillow (without asking). We had a fantastic view of the matterhorn at our breakfast table and the food is good. Staff become familiar with your requirements giving us tea and coffee on arrival. Breakfast was a combination of cereals, meats, cheese, yoghurts, fruits, biscuits and crossaints. Evening meal is 3 course and there is a selection to chose from. This is done at breakfast. bar a little too expensive. Underfloor heating was a bonus throughout the hotel. Whilst in the hotel I spent all my time in my socks! Ski's and boots are kept under the hotel in the garage. becareful though as it isnt lit too well. the walk to the nearest lift, in your ski boots, is about 4-5 minutes. We are definately looking at stopping here again next year.

Room Tip: The rooms are warm. Leaving the window open gives outside noise (drunks going home and the piste ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarfaceseaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Last minute Crystal ski deal. For: Excellent location literally 100 yards from the main chair lift, near main street and shops,restaurants etc but still very quiet, views of slopes & Matterhorn from balcony, rooms very clean, comfortable, decent size, maid service daily, good sized ski & boot room, staff helpful & friendly & hotel has WIFI. Against: Meals let it down, were only average if on half board, cooked in large batches not to order, most things slightly over cooked, breakfast only average: cereals, fruit and small selection of cooked meats only, no proper bread to toast. Overall food okay if you on a budget & don't want to eat out at all. If you can eat out MUST try restaurant 'Jour et Nuit' owned & run by Luca a ski instructor, food is out of this world, you have to go at least once you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room with view of main slopes and the Matterhorn. 2nd floor ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgeofthehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just got back from staying a week at the Breuill, Cervinia as we did last year. We never had any doubt where we'd stay this year. It's so close to everything yet there is no outside noise from the town. It's great for single travellers to families.

The staff are all so very welcoming and they couldn't do enough for you so you can enjoy their homely ambience. We needed feather-free bedding & extra pillows, which was organised immediately. So friendly & very well organised. They kept us well informed of oncoming festivals & are keen to elaborate on the event if you're interested in the background of it.

The bedrooms have plenty drawers & wardrobe space. The beds are so comfortable and large. It can get very warm so we tend to open the patio door overnight to relieve that. We had a little balcony with really nice view of the mattahorn and the beginner slopes.

There's so much space in their comfortable lounge & bar area. Roberto is a true star, as all of them are really as they really do focus solely on their guests enjoying their visit. With having been there last year, it was like home from home and I feel bad mentioning only one specifically because they really do work well as a team.

The food is delicious - For breakfast, it's generally a continental style with lots to choose from. Perferably, it would be lovely to have normal croissants rather than pre-filled. You can also order hot food too for a little extra.
For the evening meal, there is also a great choice every day. Traditional Italian food which is beautifully cooked. The starters generally involve a selection of pasta dishes and are really the size most people would have as the main course. Fantastic Lasagne!

The heated boot-room is great. There is more than enough space for everyone's boots on the heated hangers for each individual boot, ski & snow boards. Toasty dry boots to put on every day. Brilliant!

Absolutely brilliant. Going back next year.

Room Tip: Both rooms we've staying in were lovely & beautifully clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle2Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here the beginning of February 2012 when it was one of the coldest week ever. The bar was bitterly cold and no atmosphere and very expensive (huge fireplace in the middle but didn't work).All main course dinners were overcooked, soup and pasta were ok. A 3 course meal would last about 30 minutes, staff too efficient. Bedrooms clean and ok, very good showers. I wouldn't call it modern though. No atsmosphere, white walls and old green curtains and very hard or very soft beds. With simple improvements (soft lightning in bar and restaurant, efficient lightning in ski room and slightly better cook) it would have been a great location to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridder2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.0 mi away
Compagnoni Hotel
Compagnoni Hotel
#19 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meuble Gorret
Hotel Meuble Gorret
#13 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#23 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baita Cretaz
Hotel Baita Cretaz
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breuil

Property: Hotel Breuil
Address: 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Breuil 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Breuil Hotel Cervinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing