We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel I Have Stayed In”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostellerie des Guides
Ranked #12 of 14 Breuil-Cervinia B&B and Inns
Dunston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel I Have Stayed In”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

7 of us arrived for a ski holiday in Cervinia. This hotel is the most basic of all. I was sharing a triple room that had no heating bearing in mind it was minus 10 outside. It took 4 days to get extra blankets after repeatedly asking for them. The hotel owners were very unhelpful. There was only 1 plug socket in the room so take an extension lead if you are brave enough to go. The bathroom was tiny, the windows didn't seal properly so we had to put towels up at the windows to stop the drafts. Last morning we had ordered a take out breakfast as we were leaving early - suprise suprise we didnt get them. The breakfast is continental which included a tempromental coffee machine, a 1/4 slice of ham, a slice of cheese, butter, jam and a bread roll with orange or pineapple juice. I was so glad I took my own kettle and porridge. A great ski holiday spoilt by a very bad hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. There are 27 rooms and everyone was terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    28
    24
    12
    13
See reviews for
16
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Miserly
Coffee horendous
Awful cheap juice
Stale rolls
Cheap ham and cheese
Not even a croissant
Penny pinching
Shame as great location
Dont stay there new year or xmas as noisy as hell and get no sleep!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daicaediff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Breuil-Cervinia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were almost put off booking this after reading some reviews on here. It was a delightful, 2 minutes walk from the ski lift with skiing to the door. Alright it was so central it could be a bit noisy at night given it was the Christmas/New Year break but the atmosphere was fantastic.
The staff at the hotel were so friendly. The rooms were really pretty, cleaned every day, nothing was too much trouble and the beds were really comfy and it was warm! There was no boot room as such for drying stuff after a hard day's skiing or boarding but the landings had big heaters and plenty of room to spread stuff out. Incidentally, this was our first experience skiing in Italy. Cheaper than France, slightly, never had a bad meal and the choice of red and black ski runs was great. It obviously helped that the snow was amazing and we had temperatures of around 25 degrees, blue skies and sun most of the trip!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1 or 2...they face the slopes....2 single beds but plenty of room and very cute....be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed here with thompson/crystal ski.

It is in a perfect location as the other reviews state but the hotel lacks a little in most other aspects.

The rooms are small, I stayed in room #1 and although the room was a good size the en suite was so small when using the toilet your nose was on the opposite wall and walking in and out of the shower you have to get very close to the toilet, not ideal.
The shower was of a good water pressure but took a while to heat up.
The beds were old and although clean were not particularly comfortable.

Breakfast is shocking and not really worth going to. Although the Italian woman serving you the ham cheese and rolls is very friendly.

The hotel is dated. The rooms have '80s pine panel walls carpets worn etc.

Downstairs the general rooms are of good size apart from the breakfast room which is small. The bar closes very early but it doesn't really matter because there is a brilliant bar next door to the hotel. (yeti)

Walls are thin but I didn't find it an issue.

Didn't really get any contact with the owner but got the impression that they wernt personally interested and the fact that there is an interesting museum as part of the museum is a shame.
Without a personal guide the "museum" is strange.
It was only on return that I found the owners father was the first Italian to climb Everest, there must be interesting stories to be told!

Overall great hotel to sleep in but get out on the slopes early and drink till late. Any more in-hotel time and it is worth booking elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The hotel is quaint and cozy - the location is amazing, with the back exit facing the slopes and the front entrance, to everything else - food, drinks, souvenirs.

I was nicely surprised at how big the rooms were compared to my little expectations stemming from reading numerous reviews and thinking to myself "is this really a good idea?" - well, we had a nice lounge area and a reasonably sized bed in the bedroom, complete with bath/shower which were perfect after a long day on the slopes. Strangely, there were signs around the room telling us that we weren't allowed to use anything electric - so we went for days without charging our mobiles or drying our hair... however, when we asked the staff for an adapter a few days in, they handed one to us without hesitation. My only complaints about the rooms are that the walls are paper thin - I could hear the conversation coming from the next room, and worse, their nighttime activities! Could have done without that - AND the overwhelming smell of wet dog that seemed to cling to every fibre in the room.

Breakfast was mediocre, to be nice. Expect stale breadrolls, (very thinly sliced) ham, and cheese, with an assortment of jam and nutella. My non-Italian speaking self spent quite some time wrestling with the coffee machine, day one seeing me make the most atrocious cup. Hot chocolate is available on demand, and I've seen a few guests handing the staff some bowls of porridge to be heated - so there is some flexibility during breakfast, if you're well prepared.

Overall, if you're planning to go on a ski holiday, des Guides is a cheap easy option, the beds are nice enough at night to cancel all the other bad stuff out. The slopes are good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2011

If you want a covenant spot to get onto the slopes and pop out for après ski it is perfect. The cleaners and breakfast staff do a good job considering, but there is a lack of interest in giving customers a good experience by the owners. The breakfast is basic and to be honest a automatic machine to serve yourself coffee in Italy kinda sums the place up..how can we make this easy and cheap for the owners. I was actually asked to vacate the lounge area at half past eight one evening because they were closing! Cheap yes, good value no.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tys1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Loved the historic feel of the place , absolutely charming and so many interesting pictures and artifacts to look at. . Lounge & bar great for curling up with tea/wine/beer and a good book on the sofa after / before the fantastic restaurants and bars next door or across the road. Location great. Rooms like a ships cabin but great upstairs character and what really mattres on a ski holiday is storage space and lots of hooks, powerful shower and a warm room with a radiator for drying the gear. It had all that. Carpets worn but who cares when grubby boots are part of the course of a ski holiday - take your slippers and you'll be fine.Slept really well etter than in more upmarket places.. Took marmite & herbal tea bags so was OK with the boring bread roll breakfast but did miss an egg. Lovely house dog, Staff delightful (though owner only sociable with Italians). Location fantastic. I would go again but husband and teenagers wouldn't but only because of the breakfast. Finally, holiday companies market it as a hotel, it calls itself a hostel noy a hotel. Think of it as a B&B for room and very basic breakfast and a hotel for lounge and bar. The main thing is the skiing is fab.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
#6 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
157 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#22 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#9 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sertorelli Sport Hotel
Sertorelli Sport Hotel
#10 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baita Cretaz
Hotel Baita Cretaz
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie des Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie des Guides

Property: Hostellerie des Guides
Address: Via Jean Antoine Carrel 32, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie des Guides 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in central position in the centre of the walking street in front of Cretaz chairlifts.All rooms have a private bathroom with hairdryer .In the Hotel there is the ski room, solarium, , wi-fi area, reception, night entrance 24h 24,bar, pub, wine bar and Cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostellerie des Guides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Des Guides Hotel Breuil-Cervinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing