We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I had never booked in to this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostellerie des Guides
Ranked #12 of 14 Breuil-Cervinia B&B and Inns
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I wish I had never booked in to this hotel.”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

A great situation for Hotel des Guides being so close to the chairlifts but it is in need of total refurbishment. Inghams have taken over this hotel and put in place helpful staff but it really is dire.
Our en-suite had a shower, wc,bidet and wash basin crammed in to less than 2 sq metres of space.To make matters worse the grouting/shower enclosure can only be described as disgusting with mould and dirt and a door off its runners.To use the shower one had to climb over the toilet and when sitting on the toilet your head was in the hand basin. We had to use friends' showers as ours was so dreadful.
To add to our disappointment...TV hardly ever worked without being reprogrammed.....curtains in our room only covered half the window so you were kept awake at night with street lights. Unfortunately the list could go on.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chrissie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    28
    24
    12
    13
See reviews for
16
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Firstly I must complement the staff who couldn't have done a better job, always friendly and cheerful could not have done more to make us welcome and comfortable creating a very homely environment, crisp white bed linen and towels and good food. Public areas fantastic full of charm and history, panelled walls and artefacts
However inghams should never have taken o ver the running of the hotel without a thorough check of conditions. Health and safety would have had a field day. Scalding hot radiators, windows wouldn't open, no fire escapes, dodgy electric wiring, very loose stair rails, bedrooms tiny with paper thin walls
Ensuites.....think 60's Blackpool b&b. our friends ensuite so small had to climb over toilet to reach shower where grout was black with mould and door didn't close.curtain didn't cover window Street lights lit up bed room, noise from nearby bars till early hours , on the plus side free aperitifs and unlimited wine with dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zosia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Breuil-Cervinia hotels

sheffield
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I am so pleased to see how much this hotel has improved. I had my doubts about its continuation as a viable hotel as we had such a disastrous stay here when it was run by Crystal. The Des Guides is such a quirky and interesting place, and in such a great location, it would have been a pity for it to go down the pan. Will certainly consider staying here again noe that Inghams have taken it over

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We went for an extended-family holiday for the week following christmas. On first impressions the hotel was very nice and staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful, especially regarding my four year old child, making sure she always felt comfortable around the hotel and making special arrangements for her meals so we could still have her in bed for a normal time. (i thought this was a superb touch as it was all offered to us on arrival, not asked for, and she was the only child staying there at the time.) The only things that really let the hotel down were the bedrooms, as they were very small and had single beds in most rooms, and the food, wasn't bad at all, just only two options each day. Oh and the electrics kept cutting out during meal times, but all staff kept there cool and had plenty of candles to hand. Other than this small complaint, an excellent place to stay, full of character and brilliant staff!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lryan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This could definitely be described as a quirky hotel but I loved it for that. Hotel has been run for the last month by Inghams so there are a few teething problems but the staff do their utmost to iron out any problems and are unfailingly cheerful. One of the main problems seems to be the central heating - a lot of people complained of having rooms which were too hot and so the heating was lowered resulting in our room becoming decidedly chilly- but the ever helpful hotel manager Michael provided us with a blow heater to bring the temperature up..Location is excellent you just cross the road, walk across a bridge and 100 yard walk brings you to the Cretaz chair lift. 5 chairs later and you are at the top of the mountain with a direct link into Zermatt. We skied in Zermatt 4/6 but you need to keep an eye on the wind, as one day the cable car stopped due to high winds and we had to take the 2 t - bars back up- 25 mins and skiing over what can only be described as snow dunes on the t bar meant that we all had patches of frostbite on our faces at the top..
Food wise there was a buffet style breakfast with a hot option every morning, afternoon tea with cake (although early arrivals sometimes ate more than their fair share resulting in later guests missing out- yet again Michael provided an alternative option) A choice of 2 options was offered for the evening meal and the food was pretty good although the vegetables were a bit hit and miss - my broccoli looked like it had been cooked with a blow torch solid stem/ blackened floret! Chalet staff were very attentive,as was Rosanna - the other manager and they are very keen to put right any guest complaints- it really is better to tell them at the time rather than complain on your return!
Bar and pre dinner drinks was a great place to meet other guests- the hotel only accommodates 27 - by the end of the week we knew most other guests' names and the ambience was nice in the dining room. I would definitely return to this hotel again as the location is great but most of all the staff made the holiday...and the walrus skull on the wall!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prospector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

As the previous says this hotel has been taken over by Inghams, situated right on the slopes and also on the main street, this is one of the most well situated hotels I've stayed in for skiing.
The hotel is run on the usual chalet basis, with cake etc in the afternoon, canapés and prosecco before a four course dinner with ample wine, (choice of wines ). Breakfast usual fayre with no restrictions now, although I wouldn't recommend the porridge ! Rooms were comfortable, rustic and adequate , bathroom could have been bigger but as this an old building there are restrictions on what can be done. Public areas were great to sit and relax before dinner, with very efficient and well used Wifi ! Staff were all great and friendly, well looked after by Rosanna .
Minor criticisms..... Music in the bar, please introduce a playlist for the customers, not the personal preferences of the staff on duty, much as I love Eminem Led Zeppelin, they not suitable pre dinner listening.
Whilst the staff are good, a wee bit of extra training wouldn't go amiss, and not would an iron on those uniforms!!!
If you are looking for a handy, home from home ski base get booking !!!
Oh and the skiing was cold but good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Don't be put off by the previous reviews, for the 2012/13 Ski season Inghams have taken over and run the hotel on a chalet basis. The crew at the hotel are friendly, helpful and have a laugh with you. Food and drink in the room, no problem, at least I didn't encounter any probs. Food great, and the breakfast was a buffet help yourself and had a hot option as well. I think some of the crew were new to the chalet style, but it added to the charm and humour. Generous to a fault with the wine at dinner. And the location, fall out of the back door, cross the road and river and you're on the slopes and chair lift. The hotel is full of memorabilia of mountaineering and character, ask Michael the manager to give you some background info over a drink in the bar, he is very passionate. Google Red Tent - Arctic - it has links with this hotel, ask Michael.

Room Tip: we were in the triple room 26 - avoid unless you really are matey - need to take turns to walk aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crazybiker69_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#11 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#15 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#22 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meuble Gorret
Hotel Meuble Gorret
#10 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie des Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie des Guides

Property: Hostellerie des Guides
Address: Via Jean Antoine Carrel 32, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie des Guides 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in central position in the centre of the walking street in front of Cretaz chairlifts.All rooms have a private bathroom with hairdryer .In the Hotel there is the ski room, solarium, , wi-fi area, reception, night entrance 24h 24,bar, pub, wine bar and Cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Hostellerie des Guides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Des Guides Hotel Breuil-Cervinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing