We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great week's ski-ing in Cervinia” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clubhotel Petit Palais

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breuil-Cervinia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clubhotel Petit Palais
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great week's ski-ing in Cervinia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

18th March 2012.

Just back from a great weeks ski-ing in Cervinia,staying at the Petit Palais hotel.This is an all inclusive hotel run by Crystal. The hotel in general is basic 3* but with a lot of plus's: the location to the nearest lifts about 100m; ski in the same; quiet location; good food; and a young staff led by manageress Louise who were a credit to themselves and Crystal. Anyone contemplating a good value ski holiday should certainly check this out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    121
    39
    29
    19
See reviews for
73
52
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Rooms basic but clean and tidy - restricted views plus points bathroom spacious. Staff friendly around hotel but left cudtomers on pub crawl but in all fairness all young and very inexperienced especially in the resturant . Ignored in resturant on many occasions and service very slow plus food often luke warm, very basic, no sauces etc. Can't understand why things have not improved here as always had poor reviews re tge food. All inclusive bar very good value. Long uphill wall back to hotel from town but close to ski lift. Lifts did close two out of six days due to weather plus crossing to zermatt did not open at all- apparently we could have got a refund but not informed by staff until closed. Would stay there again but would hope that resturant service improves as would be a great hotel with this. Improvement

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reallyreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were a family group of 10 on a ski holiday. The set-up at Petit Palais was excellent for us. The very large lounge was a great congregating area for us, rather than trying to squeeze into one of the bedrooms.

And the fact it was all inclusive meant we didn't worry about the bar bill we were racking up, we saved money at lunchtime up the slopes (although we still did buy the odd lunch) and we weren't traipsing round town trying to find a restaurant to take us.

Breakfast was fine, although I'd avoid the streaky bacon and ask for your fried eggs soft! The packed lunch was a filled baguette, packet of biscuits, piece of fruit (help yourself at breakfast) and a bottle of water - the egg mayonnaise was very nice, the chicken salad a bit dry, but each to their own. And the dinners were generally very good. The roast beef on night 1 went down very well.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We reported a split shower hose one evening; I think they'd have tried to fix it within the hour, but I told them tomorrow morning would be fine. It was nice to get back and find it had indeed been attended to.

The rooms are on the small side, but have everything you need and are comfortable.

The only disadvantage would be that it is slightly out of town; it's probably a 7 minute walk, but uphill on the way back. Perfectly do-able for those who want more nightlife or just to pop down to stroll round the shops.. It's almost right next to the main gondola and cable car station, and we never even queued for them.

To summarise, I would say excellent for groups or anyone who doesn't feel the need to be right in the town.

PS if you do the Meal up the Mountain - beware that they refuse to serve any more beer and wine after pudding is served - make sure you get topped up beforehand!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Last year I wrote a review about this hotel and said that we'd go back. Well, we have just come back from a week at the Petit Palais and once again we had a great week. The staff in the dining room were different but just as friendly and attentive to our (vegetarian) needs. We even got a couple of extra eggs at breakfast when we asked nicely! Reception was often left unattended, but I was happy to get my own key off the hook....although anyone could have done the same....... The room was not quite as good as last year but when we reported a couple of problems they were dealt with swiftly. I do, however, think that the rooms could do with a lick of paint to freshen them up.
Again, the position of this hotel alone makes it worth staying in. For those who don't ski there is a great walking trail straight out of the front door which climbs gently to the right and has stunning views of the Cervino (Matterhorn). For those who do ski, the proximity to the cable car/gondola station must outweigh any reservations/negative feelings about the hotel.
I you are thinking of going but are put off by reviews from previous years - don't be. It's worth every penny (of the already low price) that you pay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with mountain view ... well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Spent a week in this resort last year and wanted to come back. When we found this exceptionally cheap all inclusive deal with Crystal (under £750 including buy 1 get 1 free lift passes & ski carriage) had to book. Was a bit worried it may not be up to a very good standard at this price but what a bargain. The hotel was in a great location, very close to the lifts, within walking distance from the main street, but far enough away to be really quiet. The young staff couldn't have been more friendly, they actually looked like they were enjoying their jobs and nothing was too much trouble. I only eat a bowl of porridge at home for breakfast so thought there was ample to eat. Choice of baguettes to take with you for the day along with a bottle of water, fruit and biscuits. Evening meal was 3 courses, with a meat, fish or veggie dish to choose from. The veg that came with it was different every night and wasn't boiled to an inch of its life, all nice, fresh & crunchy. The room itself was a nice enough size and clean. Made use of the spa facilities which you book a time at reception for, again clean and only let a maximum of 6 at the same time, which was good as we were in a party of 6. The only thing I was a bit concerned about was the security for the boot room. There weren't any lockers or locks for your snowboards/ski's and although the door to the outside was a security number to enter we found when we came back at the end of the day the door had always been left open. I know this is down to the other guests who would walk out or in and not close behind them, maybe because they rent their kit and are not aware of the costs of replacing, but this is my only complaint. They did have heated boot holders which is always nice. Apart from this one thing I would definately come here again.

Room Tip: You have a choice of paying a little extra for a bath. In our group of 6 we all had different rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachLeeMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Would definitely stay here - but was visiting friends on this occasion. Couldn't help passing on my gratefulness to the staff. What a team. They were all really welcoming, friendly & genuinely pleased to see you. They're all looking out for everyone, as well as ensuring the kids were happy. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle2Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST SUSSEX, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed at the Petit Palais in early January as a group of five friends who enjoy good food, wine and cruisy skiing.
This is a club run hotel , Crystal operated and they are doing a fantastic job.
Two of our party had stayed at this hotel about 5 years ago and were a little anxious about returning.... no worries, the management is very together from the reception to the bar and restaurant.

Petit Palais is in an excellent position overlooking the gondola station, it is a walk into town quite a few steps, makes you puff a bit getting back .
Ski hire shop is a short walk down the road, skis hired were of good quality and serviced well. Good Ski and Boot room with plenty of boot warmers.

Rooms are basic, small but ok for two, bit tight for three on the wardrobe space.
Beds were comfortable, plenty of hot water and the rooms were cleaned very well.
Safe in the wardrobe was a welcome addition.
Spa area in the basement has small sauna,steam room and hot-tub. These need to be booked at reception as limited space but a very welcome end to a day's skiing.

This hotel is all-inclusive which meant breakfast, a packed lunch is you wanted it, a three course evening meal with local beer, wine , spirits (even BAILEY'S !) and mixers... drinks available 16:30 - 22:00.
If you take advantage of all these it will save you a lot of money.
Bar service was great with a lively atmosphere, Tommy is a very good barman and runs the area well.
There are other apres ski bars around, the Ymeltrob in town is good but you do have to walk up those steps to get back !!

Meals in our opinion were a higher standard than we expected. Breakfast had the usual help yourself selection of cereals, fruit , yogurt, meat, cheese , croissants and bread. Also there is a cooked breakfast available which was served to you.
At breakfast you select your three course evening meal, good idea restaurant manager, must make the evening meals much easier to organise. All were hot and well presented.
We always found something we liked on the menus, had sea bass one evening ... superb !!
Although house wine is all-inclusive the restaurant did suggest bottled wines every evening to compliment the menu. We found these to be excellent and at approx 6 euros a bottle very good value.
A special mention to our waitress Julie who put up with our jokes and looked after us, always with a smile.

We we blessed with some of the best snow Europe has seen for a couple of years, could ski from plateau Rosa and down to Fury in Zermatt on one side or down to Val Tourneche on the other .
Cervinia is a high resort and as such does suffer from high winds, this closes the upper lifts at times so lower slopes can get quite busy.
Found a good restaurant on Red 3, La Bricole . Excellent pasta and grills, service good even when very busy. Nice sunny terrace, protected from the winds.

Did a day's ski-guiding with Frankie, the Crystal Rep over to Zermatt, amazing scenery with nice red and blue runs . Thanks Frankie for all your help during our stay.

In all, we enjoyed our stay in Cervinia at the Petit Palais, the staff were always helpful and pleasant.
We recommend this hotel , especially for groups and hope to return again.

Room Tip: Hgiher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZKIWI44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.1 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#11 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Angel Hotel
White Angel Hotel
#20 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#23 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Planet
Hotel Excelsior Planet
#3 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Petit Palais

Property: Clubhotel Petit Palais
Address: Via Bardoney, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Petit Palais Cervinia Hotel Breuil-Cervinia
Petit Palais Cervinia Breuil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing