We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like school dinners, this is for you.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breuil-Cervinia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clubhotel Petit Palais
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you like school dinners, this is for you.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

In 2012 we stayed at this hotel which was run by Crystal and it was excellent. We were surprised by the standard of dinners and breakfasts and had a great stay.
Based on this we returned in December with our daughter and her husband only to find that crystal had sold it to an Italian company.
Admittedly this was the first week but the food was dreadful. Cold, with microwaved frozen veg, it reminded us of school dinners! Cooked breakfast was something to behold, when not empty, but certainly not to eat. One small coffee and tea machine to service the whole hotel meant either a 20 minute wait for a hot drink or it broke down and we went without.
Bar service was equally bad and what was a great meeting place the previous year had been transformed into a dreary poorly served area with ' scrimped' drinks in plastic cups.
On the plus side, the hotel is clean and the rooms are basic but comfortable and it is located close to the Gondola.
What a shame!

Room Tip: Book a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ARHawkins3259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    122
    39
    29
    20
See reviews for
73
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Booked here with crystal ski over Christmas and wasn't disappointed.
It's a bit of a hike into town if it's snowy but take it easy and you'll be fine- it's very close to the main gondola and cable car however which is a plus.
We stayed all inclusive and can't really knock the food choices- some of the veg was a bit over cooked but overall it was good- esp given the price and the fact that they did 4 courses plus a choice of drinkable house red or white wine. There's cake and drinks at 4pm and the bar area has a selection of games and is ideal for families and groups of friends to chill at the end of the day. Rooms are ok- clean and well maintained but a bit small and fairly basic- nothing wrong with that on a ski holiday I guess- would recommend and stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertieandbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Crystal staff really made this hotel well worth a visit, with their excellent service throughout the , and the all inclusive package does represent good value in my experience with ski holidays.

The hotel is offered as 3 Stars, and I would say its a very good 3 Star hotel. The rooms were small but adequate, and clean (and cleaned daily). The location is excellent, with easy acces to the main lift in the morning, and if you choose the right woodland route, it's virtually ski back to door coming home.

The bar area was great, with comfortable sofas, and the bar staff were very helpful with ski tips etc. The food in the restaurant was acceptable, and again the staff were always very friendly.

We visited in March, and for most of our holiday had fantastic snow and weather conditions. The ski area was absolutely superb, and we all loved skiing down to Valtournenche and then over to Zermatt, and would recommend the full area pass. Be aware though that when the winds do get up here, the Cervinian side can shut down completely, and the winds can take away all the groomed snow - leaving a boiler plate surface, which some people clearly struggled on. This happened whilst we were there, but fortunately we'd taken the Crystal day out to Pila, which is well worth considering.

Prices in Zermatt are considerably higher than in Cervinia. However, after years of skiing in France, I found the prices in Cervinia much more reasonable, and the general service that we received considerably more friendly.

Just two negatives from my perspective:

1. The road down to the ski lift was absolutely treacherous with ice, and we saw many people falling on it. Not sure whose responsibility this is, but Crystal should do more to ensure that it gets treated regularly, for the protection of its guests.

2. I wasn't happy with the security in the boot room. It was always open, and anybody could access it. As equipment wasn't stored in lockers or secured, we ended up taking ours back to our room every night. Not ideal given the sizes of the rooms.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Matterhorn, well worth looking out on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matttScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed there over the Easter week as part of a Crystal Ski package. Everything ran smoothly, staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms quite basic but adequate with good showers, but bathroom door lock was missing!!

Food was generally OK though service a little slow on occasions. Breakfasts in particular could have been better, e.g. scrambled egg poor, bread choice limited.

Free bar from 4.30 to 10.30 is good value.

In good proximity to the main gondola - though a nasty short walk down the road not easy when very icy, followed by steep steps down - added difficulty when carrying your grandchildrens skis as well as your own! Same road needed to access village which is circa 300 yards further downhill but not unduly difficult to negotiate in ordinary shows.

Room Tip: 301 does not have much of aview despite a balcony but does seem a little larger than other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KESWICK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

All was brilliant,the weather,the food and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful.The manager ,Louise was always around to help with anything.
The rooms were quite basic,but aren't most in ski resorts.
Quality and value for money,it will take some beating.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart_Tauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed here last week of march 2013 lots of snow as resort is high. Most previous reviews have said everything. If your looking for an all inclusive hotel (free drinks beer and branded spirits 4:30- 10:30 every evening) where you can ski back to within 50m (bottom of red 7) or to the boot room door if you can get down the track and the road without falling. then this is a good place to stay. Not so confident skiers can get the gondola back down from plan maison where most of the lessons are undertaken. Crystal run the hotel and as such all the staff are English but are very helpful and friendly. Packed lunch useful as mountain restaurants in this resort are not plentiful. Do make sure you ski across to Zermatt at least once during your stay. Teenagers will like this place but if you are an adults only group there are probably better places. improvements? Bar area needs another 8 +settees as not all residents can sit down, Another coffee machine and toaster would be good as well as the present units can not cope at breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riffman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Recently returned from a week at Petit Palais with a large group of friends. The hotel location is perfect for the Plan Maison lifts and you can ski almost to the door at the end of the day (conditions permitting). The hotel food could not be faulted, great choice and superb quality. Different cooked breakfast offered daily, again great quality. Afternoon cakes were also lovely at the end of a day on the slopes. All inclusive drinks from 4.30pm to 10.30pm - with large and comfortable bar!
The hotel staff were wonderful, friendly and willing to help - from restaurant and bar staff through to hotel management.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we would choose it again if we return to Cervinia.
PS Cervinia is a fantastic ski resort, with great choice of runs for all abilities and no lift queues!

Room Tip: We paid a worthwhile supplement for a wonderful mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.4 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#12 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Angel Hotel
White Angel Hotel
#20 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Planet
Hotel Excelsior Planet
#3 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.1 mi away
Les Neiges d'Antan
Les Neiges d'Antan
#2 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Petit Palais

Property: Clubhotel Petit Palais
Address: Via Bardoney, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Petit Palais Cervinia Hotel Breuil-Cervinia
Petit Palais Cervinia Breuil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing