We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent ski holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breuil-Cervinia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clubhotel Petit Palais
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here first week of January 2014. Absolutely brilliant. Great location, great food, very friendly staff and good representation of crystal staff. We had previously contacted crystal to ask about heli-skiing. Angelica was first rate at helping us book our trip which was incredible. If it's something you think you might like doing - have a go. Amazing. Would definitely recommend and will be going back.

Room Tip: Had room 303 which overlooks the matterhorn and you can see directly when the main gondola is open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

I must agree with the previous reviewer's comments. My wife and I stayed in room 103 which is basic with twin beds and a small bathroom with shower and WC. The hotel cleaning staff ensured we had a nice room to return to after a hard day's skiing. There are rooms available with a nice mountain view but you pay extra for this. The hotel manager was present at every meal time and ensured his guests were very well catered for. The food was plentiful and I believe, to the satisfaction of most of our group (84 people). The hotel staff were excellent. The hotel has a room to store your skiing equipment including heated pegs for the boots. As mentioned in previous reviews, the hotel location is just 5-minutes to the gondola albeit up a slight hill.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Like previous reviewer I was part of the 84 persons group staying at the hotel from 5th to 12th January. The location was very close to the gondola, although there were a number of steps to negotiate to and from this lift. The hotel provided a good breakfast with a choice of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages and mushrooms. There were the usual cereals, fruit and rolls as well.
In the evening the first course gave a very large and good selection of hors d'oeuvres, including all manner of cold meats and salads The second and main courses which were ordered on the previous day to their consumption consisted mainly of a soup, pasta, meat or occasionally fish. These were well cooked and nicely presented. Desserts were available on a self-service basis. The restaurant staff were very customer friendly always with smiling faces. The coffee for breakfast and main meals was provided by a machine. Between 16:30 and 22:30 all beers, most spirits, and some cocktails were included in one's overall price. This made for lively convivial evenings. As for the accommodation I can only speak for room 104. We had a bath/shower and toilet all kept spotlessly clean. Our room was at the rear of the hotel with not much of a view. It was 3-bedded with not enough cupboard space for some soft clothing, although plenty of hanging space of ski jackets and salopettes. Each room had a small TV capable of receiving BBC1 and a combination lock safe. Our room was fine 2 people but rather cramped for 3 people.The ski room had heated prongs for ski boots, and a convenient system for hanging up one's skis. All in all a good value, a "no bad surprises" hotel in a good location for ski access absolutely ideal for a large group such as ours.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room although they may cost extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just returned from a week’s skiing 5-12 Jan in a group of 84 people and I can’t really understand why some people felt the need to write a bad review. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the food every night was different and cooked fantastically well. The beer was cold and the spirit measures were huge. The bar was meant to close at midnight but we were there every night gone 12 ordering drinks. The rooms were very clean and warm. the shower always delivered hot water unlike some resorts that I have been to that give you warm at best. The staff cannot do enough for you. I would recommend this hotel to anybody that is looking at staying in the Cervinia area for their ski holiday.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 304 and it was fantatsic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here during Xmas week 2013 and had a good holiday overall. Initially we were disappointed with the room- very basic but clean and comfortable. Location great as main gondola is close, as well as red run. All inclusive deal is excellent value- buffet at breakfast and dinner is very good quality and selection if drinks wide. The bar lacks atmosphere and lighting is too bright for relaxation in the evening. Christmas dinner was an anti climax with cold food and slow service. The staff work very hard and Crystal reps are efficient being there if you need them but not hassling you to buy additional extras etc.
Overall we would return again as the skiing and snow conditions were great!

Room Tip: Do not have room 218 as view is if brick wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliaGDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just returned from Petit Palais over the New Year Week. We were a group of 11 ranging from 16 to 60 years old. When you arrive you are dropped by the coach in the town and have to walk to hotel (5 mins) your luggage is delivered separately. The walk up is not so bad but when you go back into town the steps down are lethal as they are not very often cleared of snow/ice.
Fantastic location for gondola and if you ski down red 7 there is a small path which you can ski to the door it’s narrow but you will have a laugh. The walk to and from the gondola is 2 mins at most.
Rooms small but clean and adequate for a week skiing. Baths are small but the showers are great. Wi-Fi is only available in reception which can get quite full of teenagers trying to connect to their gadgets.
The ski/boot room at hotel has heated system for your boots which is very good.
The all inclusive is great breakfast self service both hot and cold the hot food could be a bit hotter but that’s a minor thing. Evening meals great there was a couple of nights I didn’t like the meals but the rest of the group were happy with their meals.
Crystal staff were great we did the mountain meal which was lovely. The cost 35euros per person the food was great however there were a few complaints from our group as there was not enough food, however we did have 7 very hungry men and 4 women in the group.
The crystal staff were fantastic however we did book a carving class for 3 experienced skiers. We believed the class was for experienced skiers however when they arrived there were beginners in the class so was a waste of time and money. If there is a couple of you book a private lesson.
If you plan to ski over to Switzerland set of early it’s worth it.
We have booked to go back next year but will leave out the carving class.

Room Tip: Worth paying the money for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Petit Palais as a family of 4 adults for Christmas week 2013. Having booked through Crystal for the second time (previously we stayed in Cervinia but at a different hotel) we were not disappointed. The Crystal "team" are very well organised and all our lift passes, ski hire etc had been organised and were easy to get. There are several day and evening activities to take part in if you want to, and you are not pestered to join anything you don't want to. The Petit Palais itself is nothing out of the ordinary - rooms are smallish, basic but clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The lounge area lacks atmosphere but does provide plenty of activities for children (and adults) such as games, books, pool and a football table game.

What the hotel lacks it more than makes up in the quality of food and the generosity of the all inclusive package. Breakfast is served at several tables; the main one offering several types of cereal, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, cheese, sliced ham, boiled eggs, yogurts and freshly made cakes (delicious), jams, marmalade etc. Another table offered all the individual elements of a cooked English breakfast (scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms, sausage etc) and there was a machine in which you could toast your own bread. Fresh bread rolls were available on another little table and there are a couple of tea/ coffee making machines. We were thoroughly sated after each breakfast and hardly needed the packed lunches provided on request (usually sandwiches, fruit and water). Afternoon tea is served at 4pm and includes tea/ coffee and a selection of cake. Beer, wine, soft drinks and a variety of cocktails and branded spirits are included in the package after 4.30pm meaning that you really can get your money's worth. Dinner starts at 7.30pm and the first course is an extensive buffet. We found the quality of most items to be excellent - in fact some days I declined to order a second or third course so that I could fill up from the buffet! The hot second and third courses were generally good and as vegetarians we were well catered for. Veg was sometimes a let down by not being very hot, but we enjoyed some very tasty food. Desserts were amazing; a selection of home made cakes, tiramisu and chocolate sundaes. A generous amount of wine was provided for each table and the wine quality was fine.

As for Christmas Day itself, the restaurant did lack a festive atmosphere - maybe the dining tables could have had more by way of festive decorations and it would have been nice to have had Christmas carols/ songs in the background. The meal itself was fine - I certainly wouldn't expect Turkey and a British style Christmas dinner to be served in Italy! Italians' Christmas dinner varies by region and I'm happy to eat gnocchi or pasta if that's what the locals eat.

The reception staff at the Petit Palais were all friendly and polite, as was the cleaner who serviced our room.

We were unable to use the spa facilities as unfortunately we didn't pack our bathing stuff, but we were informed that it was included in the all inclusive package. Wi-fi didn't seem to be available anywhere except in the lobby area and even then, was unavailable during the first 24 hours or so. There are a few places in the town where free wi-fi is available.

The location of the hotel is great for the main gondola lift, being just a very short walk away (imperative when you are lugging around so much ski gear whilst wearing very heavy ski boots) though as it's on an incline, it could do with a handrail all the way up for when there's snow and ice on the ground.

All in all we had a great week and all four of us said we would definitely stay at the Petit Palais again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the second (top) floor. Number 301 seemed to be a bit bigger than 307 but had no b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _Love2Roam_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Angel Hotel
White Angel Hotel
#18 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sertorelli Sport Hotel
Sertorelli Sport Hotel
#13 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#11 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Petit Palais

Address: Via Bardoney, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Petit Palais Cervinia Hotel Breuil-Cervinia
Petit Palais Cervinia Breuil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing