We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas week spent in Cervinia at the hotel Astoria”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas week spent in Cervinia at the hotel Astoria”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at the Astoria for Christmas week and had a wonderful time. All the staff were amazing, our room was kept spotless with clean towels provided every day and beds made for us, food was very tasty and plentiful, and the feast they prepared for us for Christmas dinner was fantastic! Free wifi throughout the hotel was available which meant our teenage daughter was able to stay in contact with the outside world! The heated boot room was a great asset. The location of the hotel is another great plus point, right next to the gondola station, and returning on slopes which run right back to the station. Snow conditions were excellent (apart from two days in the middle when we had some scary wind and low visibility!). The village itself was very pretty and had a good choice of restaurants and cafe/bars. We will definitely return to Cervinia and the Astoria.

My only criticism is Turin airport: the cleanliness of the toilets was nowhere near acceptable on arrival or departure; we had to wait ages for our suitcases to arrive; and in the departure area there are not enough cafes.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel and had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    55
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at the Astoria for Christmas week through Thompson/Crystal ski package. As previously mentioned one of main advantages is location next to the ski lift taking you to one of the main hubs 'Plan Maison'. Rooms are not to every taste as ours was basic and very mustard in colour but bathroom is fine with good shower and loads of clean fluffy towels. Staff and cleaners are excellent always happy to make your stay as comfortable as possible and food is plentiful and very hearty. Wifi is free you just have to keep getting password from reception and we had already downloaded lots of tv so very handy as no English channels but you can use hdmi cable with your device to project your downloads. Staff really helpful and experienced - one of main assets of hotel and creates typically Italian atmosphere. Easy to nip into town for more bars shops etc and there is tasty little pizza outlet with deli next door just down steps towards town - great value for snacks and cheeses to take home as they're always open and happy to vacuum pack for journey home. Cervinia is very compact with stunning views and we hired skis direct from Nol Ski in town by the slopes as they were cheaper than Crystal and the service and gear is top class. You can take loads of easy runs from plan maison down to the main meeting point in town and then get main chair back up followed by Red 3 bis direct to the ski lift by the Astoria so no need to walk back up from the bottom in town - some guests only discovered this towards end of the week so good tip! First time for us skiing in Italy and there are masses of runs for the majority of abilities including over to Zermatt if weather and wind allows. We had couple of days when wind and poor vis stopped play (this made an interesting experience rocking around on the telecabine and then scary descent in gale force practically blind before they closed everything) but otherwise views and access is amazing with much less queues than France. Snacks and drinks were much cheaper too almost half of French prices so would recommend as great alternative. Snowfall and conditions generally were brilliant.

Room Tip: Try not to get room at front as we did since you will need to keep window ajar due to heat but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rameses64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This traditional Italian hotel is spotlessly clean with friendly attentive staff and delicious food. As part of the Crystal winter holiday package they offered us a four course meal every night with 3 options for both 2nd and 3rd courses and also accommodated veggies. Some of the rooms have mountain views and there is free wifi in the lounge area. The hotel is located next to the lift building and within a few minutes walk in to town. We would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loubi-Love-Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, Tyne and wear
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed at the Astoria half term 2012. Exterior view is not that pleasing but once inside things change dramatically. Everything refurbished - dining room, bar area and rooms are excellent. Our room had 1 single and 1 double bed (17 year old daughter with us) and was big enough for us all. Loads of storage space, a telly and phone. Bathroom was ok but had a small hip bath with hand held shower - ok for shorter people but i am 6ft 2 inches so struggled to keep floor dry!! extra towels came in handy to mop up! However, the cleaner came every day and kept everything immaculate. She is a star! new towels each day! bed made up and anything left around was neatley folded for us! ALL staff are italian, VERY friendly and speak good english. Could not fault them. Service with a smile at all times. The owner came around at breakfast each day with a printed snow/piste report! Food was ok and plentiful. BUT rather rushed...as soon as you finish one course the next one is on the table! Best to ask for 10 mins breather if you can . Portions were large at times and we were stuffed most nights! pasta starters were huge! cheapest wine appx 16 euros.ski room is enormous .just exit through rear door...walk 100 yds and you are at bubble lift up. easy peasy. 5 min walk into high street and the bars etc. So a great location. Would we stay here again. Yes! We had a fab holiday and would recommend it . It was great to stay in this family run hotel...thanks to everyone there.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeefyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

8 of us stayed at the Astoria Hotel in Italy for a week of snowboarding.
On looking at the website prior to arriving, we thought the hotel looked a little run down but when we arrived, we realised it was right on the slope, the rooms were massive and so clean.
Every single day, the amazing ladies cleaned our room to the highest quality and looked after the room and all our belongings.
Mattias - amazing waiter looked after us so well every single day and Josef - what an amazing, accommodation chef who looked after us veggies :-)
Overall.... we would all definitely go back!! Top class!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Astoria Cervina with Crystal late Jan 2012. This is a very friendly clean hotel very near to the main gondolla accessing the local pistes. The food was typically italian excellent for a 3 star with a well laid out buffet breakfast and good qualitly italian 3 course meals at night. We were never hungry but possibly bigger eaters may have wanted slightly larger main course portions but for us the food was just right. Internet access is free and unlimited within reason. The hotel is quiet but has a bar which was open until late. Prices in the bar a bit more than in the town center but not by much, wine at the table was average price. Cervinia is a great place to ski with lots for everyone this hotel though would be a long walk up and down a steep hill, from the nursery slopes for beginners so possibly not so good for them. We didn't bother with a all over ski pass only a local one it is a long way to Zermatt and you can easily get stranded which would be expensive to return back from. NIghtlife very quiet if you want a lively resort this wont be for you, but there are plenty of bars to choose from. We had a good holiday only downside was a delay both ways at Turin airport but Crystal staff excellent both times.

Room Tip: Our room 106 was excellent no one else complained so presume all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nangieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed here as a family during Christmas week. Staff were very friendly and the waiters went out of their way to accommodate our dietary needs. Can't praise them highly enough. Rooms were of a generous size, functional and comfortable with newly updated ensuite bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean. Some rooms have interconnecting doors so are good for families needing 2 rooms. The hotel occupies a great location for skiers as it's very close to the gondola station and an added bonus is the spacious, heated boot room so you can change into/ out of ski equipment in comfort. The village is less than a 5 minutes walk away. Food quite basic but plentiful, good wine list to choose from and prices reasonable. Cervinia has some good pizza restaurants (very reasonably priced) if you don't want to eat in the hotel every night. Would recommend this hotel, especially to skiers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank _Love2Roam_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#22 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sertorelli Sport Hotel
Sertorelli Sport Hotel
#11 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#10 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lo Stambecco Hotel
Lo Stambecco Hotel
#25 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Piazzale Funivie, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located 20 meters from the Plan Maison Gondola and 50 meters from the resort centre.The hotel completely renovated in summer 2012 in a simple but functional way.Welcomes guest in a warm and familiar ambience, offering spacious public areas: rstaurant, bar , reading room, pool room, ski room private parking and a large terrace from where you can admire a 180° view of the impressive Grandes Murailles chain and whereyou can enjoy a glass of local wine accompanied by salami from Valtournenche.We offer Typical Aostan dishes and also internation food.Free Wi Fi in all areas.The 26 standard rooms completely renovated and elegantly furnished (many of wich are adjoining), all have bathroom with shower, bathtub, telephone and tv-sat.if you are looking for comfort and total relaxation or a holiday with the family we have 4 suites available on the 3rd floor with beautiful balconies and a spectacular view on the valley or ski slopes.Each one has a large double bedroom and a living room with 2 more beds, a spacious bathroom, tv.sat., telephone and mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing