We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel, please ignore any bad reviews.”
Review of Hotel Meynet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Meynet
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, UK
1 review
“Loved this hotel, please ignore any bad reviews.”
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We stayed there for one week from Jan 18th 2009. Booked thru Crystal ski. A lovely small family run hotel. (Only 7 rooms!) Rooms are small but perfectly adequate,very cute and feels very homely. Decor good and very comfortable. Hotel is spotless and we had our room cleaned and bed made up every morning. Bath towels good size and hand towels are like our teatowels but plentiful. Shower works well and plenty of hot water to soak in the tub at nite, you can squeeze two in the bath at a push! Very good self serve buffet style breakfast, lovely croissants! Hotel in excellent location, on a quiet side street literally 4 minutes walk from main 6 man chairlift. Staff very friendly and helpful. Boot & ski room in basement which is heated and the hotel has a good sized lift despite only being 3 stories. Picture on website does not do it justice, lovely interior. Also there it has internet access. All shops and ski hire shops only 2 minutes from hotel. This hotel is rated 2* but do not be put off by other reviews, we are SO picky about hotels when we go on holiday and we loved this one, we kind of hate to rave about it as its Cervinia's best kept secret and we want to go back anytime, but it is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Best for couples/friends only not families. Amenities nearby: Restaurant below the hotel, 'La Nicchia', although recommended elsewhere, we avoided it after one visit, very average food and expensive for what it was, no ambiance, look elsewhere for better food and prices. (Try the Restaurant 'Jour et Nuit' up the street from the hotel, owned by one of the local ski instructors, the meat dishes cooked in a traditional wood fired oven are to die for and for an extra 20euros on the bill compared to 'La Nicchia' it was like comparing a burger bar to Gordon Ramsay's place! Go there, you WILL go back!). You also HAVE to go across the street from the hotel to the cafe-Bar 'La Samovar'- if you love coffee and italian pastry this is for you- open from 8am till midnight, superb pastries, fab coffee, lovely tea infusions and relaxing decor and good music to unwind to, not rowdy, nice relaxing cafe/bar, their 'Bombardinos' are yummy, and they do gorgeous teatime snacks!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgeofdahog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    31
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
25
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We stayed here over Christmas and really weren't expecting it to be as good as the Tripadvisor reviews but it is! The heat levels were right, the breakfast was plentiful and fresh, the staff are friendly, the water was hot, the location is one of the best in Cervinia, the bar does lovely coffee and bevvies .. there is nothing we could find fault with. It's not a luxury place but there is care taken with everything. Our flight was delayed very badly, so we arrived in the middle of the night and were still met with a warm welcome and like another reviewer mentioned, the breakfast room was opened (and freshly stocked) for us to leave at 6 am - a first in my experience! I've stayed in many a 4 star hotel that wasn't a patch on the Meynet. I hope the reviews on here will mean there is still a place for us on our next trip to Cervinia.

  • Liked — The service but everything was good.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

We stayed at the Meynet in Cervinia at the end of Jan and had a lovely time. The hotel is a small familly run hotel and is exactly what you need on a ski holiday. I think one of the previous reviews mentioned the lack of hot water, but there was certainly no lack of hot water when we stayed. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were lovely (mostly part of the same family). I am very hard to please with hotels as I used to work in the hotel industry, but I couldn't fault this one. We were the only guests leaving at 6am and they had opened up the breakfast room at about 5.30 especially for us, freshly baked croissants etc. You don't get this personal service with a 4star hotel as they are more regimented rather than looking after the individuals. The only thing we would take with us next time is a kettle as there isn't one in the room. You just got the feeling they were very proud of their hotel and service the give is excellent. We will try to stay here everytime we go to Cervinia if possible. You need to get in early as they only have about 7 rooms.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank Angie43Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Thames
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

I have stayed in this pleasant hotel in summer many times over the last 10 years. The standard of service and cleanliness is always high, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are smallish but well-furnished and most of them have balconies.

The hotel has a pleasant quiet bar with some tables outside. There is a restaurant below the hotel, but I have never eaten there.

You see the hotel as soon as you step down from the bus from Chatillon; it is at the foot of via Carrel, which is the (pedestrianised) High Street of Cervinia. The church is next door, all the shops are close by, the ski-station is three minutes' walk away.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Smallish rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnerleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

Small hotel in central Cervinia. Only 2 moans.
1) small boot room, gets cramped when others are getting ski stuff
2) water pressure is low and shower takes 10 mins to heat up beyond tepid.

However you can live beyond these small gripes.
You are sited 5 mins walk (max) from a chairlift that gets you up the mountain, thus avoiding the hideous climb up to the gondola station. All pubs and shops are close by. Breakfast is totally informal, you just help yourself to a variety of cold food, cheese/ham/yoghurt/pastries etc. Tea/coffee/chocolate all available.
The rooms are on the small side, but comfortable, we had room 24 which overlooks the main street, but noise is not an issue. There is a TV, but no english channels.
The gem is the resturant downstairs, excellent food and wine, possibly the best in the resort, book to avoid disappointment. Don't miss it!
The staff are about, but keep a low profile and are pleasant.
Overall a very good choice

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — nowhere to sit and put ski boots on
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr Steve-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

A great little hotel, perfectly situated for all amenities: Cervinia itself is quite small so you'll never be far from the centre, but the Meynet has a particularly good location, in a quiet position at the end of the main street. The only small thing are the church bells next door, but they don't get going until 8am so not a problem on a ski holiday! It's on the right side of town for the gondola (the 'bubble' lift up to the main ski area) which you'll use if you're a beginner and want to avoid the chair lift.The main chair lifts and the final slope into town are about a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel only has 7 bedrooms and seems to be run by a family, so has a lovely atmosphere, and you really get the feeling that they care about your stay. Rooms are quaint and very comfortable. They are a modest size and have lots of storage. However the tv doesn't have any English channels and there is no hairdryer. We had a shower but some rooms have a bath with shower over them. Bathrooms seem newly refurbished, plus there is a free safety box in your wardrobe. The hotel has a lift which also takes to the basement where you will find the 'ski room'. Lockers for your boots and storage for skis, poles, snowboards etc. It's well heated and locked at night. Breakfast consists of croissants/ pastries , yoghurts, cheeses, ham, cereal......the usual continental stuff. It's served from 7.30 -9.30am and is quite limited but as the hotel only has 14 guests max. it was much better than we expected.
All in all we had a great time. Cervinia is based around beginner / intermediate skiing and has excellent ski school facilities. Do stay in the Meynet - you won't find better!

  • Liked — Great hotel & great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizajanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

Stayed here at the end of March. Lovely hotel ideally situated for skiing 2-3 minutes walk to the new six man chairlift (thereby avoiding all the steps to the gondola station), ski back at night to within 30yds of the front door.

Spotlessly clean comfortable, reasonably sized rooms. Agree with other reviewers the towels are a bit strange (extra large tea towels).

Nice restaurant down stairs, small cafe/bar as well which closes at nine.

Breakfast was nice, coffee not great, but croissants and pain-au-raisin were delicious.

Quiet location and hotel, provides heated ski and boot room.

Ideal location close to town centre amenities.

Restaurants in town to visit are the "day and night" (named in Italian obviously) which serves great steaks and home made pasta. The Matterhorn for great pizza. The Tea Room just across the road from the hotel for teas and cakes and comfy sofas.

There is also a great small family run cafe just behind the ticket office at the Cretaz lift, can't remember what it was called unfortunately, open for lunch and après ski, great value and good food. Would recommend the hot chocolate (ask for it dense - as it should be)

On the mountain the Chalet Etoile (run blue 4), serves great Pasta and soups.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ceb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meuble Gorret
Hotel Meuble Gorret
#10 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#22 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
Hotel Meuble Mon Reve
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#11 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meynet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meynet

Property: Hotel Meynet
Address: Via Carrel Jean Antoine 2, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Breuil-Cervinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Meynet 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the center of Cervinia, only 1 minute walk to the ski slopes. All the 11 rooms (7 standard and 4 confort) are comfortably and elegantly furnished. They also each have its own bathroom, phone, safe box, tv set, small fridge and bancony, no smoking policy in the whole hotel. After a long day of ski you can relax in the typical Alpine bar Whymper on the ground floor with your friends. The hotel also offers a warm breakfast room, tv room, Restaurant, elevator, internet access and WI-FI. A special feature is the hotel's restaurant La Nicchia. It will take your breath away at its fine elegance and make your mouth water with its beautifully prepared international cuisine as well as the hearty food from Aosta Valley. The warm atmosphere and the special courtesy of this delightful hotel will make your vacation unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Meynet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing