We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with the draw to bring you back & back.”
Review of Hotel Aigle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aigle
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My 4th visit to Allesandro's small hotel,situated at the lower part of Entreves just before Courmayeur it is in an ideal place to get stunning views of Mont Blanc. If you do manage to get one of the 4 front bedrooms your jaw will drop every time you open the shutters........Stunning can only be said,and your hosts will make you feel part of the family. The best hotel I have ever been to,especially for the views in this little "Hansel and Gretal" village.

Room Tip: The front bedrooms for the best views as you open the shutters,but all of the other rooms are charmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived at the Aigle and were warmly greeted by Roberto. Our room was very clean and it was comfortable with good storage capacity. Dinner was a set menu, which was efficiently served. The food was of an excellent standard, generous and my gluten free requirements were very well catered for. I had total confidence that there would be no cross contamination issues as the hotel is AIC accredited. Breakfast was again ample and my gluten free diet was not a problem. Indeed bread and cakes had been made for me by the hotel. The hotel is a little out of the centre of Courmayeur, so it was quiet and peaceful. Adequate parking at the back of the hotel. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the drive side have small balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel Croux staff in courmayeur recommended this restaurant for gluten free food. I was bowled over. For 20 euros, I had gluten free bread, gf pizza, zucchini and saffron risotto, baked pork with potatoes and mushrooms and would you believe creme caramel. To finish off, when I left they presented me with the left over bread and the other half of the pizza. I enjoyed the bread and pizza cold the next day. Delicious. The staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank allie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A small, privately run hotel. Extremly amicable service, the owner Alessandro is talkative, friendly and always ready to be of service. You can also enjoy a decent (4 course) meal for dinner for a very reasonable 18 euros. The rooms are clean and generally ok however my quality of sleep suffered immensly of the bad ventilation in the room, actually it is non-existent. The only option is to open the window (wioch is not optimal with -7 C during the night).

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank T-toe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Alessandro is wonderful. He treats his guests with genuine hospitality and humour. A fantastic host that creates a sense of comfort and ease with the beautiful surroundings and full of local knowledge. His staff, especially Valentina, are exceptionally helpful with English speaking children. Bravo to the chefs in the resto. Excellent value local cuisine. Our New Years meal was more a banquet than a dinnner!

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room with a great view of Monte Bianco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOLOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Aigle in August 13 before a 3 day hike along part of the Tour Mont Blanc route. The staff, especially the manager, made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful, especially as our Italian language skills are non-existent. The evenings meals were huge and inexpensive - great after being out walking all day. We did a couple of day walks and took the cable car up to Punte Helbronner - magnificent!
Our room was small, clean and a bargain during August. When we finished our 3 day hike we popped in to collect our car, we weren't allowed to leave without sitting down for a coffee and biscuits baked by the chef.

Room Tip: The front rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEWP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The hotel has great location and excellent view to Monte Bianco. It is very close to Val Veny lift and to the stop of the free ski bus. There is a lot to do in this area – you can practice cross country ski or just walk in the Val Ferret valley admiring the marvelous Mont Bianc views, you can ski in Croumayer area or free ride from Punta Helbronner; the Mont Blanc tunnel is just 1 km from the hotel so with a half an hour journey you can enjoy Chamonix ski area as well.
The hotel provides all facilities needed for a comfortable stay and the housekeeping was at the good level. The staff was very helpful and polite and the main asset of the hotel was Alessandro - the owner - who always provided helpful guidelines and a lot of maps/ materials to better represent the best features of the region.
The food was excellent – high quality traditional Italian food accompanied by excellent house wine. I would definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElkaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Grange
La Grange
#17 of 42 in Courmayeur
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vallee Blanche
Hotel Vallee Blanche
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Dente del Gigante
Albergo Dente del Gigante
#11 of 42 in Courmayeur
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pilier d'Angle
Hotel Pilier d'Angle
#13 of 42 in Courmayeur
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aigle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aigle

Address: Strada la Palud 5, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aigle 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aigle: look out of the windows and admire a view that goes from the top of the Monte Bianco to the peaks of the Dente del Gigante and to the Grandes Jorasses. Cosy modern family-run place with full comfort 12 rooms, private bathroom, telephone, TVsat, hairdryer, safe, etc. The wormy restaurant is completed with the living room, the bar and a large garden with a solarium near the river, deck chairs and umbrellas. Private parking. We suggest half pension accommodation offering international cuisine and typical traditional kitchen dishes; full buffet breakfast in the morning. Gluten-free and vegetarian menu, on demand. The Aigle Hotel can be a real starting point for every excursion to the high mountain refuges up to the spectacular glaciers. Here you can practise all kind of sport: trekking, climbing, rafting, riding, golf, parapende, mountain-bike. In only 5 minutes from the Hotel you can reach: Val Veny, starting point for the Domaine Skiable; Val Ferret, the Paradise for walking and cross country skiing; the New Mount Blanc Cable Car wich goes up to Helbronner Peak (3463 m. High) and leads to Chamonix with its famous "Glaciers Crossing" and the Vallee Blanche downhill skiing and freeride. The Mont Blanc tunnel (road link between France and Italy) is 1 km far and the centre of Courmayeur is 1,5 km far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aigle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing