We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crystal Ski Trip Jan 2012-Hotel Del Viale-Courmayeur”
Review of Hotel del Viale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel del Viale
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just returned from a fabulous week in Courmayeur. The hotel was lovely. This was our first Crystal holiday and we were very impressed all round. The resort reps were brilliant and the transfers to and from the resort all went smoothly. Crystal offered a lot of activities daily which included guided skiing, snow shoe walks and evening activities.
Very traditional and cozy. The Italian speaking staff were delightful and extremely helpful.
We couldn't fault it. We stayed in room no. 2 which was very nice. Ample space in bathroom with plenty of decent sized towels. The sheets were crisp and clean. I think some people had rooms that were a bit spartan and also some complained of low ceilings on the attic floor. Would request this room again. The hotel provided a shuttle service to and from the lifts each day and also to to and from the bus stop in town if you wished to venture further afield. It was a good 10 minute walk to the town centre but all relatively flat and easy even in the snowiest of conditions. The food at the hotel was simple but there was plenty of it. A buffet breakfast with a variety of cold meats and cheeses and hardboiled eggs or croissant and cakes and fresh bread. Also cereals yoghurts and jams. Supper was a 5 course affair served at the table (apart from the self service salad bar). Salad, choice of starter, choice of pasta course then choice of main course and choice of dessert. The food was simple but good, nothing out of this world. Lots of good mountain restaurants in the resort. The Petit Mont Blanc on the Zerotta run offers can be booked for evening dinner and they will collect you on a snow mobile and take you back at the end of the evening.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic floor as ceilings were low. We stayed in room No. 2 which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krysiatennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just got back from a fantastic weeks skiing in Courmayeur, staying at the Del Viale.
A very friendly Hotel with a rather interesting range of rooms. We were a group of 9 people with a mix of couples and singles and ended up with accomodation that could have slept 12 comfortably! Some of the rooms had low ceilings and all had small bathrooms, but everything was very clean and pleasing to the eye. Food was average, but good for the price. Staff in the restaurant and bar were fantastic and friendly.
It's 10 - 15 mins walk into town or 15 - 20 mins walk to the lifts (choice of 2). But Marco, the very friendly barman drives the minibus to and from the lift in the morning and afternoon every half hour so transport was no problem.
We hired skis and boots from a shop at the top of the main cable car and this is where we left them overnight. This meant that in the evening we could catch the lift down and walk, comfortably, through the town in normal shoes. Calling in at one of the bars that offer a free post ski buffet if you have a drink there.
Overall the resort and Hotel were better than our expectations.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room, they all vary so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich_n_Chris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Really nice hotel & staff (except the grumpy owner) with a relaxing lounge and bar area. We were lucky to have a good crowd of people staying at the same time - especially those from Yorkshire. The hotel is about 20 min walk from either of the two lifts up the mountain. The hotel mini bus will only take you to the old and uncomfortable cable car lift - which goes every 15 mins. The best lift by far is the almost new Dolonne gondola which is more or less continuous. The grumpy owner would not let the minibus go to this lift for some unexplained reason. Not a rank beginners resort because of the steep runs. Good for the improver and intermediate skier.
Bedroom walls are a bit thin in the new annexe and the lavatory is a bit cramped.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I only booked this hotel because of the favourable reviews I found on Tripadvisor, but I have to admit I was a little disappointed when I first arrived as I thought the room was a little drab and old fashioned. However I was very tired after the journey and it was my first ski trip to the Alps so I wasn't sure what to expect.

We soon settled in though and found our stay at the hotel very enjoyable. The staff are the friendliest I have come across in any hotel I've stayed. Monica our waitress was always very cheery and welcoming even though she works 7 days a week! Marco the shuttle bus driver and barman was equally as helpful. I don't know the names of the others members of staff but they were all very friendly.

The food was of very good quality and there was sufficient variety for the evening meals. ( No rabbit!) It is served between 7.30 and 8.30 pm and is a traditional 4 course Italian meal, just make sure you leave room for dessert...especially the creme brulee. No drinks are included apart from a jug of water which you need to ask for. Wine is on average 16 Euros a bottle (we liked the locally produced Pinot Noir) but you don't have to drink it all in one night as they will keep it for the next night.

The shuttle bus runs every half hour from 8.30 - 10.30 but Marco will probably take you down to the Funiva Cable car when you are ready as we got a lift down at 10.10 one morning.

It's definitely worth hiring ski and boot lockers at the slopes to save you trailing them back and forth to the hotel. It cost us 39 Euros for 2 ski lockers and one locker which we just managed to squeeze 2 pairs of ski boots into (ask for the slightly larger version).

The town of Courmayeur is very pretty and typically Italian. Full of expensive shops but with plenty of character too. Lots of restaurants cafes and bars. The ski resort is ideal for intermediates and has plenty of good places to eat.

We travelled with Crystal Ski for the first time and were happy with their service, just watch out for a very long wait at Turin airport to collect baggage and for the transfer to Courmayeur, we were sat on the bus an hour before we left!

Overall though we had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel and resort. We would be happy to go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Room 60 was on the top floor at the back of the hotel and had a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwishyMichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

traditional small hotel,excellent value (crystal ski Jan 2012) 5 mins walk from town, cosy & friendly with good food.as a beginner / intermediate found Courmayeur runs challenging & lift system very good......just a touch of "Schettino" about the lift attendants who were not proactive in keeping the load areas maintained & clear of ice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildtrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We would like to add our recommendation for this superb, authentic Italian Hotel. We have just returned from a Crystal ski holiday with a family of 6 adults staying in three rooms. Firstly we must mention the staff -- all were excellent, some exceptionally so. We don't speak much Italian and the staff were not fluent in English, but what could not be communicated in words was successfully transmitted with charm and humour. For me this probably made the holiday. A special mention of Maria-Angelina -- thank you for making our meal times so entertaining. Marco was the mini-bus driver and barman extraordinaire -- excellent!

The hotel was spotlessly clean. We really liked the mix of styles and some genuine art works. Yes the shower curtains tended to leak onto the floor, but the rooms were gleaming on return from the slopes. Also agree that bar prices were good - it feels as though they almost forgot to charge us for all those Grappas?

As others have said this is not a ski-in, ski-out resort and the hotel is a brisk, flat and pleasant five minute walk from the edge of the very pretty pedestrianised town centre. Another 8 minutes or so takes you to the bottom of the telecabin. We paid an extra 26 Euros each to leave our skis and boots in storage at the top. This was good value if you plan to walk every day. If hiring skis/boots most hire shops at the the top of the telecabin include storage in the hire fee.

Finally, Glen and Grace, the Crystal Reps, were very helpful and could not have worked harder to make our holiday a success. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Rooms 110 and 1 were connected by a small stairway and were excellent for two singles or two parents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Just returned from a week at the lovely traditional Del Viale. This charming hotel offered value for money and friendly and helpful staff. The hotel was very clean and the public areas cosy and welcoming. The rooms were small and traditionally furnished but more than adequate and again very clean. The only fault would be the shower which although was a decent size with lots of hot water, the shower curtain no matter how much you tried, did not prevent water leaking and soaking the bathroom floor, also seeping though under the door to wet the carpet in the bedroom. The breakfasts were basic but fresh and perhaps could have offered a bit more choice. A toaster and some bread to slice to make your own toast would have been very welcome. The evening meals were generally very good. The food was good qaulity and very traditionally italian. Personally I enjoyed all the food but for someone who is not a meat eater, the choice is very limited with some strange alternatives offered. The hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from the resort centre but we really enjoyed this walk each day as the resort is very pretty. If you want to get to the cable car, the hotel shuttle bus would take you and collect you at regular intervals at the start and end of the day. Would highly recommend this resort and hotel for a snowy break whether you choose to ski or not.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Novecento Romantic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#5 of 42 in Courmayeur
226 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Grange
La Grange
#15 of 42 in Courmayeur
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de la Telecabine
Hotel de la Telecabine
#31 of 42 in Courmayeur
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dolonne
Hotel Dolonne
#35 of 42 in Courmayeur
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Svizzero
Hotel Svizzero
#20 of 42 in Courmayeur
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Viale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Viale

Address: Viale Monte Bianco 74, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Price Range: £118 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Viale 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Viale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing